Country Profiles & Data
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowInformation on the business, economic, and political environment for nearly 200 countries with detailed analysis, political outlooks and economic projections.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new windowCountry-specific industry reports including a five forces analysis.
- EMIS Intelligence (fka EMIS Emerging Markets) This link opens in a new windowGlobal country, company, and industry information with a strong focus on emerging markets. Includes country profiles, macroeconomic statistics, local financial market data, and regional business news.
- CountryData (PRS Group) This link opens in a new windowPolitical, economic and financial ratings for over 160 countries back to the 1980s.
- World Development Indicators (WDI)World Bank
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new windowFinancial and economic time series data covering 200 countries and 20,000 different data series. Includes data on markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264.
- International Financial Statistics Online1948 to current. International Monetary Fund. Detailed tabulations of international and domestic finance data by country. Time series data summarize each country's balance of payments, with collateral data on major financial components such as trade and reserves, and data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, international transactions, prices, production, government finance, and interest rates.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowIncludes research and statistics on: agriculture, education, emerging economics, employment, energy, industry & trade, environment, finance, nuclear energy, science & information technology, social issues, taxation, and transport.
- Global Road WarriorCountry overviews for 175 nations and territories around the world. Topics include business culture, communications, country facts and demographics.
- Statista: the leading statistics portal This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- World FactbookCountry information, including: history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues, maps of the major world regions, flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, a world oceans map, and a standard time zones of the world map.
Global Companies
Use these to find companies in countries around the world:
- Orbis This link opens in a new window306+ million public and private companies worldwide: financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, ratings, directors and contacts, filings, stock data, PE data, detailed corporate ownership structures, industry research, news, M&A deals and rumors, and global patent agreements.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
- EMIS Intelligence (fka EMIS Emerging Markets) This link opens in a new windowProvides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages.
- Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowS&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.
- LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace This link opens in a new windowLSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Workspace also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for LSEG Workspace
Int'l News & Newspapers
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.
- PressReaderDatabase that includes 250 newspapers from 55 countries in facsimile formthat means all newspapers are readable in their original format, layout and pagination. Texts are searchable, and about 30 papers (LA Times, Washington Post, etc.) have enhanced features ("SmartNavigation") for easy reading or cutting and pasting. The file for each newspaper goes back 60 days.
Selected Web Resources
Books
For additional sources search the Dartmouth Library Catalog using these subject headings:
Any of these topics can be linked to a geographic location. Example: business communication china
The Oxford Handbook of International Business Strategy by ISBN: 0198868375Publication Date: 2021-03-07
Videos
- Atma Global Collection (Alexander Street Videos)Videos on intercultural communication, cultural competence, and global business