Recommended Resources
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
The leading legal encyclopedias, American Jurisprudence (Am. Jur.) and Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS), are available online via WestlawNext. American Jurisprudence is also available via Nexis Uni. The Library no longer adds to the print editions of either work; legacy volumes for both works remain in Baker-Berry stacks.
American Law Reports (ALR) "provides close and comprehensive analysis of very specific points of law." ALR is available online via WestlawNext. The Library no longer adds to the print edition of this work; legacy volumes remain in Baker-Berry stacks.
Black's Law Dictionary by ISBN: 9780314613004Publication Date: 2014-05-01This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law.
- Black's Law Dictionary (WestlawNext)Up-to-date and searchable online edition of the preeminent dictionary.
Guides for Self-Help
- NOLO.COMA commercial publisher of a well-regarded and reliable legal self-help books. Generally, Dartmouth College Library does not collect NOLO guides; public libraries may own copies or we may be able to provide copies via Interlibrary Loan.