This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering Standards" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Standards   Tags: engineering standards  

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/engrstandards Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Standards

If the Library does not own a standard then please use DartDoc to request a copy.

Use the Left Menu and choose the "Standards Document" form under New Request.

 

What is a Standard?

“A Standard is a published document which sets out specifications and procedures designed to ensure that a material, product, method or service is fit for its purpose and consistently performs in the way it was intended.  Standards establish a common language, which defines quality and establishes safety criteria.”  (from Standards Australia.)

"A standard is a universally agreed upon guideline, which usually facilitates safety or ease of use. 

ASTM F717-89(2006) Standard Specification for Football Helmets ensures that all helmets manufactured for use in competitive football meet the needs of the NFL and the stringent testing requirements of the American Society for Testing & Materials.

Engineers, inventors, manufacturers and contractors, insurers, governmental bodies, attorneys and consumers (like homeowners) all rely on standards to assure that buildings, bridges, cars, roads, and all sorts of products and goods are safe and usable—and that the people responsible for their design, production, and construction can be held accountable."

(from the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh's Standards and Specifications Web page)

An important use of standards is to ensure a direct and unambiguous comparison of experimental data to published data. For instance, standards can be used to examine the mechanical properties of current metal alloys. These standards are then used to test a new metal alloy thus ensuring the most accurate comparison; this avoids the many possible ways to determine mechanical properties which leads to slightly different results with different limitations and strengths.

Standards Full-Text

  • ANSI Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal
    one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options. All users will be required to install the FileOpen plug-in and accept an online end user license agreement prior to accessing any standards.
  • ASCE Library
    Standards backlist for current in-print titles, plus new titles published in 2013/14
  • ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library  
      
    Access ASTM's (American Society for Testing and Materials) 12,000 standards in more than 130 industry areas, including Active, Redline, Historical and Withdrawn standards. (some ISO and UOP standards are also available) Ex. F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices
  • IEEE Xplore Standards
    Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Standards portal with more than 3,400 technical standards. Ex. Components, Circuits, Devices & Systems
  • Standards Incorporated by Reference (SIBR) Database
    SIBR Database is provided as a public service for informational purposes only and is compiled by NIST to monitor the implementation of the National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act within the US Government.

Data from Standards in Handbooks

  • ASM Handbooks  
      
    Properties of Maraging Steels; Polycrystalline Cast Superalloys - Superalloy Design ...
  • ASME ebooks
    Power boilers: a guide to Section I of the ASME boiler and pressure vessel code ...
  • Knovel Online Interactive Books  
      
    ASHRAE Handbooks; Pressure Vessel Design Manual ...
  • Physical sciences and engineering eBooks on ScienceDirect
    Professionally focused physical sciences and engineering eBooks bringing together key sources of reference material.

    Ex: PEEK Biomaterials Handbook - Synthesis and Processing of PEEK for Surgical Implants ...
  • Springer Materials  
      
    Diffusion in Solid Metals and Alloys - Methods of measuring diffusion coefficients; Characterization Techniques for Amorphous Alloys ...

Standards Search Engines

  • Ei Compendex Web  
      
    limit by using "standards" as a Ei Controlled term and/or 902.2 as a Ei Classification code (ie. Codes and Standards)
  • National Resource for Global Standards (NSSN)
    A search engine that provides users with standards-related information from a wide range of developers, including organizations accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), other U.S. private sector standards bodies, government agencies and international organizations. NSSN is administered by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
  • TechStreet
    Provides access to standards and codes from over 350 standards organizations. Covers a wide range of industries, including electronics and information technology. Some of the organizations represented are the Electronics Industry Alliance, IEEE, International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and the International Committee for Information Technology Standards.
  • IHS Standards Store
    IHS is the industry's most comprehensive source of hardcopy and PDF technical industry standards and government and military standards.
  • SAI Global
    With over 55 years of technical publishing experience, SAI Global is a worldwide leader in technical standards, engineering databases, and US government parts / logistics data. With over 1,000,000 standards and directives, SAI Global is one of the largest sources of standards.
  • Document Center

Standards Organizations

  • American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
    The Institute oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution.
  • Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation  
      
    The AAMI standards program consists of over 100 technical committees and working groups that produce Standards, Recommended Practices, and Technical Information Reports for medical devices.
  • ISO (International Organization for Standardization)  
      
    the world's largest developer and publisher of International Standards.
  • SAE International
    SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies include voluntary consensus standards development. See the SAE handbook in the Library Catalog.
  • Society for Standards Professionals
    SES was founded in 1947 as a non-profit, technical association dedicated to furthering the knowledge and use of standards and standardization. SES is unique in that it is the only organization in North America committed exclusively to furthering public awareness and knowledge of standards and standardization.
  • Standards Developing Organizations

Government Standards

Engineering Librarians

Profile Image
Mark Mounts & Janifer Holt
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Feldberg Library
6193 Murdough Center
Hanover, NH 03755-3560

Holt: Office 101D; phone 603-646-3066
Mounts: Office 101F; phone 603-646-1145
Fax: 603-646-2384
Send Email
Subjects:
Engineering
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip