Film Resources
The most direct way to find films is a keyword search in our library catalog, restricting to the Video/Film format type.
Many - but not all - of our film catalog records receive a subject heading indicating genre. There are a few documentary-related headings: “Documentary films”, “Documentary television programs”, and “Documentary-style films”.
So -- to search the catalog for documentary films on a particular topic, try a keyword search for:
documentary and [your search term], limited to the Video/Film format type.
Hint: broaden your search term using the wildcard (asterisk *) in order to find spelling variants
Example: documentary and global* [finds "global", "globalization", etc.]
AVON: Academic Video Online by Call Number: Streaming videoAVON includes selected content from almost every Alexander Street Press individual video collection, and also many other videos not in those collections. The database covers the following subject areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women's studies.
- Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new windowDigitalia Film Library (streaming video) is a multilingual collection of films & documentaries from Spain, France and other European countries, North American Classic films, and Latin American films from South America, Central America and Caribbean including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Brazil, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Guatemala and others.
Kanopy StreamingCall Number: Streaming serviceKanopy Streaming is a service to which Dartmouth subscribes. There are many examples of different types of films in this collection.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowWe now offers access to streaming movies for academic use, obtained through Swank Digital Campus. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, documentary providers, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of more than 1,000 film titles. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms.
The resources below are a mix of film distributors and streaming video archives. Dartmouth may own some of the film titles mentioned, but if not, they may be available to borrow via interlibrary loan.
- American Indian Film GalleryOnline archive of over 450 films, complied by J. Fred MacDonald, and housed at the University of Arizona
- Arnait Video Collectiveoriginally the Women’s Video Workshop of Igloolik
- Hemispheric Institute Digital Video LibraryIncludes theatrical performances from the American Indian Community House (New York), Spiderwoman Theater, Dancing Earth, among others, as well as a number of artist interviews
- IsumaTVstreaming video portal for Inuit & Aboriginal filmakers. Sponsored by Isuma Distribution International Inc.
- National Film Board of CanadaOffers streaming video for a large number of their films
Film Festivals
Note that newly released films often have a lengthy wait before they become available for sale to libraries & individuals.
Images
- Finding Images for Research & PresentationsArt Librarian Laura Graveline's guide suggests additional image resources
- AP images This link opens in a new window
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest CollectionUniversity of Washington Libraries
- Curtis - The North American IndianNorthwestern University hosts the online archive of the complete set of Edward Curtis' "The North American Indian"
- Heard Museum LibrarySee in particular the "Digital Library"
- JSTOR Image Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the Artstor Image Library including Dartmouth Collections & content from museums, collections & archives around the world. View & analyze images through features such as zooming. Save both image files & citations.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photo catalogSee in particular the Curtis (Edward S.) Collection, the Grabill Collection, and the "Groups of Images (LOTs)" Collection. Also browse the catalog by subject or search by keyword.
- Newberry Library Digital CollectionsSee in particular the Ayer Art Digital Collection and North American Indian Photographs Collection
- Stefansson Collection of Arctic Photographsfrom the Rauner Special Collections Library at Dartmouth College