Librarian
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog
Encyclopedias and General Reference Works
Ancient Astronomy: an encyclopedia of cosmologies and myth by
An authoritative introduction to the fascinating topic of archaeoastronomy--ancient peoples' understanding and use of the skies. Ancient Astronomy: An Encyclopedia of Cosmologies and Myth draws on archaeological evidence and oral traditions to reveal how prehistoric humans perceived the skies and celestial phenomena. With over 200 entries, it offers a number of ways to approach ancient astronomy, from key examples and case studies worldwide (Stonehenge; Mexican and Egyptian pyramids; Chaco Canyon, New Mexico; the Nazca lines in Peru) to general themes (cosmologies, calendars, ancient ideas of space and time, origin myths), to fundamental concepts and methods (how the sky has changed over the centuries, how to survey a site), and to the field's most frequently asked questions (How did ancient peoples navigate the ocean using the stars? How does astrology relate to ancient astronomy? Can ancient sites be dated astronomically?) By revealing the astronomical significance of some of the world's most famous ancient landmarks and enduring myths and by showing how different themes and concepts are connected, Ancient Astronomy: An Encyclopedia of Cosmologies and Myth brings a unique authoritative perspective to an area too often left to speculation and sensationalism.
Call Number: Stacks QB16 .R84 2005ISBN: 9781851094776Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences by
This authoritative resource covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences - including both theory and applications. Nearly 350 articles and over 1,900 figures and photographs are presented, many in full-color. The Encyclopedia is an ideal resource for academia, government, and industry in the fields of atmospheric, ocean, and environmental sciences. ...
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780122270901
Encyclopedia of geomorphology by
Geomorphology, the discipline which analyzes the history and nature of the earth's surface, deals with the landforms produced by erosion, weathering, deposition, transport and tectonic processes. In recent decades there have been major developments in the discipline and these are reflected in this major Encyclopedia, the first such reference work in the field to be published for thirty-five years. Encyclopedia of Geomorphology has been produced in association with the International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG) and has a truly global perspective. ...
Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 400.3 .E53 2004 v. 1 - 2ISBN: 9780415272988
Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient Environments by
One of Springer's Major Reference Works, this book gives the reader a truly global perspective. It is the first major reference work in its field. Paleoclimate topics covered in the encyclopedia give the reader the capability to place the observations of recent global warming in the context of longer-term natural climate fluctuations. Significant elements of the encyclopedia include recent developments in paleoclimate modeling, paleo-ocean circulation, as well as the influence of geological processes and biological feedbacks on global climate change. The encyclopedia gives the reader an entry point into the literature on these and many other groundbreaking topics.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1402044119Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Snow, Ice and Glaciers by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9048126428Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics by
This comprehensive Encyclopedia covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research. The initial articles, which are largely organised chronologically, are followed by numerous thematic historical articles on the constituents of the Solar System, types of stars, stellar evolution, active galaxies, cosmology and much more. These are followed by articles on tools and techniques, from the history of spectroscopy to adaptive optics. The last part of the Encyclopedia is devoted to the history of ground- and space-based telescopes and observatories, covering the full spectral range from gamma-rays through the optical waveband to radio waves. Informative and accessibly written, each article is followed by an extensive bibliography to facilitate further research, whilst consistent coverage from ancient times to the present makes this an ideal resource for scholars, students and amateur astronomers alike.
Call Number: Stacks QB15 .L388 2013ISBN: 9780521899949Publication Date: 2013
The Firefly Encyclopedia of Astronomy by
An extensive astronomy reference, beautifully illustrated and expertly written. The Firefly Encyclopedia of Astronomy is organized A-Z with concise details on each topic. The pages are profusely illustrated with vivid computer graphics, photography and archival images. Included are accessible contributions by 650 world-leading astronomers covering: History from the Big Bang to present Famous astronomer bios Key space missions since the launch of Sputnik The work of observatories worldwide. "Backyard stargazing is a lot more fun when you understand what you're looking at. The Orion Nebula is pretty in any telescope, but the view is all the more inspiring when you know that the light you're seeing left the nebula as the Roman Empire fell and that new stars are continually forming from the glowing gas. "It's appropriate that professionals and amateurs should come together to produce such a work, because at the dawn of the twenty-first century the line between the two communities is becoming blurred. Technology is putting state-of-the-art capabilities into the hands of backyard observers, many of whom are now collaborating with professionals to study phenomena as diverse as Martian dust storms and bursts of energetic radiation from distant galaxies. "Wherever your astronomical interests take you, this encyclopedia will be a welcome and valuable companion." Rick Fienberg Editor-in-Chief of Sky and Telescope magazine
Call Number: Stacks QB14 .F48 2004ISBN: 9781552977972Publication Date: 2004
Selected Book Titles
- Record of river and climatological observations byCall Number: Stacks QC984.N4 H36Consists of forms filled in by observer located at Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H. Description based on surrogate of: Nov. 1994. "Station index number 27-3850-2." Data pertaining to river observations not recorded.
If We Don't Own It
Did you know that you can request items that the library doesn't own?
- Interlibrary LoanDartmouth's Interlibrary Loan system. Request books, chapters, articles, -- anything Dartmouth doesn't own and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
- BorrowDirectRequest books (only) from a small, but strong, group of libraries (the Ivies). Often the fastest option for getting books that Dartmouth doesn't own, or that are missing or checked out.