NAIS Librarian
Amy Witzel
Contact:
230 Baker (Research & Learning)
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: (603) 646-0790
History & Government Librarian
Wendel Cox
He/Him/His
Contact:
231 Baker
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Notice - Under construction
Much of the content in this Law & Government guide was archived a few years ago, and is now out of date. Apologies for any broken links encountered. The International section is most current, and I'll continue to update other sections. Please don't hesitate to contact me with questions! In many cases we continue to have access -- just need to correct the URLs, etc.
Thanks -- Amy
Background & Encyclopedias
-
American Jurisprudence 2nd (via Westlaw)
Extensive, broad legal encyclopedia with citations to selected cases
To access via Westlaw:
- From entry page, select "Secondary Sources" from the Browse menu, and follow link to American Jurisprudence.
- Scroll down resulting menu and expand entry for "Indians; Native Americans"
-
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
Call Number: Baker Berry Reference KF8210.C5 E53 1997 -
Handbook of North American Indians
Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference E77 .H25 [second copy in Baker stacks]
Most volumes in this set have a regional focus, but see in particular Vol. 4 - History of Indian-White Relations (published 1988). -
Tiller's Guide to Indian Country: economic profiles of American Indian reservations (3rd ed. - 2015)
Profiles tribal histories and cultures, with detailed information about their communities, natural resources, enterprises, and environmental concerns, as well as their contact information. It also features leading tribal enterprises, businesses doing business with tribes, and nonprofit organizations that have made significant contributions to economic development in Indian Country.
-
Treaties with American Indians : an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty / Donald L. Fixico (Editor)
Overviews of US & Canadian treaties, along with selected treaty texts and thematic essays.
US Legal guides & casebooks
-
American Indian Law Deskbook
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry STACKS KF8205 .A76 2024bPublication Date: 2024 -
American Indian Law in a Nutshell (5th ed, 2009)
by
Unlimited access license via HeinOnline -
American Indian Law in a Nutshell (8th ed., 2025)
by
Note: single user ebook license.
Also have single-user license for 7th ed (2020) -
American Indians and the law
by
Note: library ebook license for three simultaneous users -
Cases and Materials on Federal Indian Law (7th ed., 2017)
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry STACKS KF8204.5 .G47 2017 -
Cohen's handbook of federal Indian law (2005 ed.)
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry STACKS KF8205 .C6 20052007 & 2009 supplements shelved nearby.
2024 edition is on order
-
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law (2005 ed.)We have no licensed ebook for a recent edition, but a single-user copy of the 2005 ed. is available at the Internet Archive. Must register for an Internet Archive account in order to sign in and "borrow".
