Engineering Librarians
Visit us at Feldberg Library!
Matt Benzing
(he/him)
Engineering & Computer Science
Jentry Campbell
(she/her)
Engineering
Upcoming Library Workshops
Various Dates: Reproducible Research Workshops on Python, Git, R, and more!
Key Resources
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
- Statista: the leading statistics portal This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- Patent LensWorldwide, open-access, free full-text patent informatics resource. USPTO Grants from 1976; USPTO Applications from 2001; about 2 weeks behind USPTO.
Important tools & services
- Search Dartmouth Library Collections and moreSearches books, videos, articles, digital media, and more, and covers the Dartmouth Library's collections in addition to hundreds of subscription databases and journal collections.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest articles, books, and other publications you need from a huge network of other libraries.
Browser Extensions
Why use browser extensions?
In short there are a number of articles & ebooks that we have access to through a platform like EBSCO, but not via the direct link to the publisher. Instead of you taking the time to use the library search to determine if access is available, LibKey Nomad++ will help to redirect you from that publisher page to the access point available through the library. Extensions help you get the information you need faster with less effort. Additionally, the extensions can redirect you to submit an interlibrary loan request for materials we do not have. Another benefit: LibKey Nomad is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted!
Do you get frustrated when you can't get access to an article? We do! That's why we have set up LibKey Nomad to provide a link to an article's full text! Simply install the extension in your browser, and access articles from publisher websites at the click of a button. Nomad works with Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Brave, Vivaldi & Safari. LibKey is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted! Select the "Access Options" to be directed to the catalog where you can place an interlibrary loan request.