Finding Books in the Stacks
To find books within Dartmouth's collection, start with our library catalog - essentially our inventory.
An item's catalog record provides publication info, along with our Location (specific library), Call Number (where it's shelved), as well as the Status (whether it's currently on loan or not).
Lost in the stacks? Maps of Baker-Berry are here.
Ready to borrow the book? Take the book and your campus ID card to the Circulation Desk.
To find books beyond Dartmouth, try a subject bibliography or a large library network catalog, such as WorldCat. Materials not owned by Dartmouth can be requested through interlibrary loan: Interlibrary Loan & BorrowDirect
Finding books
Relevant titles fall throughout our collection - along with online, but the E75 through E99 call number section houses a sizeable amount of print materials, located on Baker Stack Level A.
- E75-E77 (General history)
- E78 (By state, province, or region, A-Z)
e.g., E78.A3 = Alaska; E78.N78 = Northwest Coast - E81-87 (Indian Wars and captivities)
- E89-90 (Biography)
- E91-93 (Government relations)
- E96-97 (Education)
- E98 (By special topic, A-Z)
e.g., E98.A7 = Art; E98.E2 = Economic Conditions; E98.R3 = Religion - E99 (By tribe, A-Z)
e.g., E99.C5 = Cherokee; E99.S28 = Seminole
-
HathiTrust Digital LibraryMillions of searchable texts from a partnership of research libraries. The material out of copyright is available to read; material in copyright is searchable.
-
Internet ArchiveA non-profit digital library provides permanent storage of and free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books.
-
WorldCatWorldCat (the OCLC Union Catalog) of books, periodicals, magazines, newspapers, maps, computer data files, manuscripts, scores, sound recordings and any other type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. The database includes records for material from the 11th century to date. New records are added daily.