Subject Librarian
Key Resources
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window"Covers research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language forms, spelling, phonetics); and research in speech, language and hearing pathology."
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Ethnologue - Languages of the WorldCatalogs all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages. With maps.
- Glottolog"Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages."
- Corpus of Regional African American Language (CORAAL)"CORAAL features recorded speech from regional varieties of AAL and includes the audio recordings along with time-aligned orthographic transcription.
- Santa Barbara Corpus of Spoken American English"Includes transcriptions, audio, and timestamps which correlate transcription and audio at the level of individual intonation units."
Mouton Atlas of Languages and Cultures by Publication Date: 2019"Presents typological and lexical data of more than 200 ancient and modern languages, many encoded for the very first time. Alongside classic maps, the atlas features new visualizations, such as polygons and network diagrams, which smartly illustrate complex linguistic patterns of borrowability, co-lexification and semantic evolution and thereby provide entirely new perspectives."
- World Atlas of Language Structures Online"The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors."
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics"The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics."
Blackwell Companion to Phonology by Call Number: Print: P217 .B53 2011Publication Date: 2011"Full explorations of all the most important ideas and key developments in the field. Documents major insights into human language gathered by phonologists in past decades; highlights interdisciplinary connections, such as the social and computational sciences; and examines statistical and experimental techniques Offers an overview of theoretical positions and ongoing debates within phonology at the beginning of the twenty-first century."
- World's Major Languages (ed. Comrie)Baker-Berry Ref. P371 .W6 2009
- Concise Encyclopedia of Languages of the WorldBaker-Berry Ref. P29 .C56 2009
- Encyclopedia of Language & LinguisticsBaker-Berry Ref. P29 .E48 2006