Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
In a world glutted with food, why do millions still suffer chronic hunger? In an international community committed to free trade, why is food the most common source of trade wars and controversies? In a country where less than five percent of the population farms, why does the "farm lobby" remain so politically powerful? In societies where food has never been faster or more processed, why are organic and "slow" foods in such demand? These are among the questions this course will consider, drawing on the insights of both political economy and cultural analysis.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/04/2022] Dist:INT or SOC; WCult:NW
In the Library's collections
Books about food are scattered throughout the collections. Here are some useful subject headings for searching in the online catalog:
- food AND powerThis is a keyword search looking exclusively in the titles for food and power.
- food AND powerThis is a more general keyword search in the library's online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
The Oxford handbook of food ethics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199372263Academic food ethics incorporates work from philosophy but also anthropology, economics, the environmental sciences and other natural sciences, geography, law, and sociology. Scholars from these fields have been producing work for decades on the food system, and on ethical, social, and policy issues connected to the food system. Yet in the last several years, there has been a notable increase in philosophical work on these issues - work that draws on multiple literatures within practical ethics, normative ethics and political philosophy. This handbook provides a sample of that philosophical work across multiple areas of food ethics: conventional agriculture and alternatives to it; animals; consumption; food justice; food politics; food workers; and, food and identity.
The Cambridge world history of food, part 1 by Call Number: eBook, part 1ISBN: 9781139058636An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. ...
The Cambridge world history of food, part 2 by Call Number: eBook, part 2ISBN: 9781139058643... It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Food and place: a critical exploration by Call Number: Baker-Berry GT 2850 .F6625 2018ISBN: 9781442266506This text provides a comprehensive and critical exploration of food from the unique perspective of place. It shows that our experiences with food are deeply influenced by their cultural, social, economic, and political contexts. The authors explore a wide range of questions such as: Do GMOs threaten rural livelihoods? Why don't we eat dogs? Does your neighborhood make you fat? Do community gardens encourage urban gentrification? Can cheese save a local economy? Why are gourmet burgers appearing on menus all over the world? How do immigrants use food to create a sense of place? Does mainstream nutrition stigmatize bodies? ...
International encyclopedia of human geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780081022962Publication Date: 2nd ed.The International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition, embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens. ...
Selected book title(s)
Dodging extinction: power, food, money and the future of life on Earth by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520274372Paleobiologist Anthony D. Barnosky weaves together evidence from the deep past and the present to alert us to the looming Sixth Mass Extinction and to offer a practical, hopeful plan for avoiding it. ...
Food and power in Hawai'i: visions of food democracy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780824858537What are the challenges to the food system in Hawai'i? Food and Power in Hawai'i explores issues facing the way we eat and produce (or do not produce) food in Hawai'i. Given its island geography, high dependence on imported food has been portrayed as the primary problem, and localization has been proposed as the dominant solution in Hawai'i. But the book argues that much more is needed to transform the food system into one that is just, equitable, secure, and healthy.
Food in zones of conflict: cross-disciplinary perspectives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781782384038The availability of food is an especially significant issue in zones of conflict because conflict nearly always impinges on the production and the distribution of food, and causes increased competition for food, land and resources. ...
Food power: the rise and fall of the postwar American food system by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190600686There is a widespread assumption that the American food system after World War II was transformed-toward an increasingly industrialized production of crops, more processed foods, and diets higher in fat, sugar, and calories-as part of a unified system. In this book, Bryan McDonald brings together the history of food, agriculture, and foreign policy to explore how food was deployed in the first decades of the Cold War to promote American national security and national interests, a concept referred to as food power. In the postwar years, Americans struggled to understand how an unprecedented abundance of food could be used to best advance U.S. goals and values. Was food a weapon, a commodity to be valued and exchanged through markets, or a substance to be provided to those in need? ...
Reel food: essays on food and film by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415971119This is the first book devoted to food as a vibrant and evocative element of film. It reads various films through their uses of Food - from major "food films" like Babette's Feast and Big Night - to less obvious choices including The Godfather trilogy and The Matrix. The contributors draw attention to the various ways in which food is employed to make meaning in film. In some cases, such as Soul Food and Tortilla Soup, food is used to represent racial and ethnic identities. ...
