Biomedical Libraries Resources

BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series.

Access to the Ecology Abstracts section of the Agricultural and Environmental Science Database

Access to the Environment Abstracts section of the Agricultural and Environmental Science Database

Provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text.

Information on amphibian declines, natural history, conservation, and taxonomy

Consists of a complete double elephant folio set (435 plates) of Audubon’s Birds of America and his Ornithological Biography

Comprehensive life histories of North American breeding birds from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology

Open access to Darwin's complete publications, personal papers, and manuscripts

Biology, taxonomy, and historical data on over 33,000 fish species

A database of drosophila genes & genomes

Provides information about range, population size, habitat and ecology, use and/or trade, threats, and conservation actions that will help inform necessary conservation decisions

A catalog/compendium of inherited disorders, other (single-locus) traits, and genes in 244 animal species

Photos and drawings of U.S. plants, from the USDA

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories

Provides access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.

A collaborative collection of information about biodiversity. Connections between Tree of Life web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns between groups of organisms, so visitors can browse the hierarchy of life and learn about phylogeny and evolution as well as the characteristics of individual groups.