Do we own it?
-
If the full-text of the article is not linked from the citation...follow the "Get It" icon
or search the library catalog by magazine/journal title.
-
Our library catalog has separate records for paper & online formats of journals
-
Be sure to check the range of years ownedto see if we have the issue you need.
If We Don't Own It
Request materials (all formats) from a huge network of libraries. [BorrowDirect cannot be used for articles.]
Discover Articles
Article indexes usually reveal, rather than deliver, articles.
Start with a keyword search to find your search terms in the citation or abstract. You'll then need to check whether Dartmouth owns the item.
Pay attention to subject headings for relevant items. Running another search with those headings may yield better results.
Scholarly Articles
-
Annual Review of SociologyProvides critical reviews of research published in the sociological literature. Also see related Annual Review of Psychology, Annual Review of Political Science, etc.
-
Sociological AbstractsCitations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage begins in 1963.
-
JSTOR - Sociology subsetExtensive backfile of academic sociology journals, but be aware that very few cover the most recent few years.
-
Sage Journals - Sociology discipline hubSage publishes the journals of the American Sociological Association, along with many other sociology journals
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
-
America, history and life This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries with abstracts. The database content is drawn from over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The coverage of America: History and Life also includes citations to book reviews from over 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
-
EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
-
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database with broad coverage of education literature -- pedagogy, cognition, policy, and social conditions of school-aged populations. Includes scholarly journals as well as reports, lesson plans, and more.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
-
Humanities & social sciences index retrospective This link opens in a new windowHumanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
-
PAIS IndexPAIS International is a public affairs database that accesses citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet material, and more.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
-
Women's studies international This link opens in a new windowinterdisciplinary database cover all aspects of gender studies
-
World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts This link opens in a new windowDerived from CAB Abstracts the database covers agricultural economics to farm economics, food industry and rural sociology from 1973 to the present. It includes policy and development, agrarian reform, employment, environmental and natural resources, biotechnology, input industries, markets, marketing, consumers, international trade, finance, education and extension, and the rural economy.
-
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsIndexes scholarly journals, books & book essays
Multidisciplinary search options
-
ProQuest - search full databaseWe subscribe to more than 70 different databases through the ProQuest company. You can search across all of them simultaneously by starting at their main "Search.ProQuest.Com" page.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Precision database searching
Most of our databases - whether full-text or bibliographic citation only -- offer some sort of advanced search option. Specific search options and syntax differ from platform to platform, but most allow these common features:
- Truncation/Wildcard - to search a word stem. Usually by appending an asterisk (*). For example, searching SOCIOLOG* finds sociology, sociologist, sociological, etc.
- Phrase searching - enclose multiple words within quotation marks to limit your search to adjacent terms.
- Database field search - Advanced search forms usually default to searching across the entire item (bibliographic record or full-text, depending on database content). Look for the option to limit the search to a specific field in the item description/metadata: author, title, subject, etc.
-
ProQuest Platform - Search TipsMany of our social science databases are on the ProQuest platform. Realize this guide reflects their proprietary search engine, but many other vendors have similar search options.
Evaluating Journals
-
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports™ (JCR) provides you with the transparent, publisher-neutral data and statistics you need to make confident decisions in today’s evolving scholarly publishing landscape, whether you’re submitting your first manuscript or managing a portfolio of thousands of publications.
-
Journal Citation Reports - Sociology CategoryThis is a pre-scripted search based on 2023 data, and sorted by "Journal Impact Factor"
-
Ulrich's international periodicals directory This link opens in a new windowNearly a quarter of a million consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly publications, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'zines, and many other types of serial publications and services published throughout the world on all subjects, are meticulously profiled. Bibliographic information includes ISSN, former ISSN(s) and former title(s) history, variant titles, editorial and classification data, start year, frequency, pricing, subscription, and distribution details. Key publisher, editor, rights & permissions and advertising contacts are given. Ulrichsweb.com combines an extensive range of data with equally powerful indexing, searching, and browsing capabilities. Monthly updates.