The rhetoric of food: discourse, materiality, and power by Call Number: Baker-Berry GN 407 .R48 2012ISBN: 9780203113455This book focuses on the rhetoric of food and the power dimensions that intersect this most fundamental but increasingly popular area of ideology and practice, including politics, culture, lifestyle, identity, advertising, environment, and economy. The essays visit a rich variety of dominant discourses and material practices through a range of media, channels, and settings including the White House, social movement rhetoric, televisual programming, urban gardens, farmers markets, domestic and international agriculture institutions, and popular culture. ...
A taste of power: food and American identities by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520284982Since the founding of the United States, culinary texts and practices have played a crucial role in the making of cultural identities and social hierarchies. A Taste of Power examines culinary writing and practices as forces for the production of social order and, at the same time, points of cultural resistance. Culinary writing has helped shape dominant ideas of nationalism, gender, and sexuality, suggesting that eating right is a gateway to becoming an American, a good citizen, an ideal man, or a perfect wife and mother. ...
Other library resource(s)
Geographies of consumption from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Geographers have explored how different spaces of consumption are produced and exist in relation to each other at scales from the global to the body, and have examined sites such as homes, gardens, spaces of first- and secondhand retailing, places of work, the Internet, and consumption in rural, urban, First- and Third-World contexts.- Geography of food from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The geography of food is an emergent and growing subfield within human geography. Often distinguished from older literature in agricultural geography, writings in the geography of food tend to be critical (and in some cases, radical) in their political framing, focusing on the many ways in which food systems are connected to, and potentially disruptive of, entrenched systems of oppression and social and economic inequality. ...
Water security from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445In the post–Cold War era, the concept of water security referred to the potential dangers of conflict over water resources and safety of drinking water infrastructure from attacks by military enemies or terrorists. By the 1990s, water security increasingly became discussed together with human security and such concerns as economic security, environmental security, energy security, and food security. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Food can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look at Food exclusively. To find articles, you can search a variety of indexes such as World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts, Academic Search Complete or use the search box at the top of the page.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Econlit by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index is a searchable database containing citations and abstracts from 400 journal titles to the world's economic literature.
World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis database covers agricultural economics to farm economics, food industry and rural sociology from 1973 to the present.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- AFHVS - (Agriculture, Food and Human Values Society)AFHVS provides a continuing link among scholars working in cross-disciplinary studies of food and agriculture. AFHVS provides a forum for examining the values that underlie various visions of food and agricultural systems, and it offers members the opportunity to meet and discuss programs and research ideas of common interest.
- ASFS (Association for the Study of Food and Society)The ASFS was founded in 1985, with the goals of promoting the interdisciplinary study of food and society.
- Food & PowerFood & Power is an essential resource for food policy wonks, advocates, farmers, policymakers, and eaters. Food & Power is a first-of-its-kind website, providing original reporting, resources, and research on monopoly power and economic concentration in the food system from The Open Markets Program.
- Food power from Wikipedia
In international politics, food power is the use of agriculture as a means of political control whereby one nation or group of nations offers or withholds commodities from another nation or group of nations in order to manipulate behavior. ... - International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) seeks sustainable solutions for ending hunger and poverty. IFPRI is one of 15 centers supported by the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research, an alliance of 64 governments, private foundations, and international and regional organizations. - Just FoodJust Food empowers and supports community leaders to advocate for and increase access to healthy, locally-grown food, especially in underserved NYC neighborhoods.
- World Food Situation
From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, this site collects all the information on food crises in one place. - The State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World
Every year, this most intensely scrutinized of FAO’s reports presents the headline number of undernourished people around the world, while advocating for strategies against hunger and malnutrition. Following publication of the global report, a wealth of statistics is disaggregated into regional reports. SOFI is jointly produced with fellow UN agencies IFAD, UNICEF, WFP and WHO.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.