Research Guides: Engineering and Design: Home

Databases for Finding Articles

Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. It offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and other fields.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present.

Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Design Research Society Digital Library
Founded in 1966 the Design Research Society (DRS) is a learned society committed to promoting and developing design research. The DRS Digital Library is an archive and library of publications related to the discipline of design research. The content goes back to the first DRS conference in 1971 which is archived here alongside current research, primarily drawn from the DRS biennial conference series.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.

Lean Library Browser Extension

Pop-ups are no-one's favorite, but what if I gave you a pop-up extension that will give you directions to full-text articles, ebooks, and more through the Dartmouth Library for any academic site? Allow me to introduce Lean Library. This plug-in works with Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Opera, and Safari. While the tool may be of assistance when on the Dartmouth network, it will be especially helpful when you aren't.

Step 1: Download and install the extension: https://download.leanlibrary.com/DartmouthLibrary

Step 2: Select Dartmouth College

Step 3: Start searching! Lean Library will let you know when you are on a website that the library has access to and will help you navigate access to the full text of articles, or direct you to Interlibrary Loan when appropriate.

Step 4: Login with your Dartmouth Single Sign-On

***Please note that Dartmouth Library is actively working on implementation of this new tool and there may be hiccups. If you encounter a problem, please let us know.