Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Within this course, students will gain an understanding of the scientific, political, and social challenges associated with the Anthropocene while also identifying and crafting stories capable of catalyzing the creation of more desirable, vibrant futures. Students will engage with writings from a variety of fields—including human geography, history, literary studies, philosophy, and critical design studies—as well as produce a creative work that tells a spatial story of the Anthropocene.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 05/15/2024]; Dist:SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- anthropocene literatureThis is a keyword search in the library's online catalog.
- anthropocene literatureThis is a keyword search of all resources within the library's collections, including journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and more.
Introductory reading(s)
The Cambridge companion to literature and the Anthropocene by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781108683111The Anthropocene is a proposed geological epoch marking humanity's alteration of the Earth: its rock structure, environments, atmosphere. The Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Anthropocene offers the most comprehensive survey yet of how literature can address the social, cultural, and philosophical questions posed by the Anthropocene. This volume addresses the old and new literary forms - from novels, plays, poetry, and essays to exciting and evolving genres such as 'cli-fi', experimental poetry, interspecies design, gaming, weird, ecotopian and petro-fiction, and 'new' nature writing. ...
Handbook of ecocriticism and cultural ecology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783110308372Ecocriticism has emerged as one of the most fascinating and rapidly growing fields of recent literary and cultural studies. From its regional origins in late-twentieth-century Anglo-American academia, it has become a worldwide phenomenon, which involves a decidedly transdisciplinary and transnational paradigm that promises to return a new sense of relevance to research and teaching in the humanities. A distinctive feature of the present handbook in comparison with other survey volumes is the combination of ecocriticism with cultural ecology, reflecting an emphasis on the cultural transformation of ecological processes and on the crucial role of literature, art, and other forms of cultural creativity for the evolution of societies towards sustainable futures. ...
Routledge handbook of ecocriticism and environmental communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781315167343Ecocriticism and environmental communication studies have for many years co-existed as parallel disciplines, occasionally crossing paths but typically operating in separate academic spheres. These fields are now rapidly converging, and this handbook aims to reinforce the common concerns and methodologies of the sibling disciplines. The Routledge Handbook of Ecocriticism and Environmental Communication charts the history of the relationship between ecocriticism and environmental communication studies, while also highlighting key new paradigms in information studies, diverse examples of practical applications of environmental communication and textual analysis, and the patterns and challenges of environmental communication in non-Western societies. ...
Selected book title(s)
The Anthropocene lyric: an affective geography of poetry, person, place by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 502 .B75 2015ISBN: 9781137364746This book takes the work of three contemporary poets John Burnside, John Kinsella and Alice Oswald to reveal how an environmental poetics of place is of significant relevance for the Anthropocene: a geological marker asking us to think radically of the human as one part of the more-than-human world.
Anthroposcreens: mediating the climate unconscious by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781009317672Anthroposcreens frames the 'climate unconscious' as a reading strategy for film and television productions during the Anthropocene. Drawing attention to the affects of climate change and the broader environmental damage of the Anthropocene, this study mobilizes its frame in concert with other tools from cultural and film studies--such as debates over Black representation--to provide readings of the underlying environmental themes in Black American and Norwegian screen texts. ...
Fear and nature: ecohorror in the Anthropocene by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780271090412Ecohorror represents human fears about the natural world—killer plants and animals, catastrophic weather events, and disquieting encounters with the nonhuman. Its portrayals of animals, the environment, and even scientists build on popular conceptions of zoology, ecology, and the scientific process. As such, ecohorror is a genre uniquely situated to address life, art, and the dangers of scientific knowledge in the Anthropocene. ...
Poetry and the Anthropocene: ecology, biology and technology in contemporary British and Irish poetry by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 605 .N3 S65 2017ISBN: 9781138941687This book asks what it means to write poetry in and about the Anthropocene, the name given to a geological epoch where humans have a global ecological impact. Combining critical approaches such as ecocriticism and posthumanism with close reading and archival research, it argues that the Anthropocene requires poetry and the humanities to find new ways of thinking about unfamiliar spatial and temporal scales, about how we approach the metaphors and discourses of the sciences, and about the role of those processes and materials that confound humans' attempts to control or even conceptualise them. ...
Romantic revelations: visions of post-apocalyptic life and hope in the Anthropocene by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781487504502Romantic Revelations shows that the nonhuman is fundamental to Romanticism's political responses to climatic catastrophes. Exploring what he calls "post-apocalyptic Romanticism," Chris Washington intervenes in the critical conversation that has long defined Romanticism as an apocalyptic field. ...
Other library resource(s)
The Anthropocene and geography from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineISBN: 9780199874002Publication Date: Noel CastreeCoined by two environmental scientists, the term “Anthropocene” is currently a buzzword in the earth and environmental science community, as well as in the social sciences and humanities. It may in time assume the status of a “keyword” and become an established part of the academic lexicon. It describes human-induced changes to the earth’s biophysical and chemical environment of such scope, scale, and magnitude as to mark the end of the Holocene (i.e., the roughly 11,700 years prior to the 21st century). ...- Geography and literature from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002In human and cultural geographies, fictive literature, novels, and poems have been used in different manners for over a century. Literature has been an object of study, a thematic context for research, a perspective through which the world is perceived, a methodological tool, and more. This relatively understudied field of geographic research, often titled “literary geography,” includes several overlapping perspectives following the main epistemological and theoretical turns in the fields of human and cultural geographies. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles on the Anthropocene and Geography can be found in a variety of publications. You can use a subject specific article index or use the search box at the top of the page. Examples of relevant indexes and journal titles follow.
Ecotone by Call Number: Electronic journal... Each issue contains new fiction, poetry, essays, and artwork. The magazine bridges the gap between science and culture, bringing together the literary and the scientific, the urban and the rural, the personal and the biological. ...
Anthropocenes: human, inhuman, posthuman by Call Number: Electronic journalAnthropocenes – Human, Inhuman, Posthuman is a global interdisciplinary journal. Moving beyond concerns around global warming and the environment, it focuses on diverse theoretical approaches to the Anthropocene from social sciences and humanities. The journal is about the invitation to rethink notions such as abstraction, art, architecture, design, governance, ecology, law, politics and discourses of science in the context of human, inhuman and posthuman frameworks. ...
MLA international bibliography by Call Number: Electronic resourceMLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.