Subject Librarian
- ATLA Religion Database & Index to Jewish PeriodicalsAlso included are Old Testament Abstracts and New Testament Abstracts.
- RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesProvides access to a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies-compiled from periodicals and from collections of articles-in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. Coverage in this electronic version begins with 1966 and includes the entire corpus of Reshimat ma'amarim be-mada'e ha-yahadut, which is no longer published in paper.
- Index to Jewish PeriodicalsIndexes articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 200 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes academic publications on Jewish, Hebrew, & Israeli literature, film, and folklore.
- RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesProvides access to a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies-compiled from periodicals and from collections of articles-in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. Coverage in this electronic version begins with 1966 and includes the entire corpus of Reshimat ma'amarim be-mada'e ha-yahadut, which is no longer published in paper.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowConsists of searchable database of citations (1949-present) to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the fields of religious and theological studies.
- Index to Jewish PeriodicalsIndexes articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 200 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
- Old Testament AbstractsFeatures indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
- America, history and life This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries with abstracts. The database content is drawn from over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The coverage of America: History and Life also includes citations to book reviews from over 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFor academic articles on Jewish European history.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [Current]Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States, published 1990- .
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowFor criticism on Hebrew, Yiddish, and Israeli literature, as well as on Jewish novelists & writers.
- Felix Posen Bibliographic ProjectIndex to articles on anti-Semitism (through 2017).
- Index to Hebrew PeriodicalsIndexes articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 200 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Coverage dates from 1988-present.
Additional News Sources:
- Ethnic NewswatchFull-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press in the United States, published 1990+, with some content going back to 1950.
- JTA Jewish News archive (1923-2008)Contains the "news archives of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency (JTA), an unaffiliated, nonprofit, international Jewish news agency, for the period 1923 to 2008. The Archives constitutes the JTA's own news coverage during the period noted. The scope embraces worldwide events of Jewish interest, including obituaries of notable Jewish figures. In addition to news articles, high-quality scanned images of figures and events are offered."
- Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World"... covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods."
- Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Jewish CulturesOverview articles on all aspects of Jewish culture, including music, film, literature, and more.
- Wiley-Blackwell History of Jews and JudaismProvides an "overview of Jewish life and culture, from the biblical period to contemporary times."
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics"Offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day."
- Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies byCall Number: Print: Baker-Berry BM70 .O95 2002Broad survey articles on the main topics of scholarship in Jewish Studies.
- Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed.)Extensive survey articles on the religions of Asia. By consulting the Index volume (15), you can easily see the lists of articles and biographical entries for Buddhism, Chinese Religions, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World"... covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods."
- American Jewish YearbookAn annual publication since 1899 summarizing the status of Judaism in the U.S. & other countries. Includes statistical tables.
Introduction to Judaism by Beginning with the question "who is a Jew?", this book offers a lucid account of Judaism and the Jewish people.
Cambridge Guide to Jewish History, Religion, and Culture by The Cambridge Guide to Jewish History, Religion, and Culture is a comprehensive and engaging overview of Jewish life, from its origins in the ancient Near East to its impact on contemporary popular culture.
Judaism: A Very Short Introduction by "Norman Solomon's succinct book is an ideal introduction to Judaism as a religion and way of life. In addition to surveying the nature and development of Judaism, this Very Short Introduction outlines the basics of practical Judaism -- its festivals, prayers, customs, and various sects. Modern concerns and debates of the Jewish people are also addressed, such as the impact of the Holocaust, the establishment of the State of Israel, the status of women, and medical and commercial ethics."
Research Databases & Websites
- Compact Memory"Comprises 361 Jewish newspapers and journals of the German speaking area of the years 1768–1938 and beyond."
- Laor Collection of Maps of JerusalemA collection of digitized maps of Jerusalem spanning from 1486 to 1947.
