Research Consultations
Key Resources
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowCAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.Access through the web; one-time registration is required. [Note: DHMC users should contact Biomedical.Libraries.Reference@dartmouth.edu for the link to the CAS "Register for a Scifinder-n Account" page and more information on access to SciFinder.]
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowBased on the combined content of Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Patent Chemistry Database, Reaxys is an extensive repository of reaction and substance property data for organic, organometallic, and inorganic compounds. Substance and reaction profiles provide a tabular view of validated experimental data. Reaxys' integrated synthesis planner supports the development of efficient synthesis strategies.
- WebCSD This link opens in a new windowThe principal repository for 3D crystal structures of organic and metal-organic compounds determined by X-ray and neutron diffraction. Structure data is drawn from the chemical literature and direct deposit. Maintained by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Center.
Other resources:
CSD - full database
In addition to the WebCSD, we have the full CSD database available for individual download. In order to download the full version, you will need a valid Dartmouth.edu email address and the codes stored in the Box user codes file.
1. Visit the CSDS download center
2. Enter a valid Dartmouth email address so that CCDC can send you the link(s) for your download.
3. Find the needed codes here (must be logged into to your Dartmouth Google account)
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
Authoritative review chapters surveying binding of ligands, coordination chemistry of the elements in periodic order, and applications, including trends in biology, medicine, materials science, and other areas. Published in 2004, CCCII surveys developments in the field since 1982.
ChemDraw
A molecular editor used for drawing structures and for querying chemical databases.
DOWNLOAD & INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS
With the release of v17, ChemDraw has moved to an online fulfillment and entitlement system. All site licenses for v17 and beyond will be administered through Flexnet Operations. You will be asked to register as a member in this new system. This is in addition to your existing PerkinElmer’s user account on their website. The new system provides access to download the software and the needed activation codes.
Click here: https://informatics.perkinelmer.com/sitesubscription/Register.aspx?FlexeraAccountId=2445
(Account ID: 2445)
Once you have registered and receive the confirmation email, you will be able to login and download ChemDraw from within the Flexnet interface. Once logged in, click through the “ChemDraw Professional” link to get to the “Product Download” page to choose the MAC or PC file to download.
To find your activation code, please click on the “Order History” tab on left navigation pane then click on applicable order # and scroll down to the activation code on right side. This code will activate both WIN & MAC platforms.
Each individual license is permitted to activate the software up to three (3) times (eg, on multiple machines (home and office) or if you replace a computer).
Reference Shelf
Inorganic & Organometallic Chemistry
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (94th edition)
Comprehensive, widely used reference source for the properties of organic and inorganic compounds and other information of research and industrial interest. Data tables are densely packed but each section provides a useful preface and references.
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds (catalog record)
Baker Berry QD148 .D54 1992
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds, 2nd ed. (catalog record)
Baker Berry QD411 .D53 1995
The Inorganic Syntheses series is the complete and up-to-date review of the area, providing the detailed foolproof information needed by lab chemists on procedures for the preparation of important and timely inorganic compounds.