Key tools
Just a few suggestions for handbooks on methodology.
-
APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
Call Number: BF76.5 .A73 2012 (volumes 1-3) -
The Process of Social Research (3rd ed., 2023)
Call Number: H61 .D588 2023 -
Quantitative applications in the social sciences (publisher series)
Library catalog search for volumes in Sage's publisher series, a.k.a. "The Little Green Books." We don't own all volumes, but many... -
Research design : quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches
by
Publication Date: 2023Note that our ebook is licensed for only 3-simultaneous users.
-
Try this subject search in our library catalog:Subject: research AND (methodology OR handbooks), sorted by date.
-
Annual ReviewsOnline suite of publications providing literature review articles for a wide range of social sciences & sciences, including Annual Review of Anthropology, Annual Review of Sociology, and more!
-
Creative searching in Sociological Abstracts & other databasesMost of our databases (bibliographic and full text) do not have specific filters or categories for review articles. You'll have to search terms such as "literature review", "review of the literature", etc.
But realize that most scholarly articles will include a brief lit review in the introduction. A recent article relevant to your topic can be a goldmine of bibliographic citations to additional research.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
-
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.