Librarian
Jill Baron
Contact:
Romance Languages & Literature,
LALACS,
MALS, Comparative Literature
Baker 226 (2nd floor of Baker on the west end)
603-646-2833
LALACS,
MALS, Comparative Literature
Baker 226 (2nd floor of Baker on the west end)
603-646-2833
Hispanic Studies Guide
Is your focus literature and culture? Click here for the Hispanic Studies guide:
Lusophone Studies Guide
Need Portuguese-language resources, or materials about Brazil? Click here:
Quick Links for Research
Use these resources to find articles and books for your research in Latin American, Latino/a and Caribbean Studies:
- Oxford Latin American History Research EncyclopediaSubstantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History provides articles on a wide range of topics. A great place to gain conceptual grounding and start one's research.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)Index to journal literature about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US.
- HLAS online: handbook of Latin American studies This link opens in a new windowContains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
- Chicano database This link opens in a new windowIdentifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. Coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Subjects covered include Art , Labor, Public Policy, Bilingual Education, Language, Religion, Economics, Law, Sociology, Folklore, Literature, Women's Studies, Health, Music, History and Politics.
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciElO) This link opens in a new windowA search engine to open access scholarship in Latin America.
- EIU Country Reports This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Intelligence Unit provides reports on nearly 200 countries. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping the countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sector trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed two-year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.
Ebooks and streaming film
- DigitaliaLarge catalog of Spanish-language ebooks and electronic journals.
- Project Muse: premium collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. Coverage includes 426 journals by 106 publishers.
- Digitalia FilmStreaming films from Spain, Europe and Latin America
- Tropical on DemandFrom Cinema Tropical, a non-profit media arts organization specializing in Latin American film, comes this streaming platform of films from Argentina, Mexico, Bolivia, and elsewhere.
- El Colegio de México/JSTOREl Colegio de México is an autonomous public institution devoted to research and higher education in the social sciences and the humanities. It is an important publisher of scholarly journals and books and has partnered with JSTOR to make its catalog freely available.