Artists Books

The book records memory change over time. Interspersed throughout are smail Post-It notes of handmade paper (mounted on sheets of handmade paper), with short texts that reveal progressive change in memory tied to language. The first two sections examine forgetting names and confusing of word order; the third weighs in on what remains when words and language disappear.

"The color system : schemes for life enhancement (or Because I love you I can come apart) was conceived by artist Jenny Hoshida Park, who composed the color names and systems and created 107 unique colors in response to thirteen found, vintage photographs. It is framed as a book of color swatches one might find at a paint or interior design shop, where each color name evokes paradisical vacations or quaint Americana. Poet Bianca Stone was then invited to collaborate, which led to the interruption of the pages with the rough draft of her poem, "Because I love you I can come apart" and prose poems in the form of endnotes responding to each of Yoshida Park's color systems. The color swatches were cut from hand painted paste papers. The photographs were digitally altered and printed with archival pigment inks on Red River Polar Gloss Metallic paper. Text was set in Futura and Adobe Jenson and printed letterpress by Nelle Martin on Rives BFK. Poem excerpts were typed on a 1947 Remington Noiseless Model 7 typewriter onto hand ruled strips of translucent Cave paper. Sonja Jones bound the books in Maharam cloth and made the enclosures. ... copublished by Brighton Press and Evidence of the Hand, in a limited edition of 45 signed and numbered copies with four additional artist's proofs, in 2019"--Colopho

"Esta edition consta de doscientos ejemplares numerados... ejemplar number 114."
Handsewn; with a pocket with 12 pieces of a drawing to build another image of La cortada.

https://search.library.dartmouth.edu/permalink/01DCL_INST/b81o46/alma991011940919705706

"2nd edition, limited to 42, Letterpress on Dobbin Mill paper"--Label on container.
"When I was in Japan I found a dusting brush made from the pages of a cut up book. In response to this confounding choice of disposible materials, I manufactured my own dusters in this small edition"--Label on container.
Strips of paper with text and illustrations are tied with linen cord to a wooden pole.

Letterpress printed recipe cards. Issued in stiff card phase box with velcro closure. Contains one glass vial of an "elixir" of various herbs and spices in colored water. Each recipe card has an herbal recipe on one side with an associated memory of the artist's father on the other side.
"The recipes were adapted from Patricia Kyritsi Howell's Medicinal Plants of the Southern Appalachians."

"Covers: cotton rag. Pages: knit and inked pine paper yarn. Poem paper: Morgan Conservatory cotton/abaca.

"This book was designed & produced in an unlimited and varied edition by Alicia Bailey [...]. Text from The haiku anthology, edited by Cor van den Heuvel, ©1974"--Base of box.
Square box with separate lid. Sides of the box open to pamphlet-stitched books of haiku poetry evoking the four seasons. Text is laser printed on onionskin bond pastepaper. Box and lid are of heavy double-sided paper, hand-stamped. Lid is decorated with flat copper beads on rings.
Signed and numbered by the artist.

A small, modified, spiral bound book made by burning patterns into paper word collages so that letters, colors, and textures can be seen through the holes. Fore edge much larger (8 cm.) than spine (1 cm.).
Handwritten on inside of back cover: Austin, '12.
Edition limited to one copy.

"This book serves to highlight the techniue of punishment also kown as writing "lines" in school. It monitors the numbing process of the mind. What starts innocuously as a repetition of a line gradually degenerates into an exhaustion of the words carelessly looping and sloping, and finally exhibiting the physical and mental blurring of the intellect. Which is exactly what an imposition sets out to do"--Colophon.

"The meadow rock image is a hand pulled serigraph printed in 8 colors on archival printmaking paper by Jill Timm. This unusual structure, a "flag" book, was invented by Hedi Kyle. The gray paper is called Elephant Hide, and the font used is TektoMM"--Colophon.
Laid in duo-tone matching clamshell case (22 x 9 cm.)
Sherman Special copy: No. 5 of an edition of 25.

Limited edition of 10 numbered copies.
"Made at the Szabad Iskola book arts residency in Hungary, fall '98, this small edition focused on texts I found in the small town of Mór: the fading remnants of words in Cyrilic on the Soviet memorial honoring war dead contrasted by bold grafitti discovered in an abandoned building, which pronounced in Hungarian: 'The dead are the living on vacation'"--Colophon.
Paper (some handmade), mylar, eggshells, and found metal objects, in silk-covered boards.

"In a tefillin-shaped case, this tiny book is accordion-folded in a step-like pattern with printed archive & contemporary photographs of the Todes-steige (Mauthausen's Stairs of Death), interspersed with the one-hundred-eighty-six numbers of the steps themselves."--Colophon.
Dobbin Mill abaca papers, computer-generated photographs, teak, mica, and cloth ribbon.
The book consists of a single flat sheet of paper, cut and folded into an accordian-type structure, with mica covers.

Mixed media artwork consisting of muslin cloth, fur, wax, linen tape, barge cement, bicycle tires and other media; enclosed in a muslin cloth wrapper

Pale apricot paper covers. Contains a leaf of onion-skin paper.

"...written and designed by Cheri Gaulke and Sue Maberry, based on the videotape, Sea of Time. The design is inspired by the traditional palm leaf books of Bali. Digitally printed on an Epson Stylus Photo 2200 with archival inks and Epson watercolor paper in an edition of 100."--Colophon.
The book has Indonesian teak covers which are held together by a central red cord and batiked wooden beads. It is wrapped in a multi-colored cloth pouch.

Artists' book in the shape of a castle, with a diorama of a princess in her room on the front and a pop-up accordion-fold book underneath a hinged flap in the back. Includes case made from heavy red paper.
"50 copies. Laser printed on mould-made Hahnemuhle Aquarell. Hand engineered"--Colophon.
Library holds #28/50, signed by the artist.

Printed images of quilt patterns from Gee's Bend cut and pasted into the form of a flexagon book (a movable construction of 6 tetrahedrons)

Extract from The agony and the ecstasy by Irving Stone published by Arrow. Used by permission of The Random House Group Limited.
Grey card covers; the back cover has a flap which folds over tex̤tblock. Textblock has alternate sheets in grey card and white paper. An oval shape cut out of textblock houses a small stone, glued to back cover.

In cardboard Rolodex box.
The artist has filed each word from a story under the corresponding letter card of a Rolodex file

Text printed on leaves attached to accordion-folded spine.

Werner's nomenclature of colours : with additions, arranged so as to render it highly useful to the arts and sciences, particularly zoology, botany,chemistry,mineralogy, and morbid anatomy. Annexed to which are examples selected from well-known objects in the animal, vegetable, and mineral kingdoms

"These photographic images were altered in Photoshop then printed by Giclée, a museum quality digital printing method. The images are printed on a specially coated archival paper and the translucent side paper is UV Ultra. The self case is covered with black book cloth"--Verso, title page.