Job Boards
- AAS Job RegisterFind astronomy job postings for faculty positions, pre-doctoral/graduate positions, postdoc positions and fellowships, science engineering, science management, scientific/technical staff, and more. Hosted by the American Astronomical Society.
- EAS Job DirectoryThe European Astronomical Society's job directory can be browsed by academic jobs, PhD/Master position, and non-academic jobs, as well as keyword searches.
- Physics Today Job BoardPhysics Today has listings for the latest assistant, associate, and full professor roles, plus scientist jobs in specialized disciplines like theoretical physics, astronomy, condensed matter, materials, applied physics, astrophysics, optics and lasers, computational physics, plasma physics, and others.
- Careers at NASACheck out NASA's career page to read about what working there is like, featured careers, and how to apply. Also on this page are links to internships for current students and recent graduates - applications open in the fall.
- WU Libraries's Physics & Astronomy Career PageCheck out Washington University Libraries' page on job listings in Physics & Astronomy.
- USA Jobs - STEMSearch federal jobs in STEM fields by keyword and location. Filter by hiring path, pay, department & agency, and more.
- USA Jobs - National Security and Foreign PolicySearch federal jobs relating to national security and foreign policy by keyword and location. Filter by hiring path, pay, department & agency, and more.
Resources Beyond Job Postings
- AAS Career ResourcesThe American Astronomical Society provides a variety of resources for career astronomers and those with astronomy-powered career aspirations. Check out their links on this page for workshops, advice, networking, events, in-person meetings, internships and summer jobs, and various pathways that your education and career can take you.
- AstroBetter's Job Hunting LinksApart from job boards and career fairs, this page links out to advice regarding CVs, cover letters, books, and other resources.
- Dartmouth Center for Career DesignDartmouth Center for Career Design's mission is to empower Dartmouth's diverse undergraduate student community to confidently pursue career goals. Check out their resources, the Handshake career platform, boards for job opportunities, guides for all stages of your career search, and more.
- SciAll.org"Our mission is to expand and diversify public interest in science. Under this umbrella, we follow two core aims. Aim 1: Provide inspiration and guidance to students, particularly those from groups underrepresented in STEM, to help them understand the process of science and what it takes to succeed in STEM careers. Aim 2: Make the scientific process accessible to a broad public audience, particularly among groups traditionally underrepresented in STEM fields and groups that are traditionally skeptical of environmental science."
Recommended Reads
Subject searches in the library catalog
Click the links below to view all books in the Dartmouth Library catalog with the corresponding subject.
Recommended Titles
The Effective Scientist by
What is an effective scientist? One who is successful by quantifiable standards, with many publications, citations, and students supervised? Yes, but there is much more. Truly effective scientists need to have influence beyond academia, usefully applying and marketing their research to non-scientists. This book therefore takes an all-encompassing approach to improving the scientist's career. It begins by focusing on writing and publishing - a scientist's most important weapon in the academic arsenal. Part two covers the numerical and financial aspects of being an effective scientist, and Part three focuses on running a lab effectively. The book concludes by discussing the more entertaining and philosophical aspects of being an effective scientist. Little of this material is taught in university, but developing these skills is vital to maximize the chance of being effective. Written by a scientist for scientists, this practical and entertaining book is a must-read for every early career-scientist, regardless of specialty.
