Financial Ratios
Industry:
- IBISWorld: Industry This link opens in a new windowA collection of market research reports for over 700 U.S. industries and almost 60 global industries. Reports are typically 30-60 pages in length and include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and outlook.
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowGranular industry statistical reports and market analysis reports at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and market trends for thousands more.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.
Public Company:
- Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowS&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.
Key Business Publications
Selected Feldberg Books
The dark side of valuation : valuing young, distressed and complex businesses by Call Number: Feldberg HG4028.V3 D352 2010ISBN: 0137126891
Due diligence : an M&A value creation approach by Call Number: Feldberg HD2746.5 .G646 2009ISBN: 0470375906
Investment banking : valuation, leveraged buyouts, and mergers & acquisitions by Call Number: Feldberg HG4534 .R67 2009ISBN: 0470442204
Databases
- BloombergReal-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more. Bloomberg terminals are available in Feldberg Library.
- Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowS&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.
- DatastreamGlobal historical data and analytics: equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly formats, covering 30+ years. Available within WRDS or by permission within LSEG Workspace.
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new windowFinancial and economic time series data covering 200 countries and 20,000 different data series. Includes data on markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264.
- WRDS: Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new windowWharton's business data research service - our subscription includes access to: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, Bureau van Dijk (Amadeus & Osiris), CBOE Indexes, COMPUSTAT, Compstat Global, CRSP, CUSIP, ComScore, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, Eventus, FDIC, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, IBES, MFLINKS, Morningstar CISDM, Option Metrics, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Order Execution, TRACE, Thomson Reuters
- CalcbenchA database and research tool for financial statement analysis, financial accounting, and auditing of public companies using SEC data. If you are not a Dartmouth student, check with your institution’s library to see if your school subscribes or create an account. Full instructions on Canvas.
League Tables
- BloombergReal-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more. Bloomberg terminals are available in Feldberg Library.
- Orbis M&A (AKA Zephyr) This link opens in a new windowGlobal information on 1 million M&A, IPO, Private Equity and Venture Capital deals and rumors. Search by hundreds of criteria, including multiples; analyze a set of deals; refer to original sources (translated into English); and integrated financials for companies involved. Formerly known as "Zephyr."
- LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace This link opens in a new windowLSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Workspace also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for LSEG Workspace
Career Resources
- Bloomberg JOBSAccess Bloomberg from computers in Feldberg. JOBS
will get you to the search screen for job postings. - PE HubInteractive forum for the private equity community, which includes venture capitalists, buyouts professionals, attorneys, bankers, entrepreneurs, MBA candidates studying PE.