Statistics & Data Sets for Health Care and Public Health

Sponsored by the CDC and other federal agencies, BRFSS collects self-reported data on health behaviors, chronic conditions, and use of preventative services.

Directory to research, data sources, and statistics from all operating divisions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Maps, graphs, and tables by state and year for many diseases, risk factors, and vital statistics.

Downloadable datasets on health, inpatient health care, health care quality, and geographic data on health and health care.

Data visualization, searchable statistics, and interactive queries on health and health care.

Surveillance reports published by CDC using data from the National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN). Reports are organized by topic, and include summaries of healthcare-associated infections, antimicrobial use and resistance, healthcare personnel influenza vaccination rates, and dialysis events.

An annotated directory of all surveys and data sources available from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services from the following agencies: CDC, NIH, HRSA, CMS, AHRQ, SAMHSA

Graphs and tables on health, the global pharmaceutical industry, environmental services (such as wastewater treatment and waste management), demographics, employment, poverty, the tobacco industry, gambling, and fitness in the U.S., plus many industries and aspects of society. Reports also available by country. Statista is a subscription service available to Dartmouth students and employees.

Interactive queries of CDC databases for public health, including chronic conditions, communicable diseases, environmental health, behavior & health, prevention, injury prevention, health promotion, and occupational health.

Reports by the U.S. Surgeon General of the Public Health Service.

Tables, maps, and graphs of health status and aspects of health care, insurance coverage, and health policy by state.

Interactive queries and downloadable datasets about health care, including care of surgical conditions, prescription drug use, hospital use, and hospital and physician capacity by state and locality.

Graphs, maps, tables, and downloadable datasets on health outcomes and determinants of health by state.

Interactive dashboards for standardized Medicare spending by state and county.

Access to public health data, news, and resources pertaining to healthcare in Vermont (scroll to Reports).

36 measures of health for the 500 largest cities in the USA

Statistics at the county level on factors such as:
quality of life, health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment

View statistics for metro and nonmetro counties and see a county’s metropolitan classification.

The American Fact Finder provides statistics from both the Census and the American community by: state, county, city, town, zip code, census tract.

Data and reports on chronic diseases, behavioral risk factors, chronic diseases, injuries, environmental factors, and oral health in the state.

For the state: Healthy People Leading Indicators, Population Information, Regional Health Status Indicators, Race and ethnicity Reports, Smoking Reports.

Interactive dashboards, community profiles and brief reports on health behaviors, chronic diseases, infectious diseases, environmental health, immunizations, Medicaid usage, and emergency department visits in the state.

Access to public health data, news, and resources pertaining to healthcare in Vermont (scroll to Reports).

After inputting an insurance company, plan type, deductible, and co-insurance, displays estimated total cost for facilities and professionals in New Hampshire. Compare costs for medical procedures, dental procedures, prescriptions, and lab tests. Also, quality indicators for all New Hampshire hospitals and health insurance costs for employers.

Publicly available source of data providing researchers, payers, regulators, and innovators with metrics quantifying the temporal and regional patterns of health care spending and utilization, particularly with regard to the diffusion and exnovation of medical interventions.

Graphs and tables on hospital stays (overall and by payer and by state), mental health hospitalizations, readmissions, ambulatory surgeries, emergency department use, and quality improvement indicators.

Graphs and counts including the number of registered hospitals in the U.S. by ownership type, plus number of beds, admissions, and expenses.

Hospital profiles including key characteristics, services provided, utilization statistics, accreditation status, and financial information. Statistics by hospital, state, and nation, including bed size, discharges, patient days, and gross patient revenue.

Directory of research, statistics, data and systems. Topics include chronic conditions, program rates and statistics, actuarial studies, and financing.

This 2009 study focused on community benefit provided by U.S. nonprofit hospitals (500 in all) consistent with rules for federal tax exemption: patient insurance mix, uncompensated care (charity care and bad debt), and CEO compensation.

Graphics, interactives, and reports on topics including disparities policy, health care costs, health care reform, insurance (including the uninsured), and U.S. commitment to global health policy. Click the "Menu" icon at the upper left

Health data sets from ProPublica on a variety of measures; prescriber information, hospital analyses, clinical trial data, and more. Some are freely available and others are behind a paywall.

Compare hospitals on patient experience, timely and effective care, complication rates, readmissions and deaths, use of medical imaging, payment and value of care. Compare up to 3 hospitals in a single view online or download the entire database for 4000 hospitals.

File downloads on demographics, spending, utilization, and quality indicators for Medicare's fee-for-service population, by state, hospital referral region (HRR) and county.

Interactive queries of OpenFDA, covering food recalls and adverse events, product labeling, and recall enforcement for both drugs and devices. Datasets are also available for download.

Directory to 13 data sources related to U.S. pharmaceutical and medicine manufacturing industries.

Tables and reports of rates of workplace injury, illness, and fatalities.