JSTOR Digital Stewardship

JSTOR Digital Stewardship offers media management tools that can host institutional collections, disseminate scholarly research, and provide a space for digital curricular assignments.  Users can easily manage a library’s special collections, a faculty member’s research, student projects, and more through the JSTOR Forum Workspace. Collections are discoverable alongside JSTOR's content on campus, and may be published to the Open Web, or your own Omeka Classic web site. Projects can also be archived through JSTOR's partnership with Portico.

• There's no software to install
• No local media storage required
• Free online support 
• On campus support is available from the Dartmouth College Library 
• Browse public access collections in JSTOR  to see what other institutions have created

Check out the video below, to see some of what JSTOR  Digital Stewardship and the JSTOR Forum Workspace can do.

Contact your library liaison, or Laura Graveline to set up an account in JSTOR Forum.   

• JSTOR Forum Work Space

  Upload, catalog and publish content from JSTOR Forum projects

• Dartmouth College Collections on JSTOR

  Search Dartmouth Library Collections, faculty scholarship and curricular assisgnments in JSTOR Forum

• JSTOR Digital Stewardship Collections

• JSTOR Digital Stewardship Online Help

• JSTOR Digital Stewardship Webinars

The list below outlines some aspects to think about, when setting up a new JSTOR Forum project.

• Project Name
• Project Owner (Dartmouth College is currently the only option)
• Project Metadata Template : Astronomy Core, Darwin Core, Dublin Core (Book/text), or Jstor (image, object)
• Permissions: email addresses for who will need to access the project and at what level, administrator or cataloger.
• Publishing Target:  campus only, open access collection, Omeka web site, etc.
• Brief Collection Description
• Collection Rights or Use Statement *note there are are also fields for rights statements and rights holders for individual objects. Some sample statements are listed below
  • These images are intended only for the use of Dartmouth faculty and students, within the context of the curriculum at Dartmouth.
  • This image may be protected under copyright law and may only be used for educational, teaching, and learning purposes. If intended use is beyond these purposes, it is the responsibility of the user to obtain the appropriate copyright permissions.
  • Copyright 2024 Trustees of Dartmouth College
  • [Name or institution] has made a reasonable effort to identify all possible rights holders in this image, but in this case, the current rights holders remain unknown.  The item has been placed online as an exercise of fair use for non-commercial educational use. If would like to learn more about this item and to hear from individuals or institutions that have any additional information as to rights holders: contact [email@blank.edu] 
• Once the project has been set up the proposer may want to schedule a meeting to discuss cataloging fields and templates that need to be developed and mapped to publishing targets with a metadata librarian, who could customize the templates for that project.

• Use high resolution JPG images [load faster then tiffs]
  • 3000 pixels (JPEG). High resolution suitable for printing.
  • 1024 pixels (JPEG). Best for presentation and display.
  • 400 pixels (JPEG). A restricted size for viewing and display.
• Use a consistent file naming structure: Title_creator's last name; object_material; sequential numbers, etc
  • JSTOR Forum does not require consistent file naming, but it may be helpful, especially when working with many contributors to a project
• Projects that are no longer relevant to the curriculum and are not part of the permanent collections may be deaccessioned as needed
• Using authority fields and controlled vocabularies available in JSTOR Forum will strengthen the discoverability of your project
• Creating custom fields using language relevant to the subject can also aid discoverability
• JSTOR administrators can not assist with scanning, data entry or contextual research or other staff work time on projects
• JSTOR Forum administrators can assist with:
  • Project setup and metadata structure
  • Registering or removing project contributors/catalogers
  • Initial training for project catalogers
  • Technical questions