Point of Contact
Welcome!
As the energy transition touches multiple disciplines, please refer to the main Energy guide for a more holistic view of our energy related resources. This guide is designed to support the MET program's specific curricular goals and highlight specific resources. You will also find course pages designed in collaboration with MET faculty within this guide.
Click to see our slides from the MET Library Orientation (please log in to your Dartmouth Google account)
Resources for Energy Transitions
Through our GlobalData modules, you can access a database called "Energy Transitions" that allows you to track the energy transitions through key factors including transition metals needed to power the transition, power supply and demand, energy storage, renewable refineries, low-carbon hydrogen development, carbon capture developments (CCUS), electric vehicle markets, energy transition market forecasting, and thematic analysis of the transition itself. To learn more about this powerful tool, please contact your librarian.
-
GlobalData: Power This link opens in a new windowCovers renewables, carbon emissions and trading, hydrogen and fuel cells, coal to gas, gas to liquids, biomass to liquids and nuclear industries. 25,000+ power plants, 16,000+ companies, and hundreds of research reports. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
-
GlobalData: Oil & Gas This link opens in a new windowResearch solutions covering the full breadth of the oil & gas industry, from exploration to refining, data and analysis across the upstream, midstream, downstream and petrochemicals sectors. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
-
Journal: Renewable and Sustainable Energy TransitionRenewable and Sustainable Energy Transition has a mission to share the most interesting and relevant problems, solutions, applications, novel ideas and technologies to support the transition to a low carbon future and achieve our global emissions targets as established by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.
-
Library Search: Energy TransitionsFind recent materials including physical books, ebooks, articles, and videos. Filtered for materials from 2024-2027. Use additional filters to sort by format.
Access The Energy Transition Show Podcast
The Energy Transition Show, hosted by veteran energy analyst Chris Nelder, is a leading podcast offering in-depth, fact-based exploration of the global shift from fossil fuels to renewable energy. Since its launch in 2015, the show has earned a reputation for its rigorous analysis, balanced perspectives, and expert interviews, making it a trusted resource for professionals and enthusiasts alike. Nelder, who has written extensively for publications like Nature, Scientific American, and The Atlantic, brings decades of experience to each episode.
The podcast covers a wide range of topics, including solar, wind, nuclear, electric vehicles, grid modernization, and climate policy. Notable guests have included Emily Grubert, Associate Professor at the University of Notre Dame, discussing the complexities of decarbonizing steel production; Tim Gould of the International Energy Agency, analyzing global energy outlooks; and economist Mariana Mazzucato, exploring the role of public investment in green industrial strategy.
As a member of the Dartmouth community, you have subscription access to full episodes of The Energy Transition Show. Learn more about setting up your subscription.