Citing SourcesFinding BooksFinding journals & articlesImportant Web SitesOverviews & BackgroundTribal Governments & LawUS Federal Relations & Law
This is the "NAS Home" page of the "Native American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native American Studies   Tags: nas  

A Guide to Resources in the Dartmouth College Library
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/nas Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

NAS Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New!

Cover Art
American Indian Histories and Culture
"[P]resents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world." [from database introduction]

 

Microfilm Archives in the
Jones Media Center

This guide to microfilm collections in Jones was last updated in 1993, so facility information such as hours is now out of date.  With the completion of the Berry Library addition, Jones has relocated from the basement of Baker to Berry Level 2.  But the call numbers for the microfilm sets listed remain the same.

Cobell settlement

Elouise Cobell (1945-2011)

Dartmouth 2011 Honorary Degree Recipient - Doctor of Humane Letters


December 8, 2010 - President Obama signs the Claims Resolution Act of 2010 (H.R. 4783) settlement into law

December 8, 2009 - US Dept. of the Interior announces settlement in Cobell v. Salazar

June 10, 1996 - Elouise Cobell & co-plaintiffs file initial complaint against  US Dept of the Interior.

Native American Studies key resources


Summon: 
Discover the world of library content

Search across the content of multiple library databases.  Quick, easy, 'though not as precise as searching individual databases.

Note: Summon does not cover the above Ebsco databases.

About Summon


Search the library catalog:

Additional key resources:

  • Handbook of North American Indians
    Baker-Berry Reference E77 .H25
    [second set in Baker stacks]

    The Smithsonian Institution's multi-volume work in progress. Each volume focuses on a particular region and contains articles on individual tribes or themes such as "Late prehistory of the Ohio Valley".
  • Academic Search Complete
    indexes scholarly journals & popular press magazines in all disciplines.
  • America: History & Life
    Indexes journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations on the history and culture of the US & Canada from prehistory to the present
  • Anthropological Literature
    Indexes articles in periodicals, monographic series, and edited works held in Harvard's Tozzer Library collection from the 19th century onward.
  • AnthroSource
    full-text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    Indexes scholarly journal articles, essays, books, dissertations, and US government documents covering Native American history, life, and culture in works dating from the 16th century to the present.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Searchable full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native presses in the US.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip