Graphic Design HistoryNancy Stock-Allen's comprehensive site on the history of books, book materials, writing, printing, and design. http://www.designhistory.org
Type CultureAn educational aid by Mark Jamra of Maine College of Art, for students, educators and professionals who are seeking information about the history, design, manufacture and use of typefaces
Letterform ArchiveLetterform Archive is a nonprofit center for design inspiration, education, publishing, and community.
500 Handmade Book Vol 2 by Julie Chen"For this follow-up to the popular 500 Handmade Books, renowned book artist, lecturer, and instructor Julie Chen has chosen a provocative and visually dynamic group of works that will be of interest to makers and collectors alike."--Publisher's description
Books Without Paste or Glue by Keith A. SmithVolume I is not only about how to bind a book, the first part of this text is about developing an approach to binding. Sewing a blank book or rebinding an existing one differs from creating a book of text and/or pictures. Here, binding should not be an afterthought but an integral part of the statement. Volume I is an introduction to hand binding: Paper, grain, folding, cutting, tearing, marking and piercing sewing stations are explained. Folding down sections for a varying number of pages is diagrammed, as well as imposition of page numbers. Thread, knots and stitches, and simple tools are covered. PART 2 of the book gives detailed written instructions for 33 simple to complex bindings, (2), (3), (4), (5). The procedures are also presented as 350 drawings, elaborately diagrammed step by step. In addition, this is followed by a condensed outline of the procedures. All sewings require only needle thread and scissors. PART 3 describes covers, tape supports, interlocking tabs, turns-in and spine-pleats. PART 4 contains the references, including a Glossary of Terms, Notes, Index of Terms and Reference of Photographic Illustrations. Volume I has 137 photographic reproductions of bindings by 37 contemporary bookbinders. - from Keith Smith web site
Boxcar Press—Polymer Plate ResourceWhere to get polymer plates, supplies for printing and platemaking. They also offer great advice of preparing files for plates and printing them once you get them.
French PaperInexpensive, but good quality colored text weight paper and cardstock. It's what the Book Arts Workshop uses for workshops a lot.
TalasBookbinding, conservation and art supplies such as paper, cloths, tools and board.
Cave Paper—Handmade PaperCave Paper is a production hand-made paper mill dedicated to making decorated and unusual sheets of high quality for use by artists, bookbinders, calligraphers and anyone with a desire for fine sheets.
Colophon Book Arts SupplyOnline retail store serving the unique and widespread book arts community composed of beginning students to advanced professionals that practice, teach, and study making books by hand
Book Arts 101: Home EditionJaffe Center for Book Arts' Director, John Cutrone's live Facebook broadcast of Book Arts 101: Home Edition. This is presented live every Wednesday at 3:00 EDT.
Book Art Theory Blog by College Book Arts AssociationBook Art Theory
Capitalizing on the interdisciplinary nature of the field, this blog calls attention to criticism and theory about the book as a medium and/or subject in works of art and, more generally, about book art. It seeks to encourage dialogue, solicit comments, and create a generative space for new ideas from critics and theorists of various fields regarding the aesthetic, semiotic, haptic, cognitive, historical, and other features that distinguish these works and their function in ethical, political, and social matters.
Journal of Artists' BooksDedicated to providing a forum for critical and creative engagement with artists' books.
Umbrella—online quarterlyUmbrella is the most comprehensive online quarterly covering the arena of artists’ books, art books and other multiple editions, including audio and new media.
Book Arts Centers,Schools, and Classes
Jaffe Center for Book ArtsSouth Florida's hub for all aspects of the Book Arts: Letterpress Printing, Bookbinding, Hand Papermaking. JCBA revolves around the Jaffe Collection, an amazing collection of artists' books.
Booklyn Artists AllianceBooklyn’s mission is to promote artists’ books as art and research material and to assist artists and organizations in documenting, exhibiting, and distributing their artwork and archives.
University of the Arts Book Arts and Printmaking MFA ProgramMaster of Fine Arts (MFA) program in Book Arts + Printmaking is one of the first of its kind in the country and is one of the few programs which offers students a dual MFA in both disciplines, allowing for a variety of career options after graduation-from teaching or conservation; to printing, designing and publishing. Located in Philadelphia, PA.
University of Iowa Center for the BookThe UICB offers three credentials: 1) a Master of Fine Arts in the Book Arts; 2) a Graduate Certificate in the book arts, studies, and technologies; and 3) a joint School of Library and Information Sciences (SLIS) Master of Arts and UICB Graduate Certificate.
North Bennet St. School—Bookbinding ProgramThe two-year, comprehensive Bookbinding program teaches students how to make, restore, and preserve books and other printed treasures.
The University of Alabama MFA in Book ArtsEstablished in 1985, The Book Arts Program at The University of Alabama fosters the development of original scholarship and creative practice. Our students acquire advanced skills in book arts, become cognizant of the historical background in which these various crafts evolved, and develop knowledge about the professional environments in which our graduates will work. Courses explore the reconciliation of modern sensibilities with historic craft.
Center for Book ArtsIn person and online classes, studio space rentals, book sales and more. Located in New York City.
Morgan ConservatoryThe Morgan Conservatory is the largest arts center in the United States dedicated to every facet of papermaking, book arts and letterpress printing and to cultivating the talents of established and emerging artists.
Women's Studio WorkshopWorkspace and opportunities for etching, letterpress, papermaking, book arts, silkscreen, 3D work, ceramics, and photography.
Hatch Show PrintInternships and opportunities at Hatch Show Print, a working letterpress print shop since 1879 in Nashville TN.
In Cahoots ResidencyIn Cahoots Residency is a place of collaboration and creative energy, a rare opportunity for uninterrupted work time as well as dialog with other artists. The residency provides housing and studio space to emerging and professional artists working in a variety of mediums. Our pastoral location and light-filled studios for book art, letterpress, writing, and printmaking inspire artists to make new discoveries and leave with a renewed passion for their work.
DesignInquiryDesignInquiry is a collaborative laboratory, a residency space to test ideas and share research. DesignInquiry welcomes experimentation – visual and textual, works-in-process, unfinished essays, lost pages, work-you-never-did-anything-with, or undiscovered gems.
Organizations and Societies
College Book Arts AssociationA non-profit organization fundamentally committed to the teaching of book arts at the college and university level, while supporting such education at all levels, concerned with both the practice and the analysis of the medium.
Movable Book SocietyA nonprofit organization, provides a forum for artists, book sellers, book producers, collectors, curators, and others to share enthusiasm and exchange information about pop-up and movable books.
Codex Foundation and Book FairThe Codex Foundation exists to preserve and promote the contemporary hand-made book as a work of art in the broadest possible context and to bring to public recognition the artists, the craftsmanship, and the rich history of the civilization of the book.
Guild of BookworkersThe Guild still believes, as did its founders, that there is a responsibility among civilized people to sustain the crafts involved with the production of fine books.
Artist's Books OnlineA collection of files that display artists' books, exhibits, essays, and links to other collections or resource materials for this field. There is an index of agents (authors, publishers, binders, printers etc. of books and works represented), titles (of works, books, and sometimes objects), contributors (authors of essays, exhibits, commentary), and of collections and other resources. The indices are currently under development.
Artists' Books at MassArtThis gallery represents some of the over 300 artists’ books housed at the MassArt Library. Among the artists represented in our collection are Robert Rauschenberg, Ed Ruscha, Sol Lewitt, Andy Warhol, Allan Kaprow, Bruce Nauman, Michael Kirby, Robert Smithson, Christo, Angela Lorenz, Tamara Oppenheimer, Laura Davidson, Stephanie Stigliano, Julie Chen, and Laurie Anderson. All are available to view in person at the Library.
Smithsonian Libraries Artists' BooksSmithsonian Libraries has a rich, diverse collection of artist-made books from the early 20th century to today. Look at the books here.
Vamp and Tramp BooksellersBooksellers specializing in artists' books. Based in Alabama, they have fixture in the book arts community, supporting a number of well known and emerging artists.
Museums
Museum of Printing—Haverhill, MAThe Museum of Printing is dedicated to preserving the rich history of the graphic arts, printing and typesetting technology, and printing craftsmanship.
International Printing Museum—Carson, CAThe International Printing Museum is a dynamic museum devoted to bringing the history of books, printing, and the book arts to life for diverse audiences.
The Printing Museum—Upper Hutt, NZa combination of working printing museum, book arts centre, community workshop, specialised printery and type foundry.
Museum Plantin-Moretus, Antwerp, BelgiumThe original residence and workshop of the Plantin and Moretus publishing dynasty offers you a unique historical experience, which is why it is a Unesco world heritage site. The building’s creaking oak planks and panels seem imbued in the history of books, the art of printing and the story of a family’s entrepreneurial flair. The oldest printing presses in the world can be found here, and much more.
Northeast Document Conservation CenterNEDCC provides professional conservation treatment for books, maps, photographs, documents, parchment, papyrus, manuscripts, architectural plans, and works of art on paper.
AIC—American Institute for ConservationThe American Institute for Conservation (AIC) is the leading membership association for current and aspiring conservators and allied professionals who preserve cultural heritage.