Call Number: Stacks Q180.55.V6 B73 2018ISBN: 9781316620854Publication Date: 2018
Entrepreneurship for Creative Scientists by
Through patenting and commercialization scientists today can develop their work beyond a publication in a learned journal. Indeed, universities and governments are encouraging today's scientists and engineers to break their fruits of their research out of the laboratory and into the commercial world. However, doing so is complicated and can be daunting for those more used to a research seminar than a board room. This book, written by experienced scientists and entrepreneurs, deals essentially with businesses started by scientists and based on innovation and sets out to clarify for scientists and engineers the steps necessary to take an idea along the path to commercialization and maximise the potential for success, regardless of the path taken.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 0750311479Publication Date: 2018
Find Your Path: unconventional lessons from 36 leading scientists and engineers by
Scientists offer personal accounts of the challenges, struggles, successes, U-turns, and satisfactions encountered in their careers in industry, academia, and government.This insightful book offers essential life and career lessons for newly minted STEM graduates and those seeking a career change. Thirty-six leading scientists and engineers (including two Nobel Prize winners) describe the challenges, struggles, successes, satisfactions, and U-turns encountered as they established their careers. Readers learn that there are professional possibilities beyond academia, as contributors describe the paths that took them into private industry and government as well as to college and university campuses. They discuss their varying preferences for solitary research or collaborative teamwork; their attempts to achieve work-life balance; and unplanned changes in direction that resulted in a more satisfying career. Women describe confronting overt sexism and institutional gender bias; scientists of color describe the experience of being outsiders in their field. One scientist moves from startup to startup, enjoying a career of serial challenges; another spends decades at one university; another has worked in academia, industry, and government. Some followed in the footsteps of parents; others were the first in their family to go to college. Many have changed fields, switched subjects, or left established organizations for something new. Taken together, these essays make it clear that there is not one path to a profession in science, but many.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780262537544Publication Date: 2019
A Guide to the Scientific Career by
A concise, easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for writing research papers and career management In order to be truly successful in the biomedical professions, one must have excellent communication skills and networking abilities. Of equal importance is the possession of sufficient clinical knowledge, as well as a proficiency in conducting research and writing scientific papers. This unique and important book provides medical students and residents with the most commonly encountered topics in the academic and professional lifestyle, teaching them all of the practical nuances that are often only learned through experience. Written by a team of experienced professionals to help guide younger researchers, A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing features ten sections composed of seventy-four chapters that cover: qualities of research scientists; career satisfaction and its determinants; publishing in academic medicine; assessing a researcher's scientific productivity and scholarly impact; manners in academics; communication skills; essence of collaborative research; dealing with manipulative people; writing and scientific misconduct: ethical and legal aspects; plagiarism; research regulations, proposals, grants, and practice; publication and resources; tips on writing every type of paper and report; and much more. An easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for scientific research Emphasizes good communication skills, sound clinical judgment, knowledge of research methodology, and good writing skills Offers comprehensive guidelines that address every aspect of the medical student/resident academic and professional lifestyle Combines elements of a career-management guide and publication guide in one comprehensive reference source Includes selected personal stories by great researchers, fascinating writers, inspiring mentors, and extraordinary clinicians/scientists.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1118907329Publication Date: 2020
The Latino Student's Guide to STEM Careers by
As a fast-growing, major segment of the U.S. population, the next generation of Latinos and Latinas could be key to future American advances in science and technology. With the appropriate encouragement for Latinos/as to enter science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) careers, they can become the creative innovators who will produce technological advances we all need and can enjoy--from faster tech devices to more energy efficient transportation to cures for diseases and medical conditions. This book presents a compelling case that the nation's Hispanic population must be better represented in STEM careers and that the future of America's technological advances may well depend on the Latino/a population. It focuses on the importance of STEM education for Latinos/as and provides a comprehensive array of the most current information students and families need to make informed decisions about entering and succeeding in a STEM career. Students, families, and educators will fully understand why STEM is so important for Latinos/as, how to plan for a career in STEM, how to pay for and succeed in college, and how to choose a career in STEM. The book also includes compelling testimonials of Latino/a students who have completed a STEM major that offer proof that Latinos/as can overcome life challenges to succeed in STEM fields.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1610697928Publication Date: 2017
Successful Careers Beyond the Lab by
There is a major demand for people with scientific training in a wide range of professions based on and maintaining relations with science. However, there is a lack of good first-hand information about alternative career paths to research. From entrepreneurship, industry and the media to government, public relations, activism and teaching, this is a readable guide to science based skills, lifestyles and career paths. The ever-narrowing pyramid of opportunities within an academic career structure, or the prospect of a life in the laboratory losing its attraction, mean that many who trained in science and engineering now look for alternative careers. Thirty role models who began by studying many different disciplines give personal guidance for graduates, postgraduates and early-career scientists in the life sciences, physical sciences and engineering. This book is an entertaining resource for ideas about, and directions into, the many fields which they may not be aware of or may not have considered.
Call Number: Stacks Q147 .B455 2017ISBN: 9781107161054Publication Date: 2017
Career Confidence: No-BS Stories and Strategies for Finding Your Power by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1394220928Publication Date: 2024
