Research Guides: Astronomy: Find Articles

Searching for articles

ArXiv.org (Astrophysics section)
Astrophysics section of arXiv, the premier collection of preprints in physics and related fields - The 1st place many experienced researchers go to keep up-to-date with new research. The service allows authorized users to post papers BEFORE the papers are published through the peer review review process.

Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA cooperative agreement. The ADS maintains more than 8.7 million bibliographic records and full-text scans of astronomical literature.
NASA technical reports server This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations, full-text documents, and image and video files from scientific and technical information created or funded by NASA. Information types include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, and research reports.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
UMD Technical Reports Center
A U.S. Government Document Depository Library for scientific and technical reports from several agencies and houses one of the most complete collections of NASA documents in the country, as well as reports from NASA's predecessor, NACA, dating back to 1915.
ARIBIB Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References
Search indexes and bibliographies to the astronomical literature from late-1800's to 2000.

ProQuest Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts and periodicals in science, engineering, and technology in full-text and image formats. Covers a wide range of topics from both physical and life science disciplines. Provides a full-text linking destination for ProQuest's versions of Applied science & technology abstracts and General science abstracts.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes: over 5,000 journals in astronomy, physics, and other basic and applied science fields, going back to 1900. Includes "Cited Reference Search" to track research forward.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.

SciX (Beta)
The Science Explorer (SciX) is a NASA/SAO digital library portal for researchers in astronomy, earth science, heliophysics, physics, and planetary science. The four bibliographic collections maintained by SciX cover astronomy (including astrophysics, heliophysics, and planetary science), physics, earth science, and general science. Overall the system contains over 20 million records covering refereed publications plus all arXiv, ESS Open Archive, and EarthArXiv preprints. It launched publicly in 2023, and is still in beta as of 2024. This is an expansion of the Astrophysics Data System (ADS).

Tutorial: Accessing the Full Text of an Article
Check out this 15-20 minute tutorial that will walk you through the different ways to access the full text of an article through the Dartmouth Libraries.
Off Campus Access
Are you off campus and having trouble accessing a resource? Check out our page for help regarding off-campus access.
Browser extension LibKey Nomad
Check out our guide for adding the browser extension LibKey Nomad. It can provide direct linking to full-text resources available in our library's collection!

Did you know that you can request items that the library doesn't own?

Interlibrary Loan
Dartmouth's Interlibrary Loan system. Request books, chapters, articles, -- anything Dartmouth doesn't own and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from a small, but strong, group of libraries (the Ivies). Often the fastest option for getting books that Dartmouth doesn't own, or that are missing or checked out.

PhySH - Physics Subject Headings
PhySH (Physics Subject Headings) is a physics classification scheme developed by the American Physical Society (APS) to organize journal, meeting, and other content by topic. PhySH is a fully open detailed classification scheme for physics. It was initially developed to meet the specific goals of the APS for journal, meeting, and other content; it is also available for use by the broader community. It has replaced PACS.
PACS
PACS, is no longer being updated as of 2010 and has been replaced by PhySH. The Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme® (PACS®) is a hierarchical subject classification scheme designed to classify and categorize the literature of physics and astronomy.