Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
What constitutes queer aesthetics and politics today? How does it relate to fights for LGBTQ rights? And how have these questions been represented on screen? This course will address these questions by introducing students to the history and theory of “Queer Cinema” broadly construed. We will pay particular attention to the aesthetic strategies and political interventions of filmmakers who use film to address broader debates in queer theory and LGBTQ history.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/16/2024]; Dist:ART; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
queer cinemaThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
-
"queer cinema"This is a keyword search for the phrase in the online catalog.
-
homosexuality in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .H55 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Coming out to the mainstream: new queer cinema in the 21st century
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H55 C66 2010ISBN: 9781443823791Coming Out to the Mainstream is a collection of essays written from a range of perspectives, from scholars to film producers, who seek to contextualize and reframe New Queer Cinema from a 21st century perspective-decades after Stonewall, the emergence of the HIV-AIDS crisis, and the initial years of the gay marriage movement. -
The desiring-image: Gilles Deleuze and contemporary queer cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199993161The Desiring-Image yields new models of queer cinema produced since the late 1980s, based on close formal analysis of diverse films as well as innovative contributions to current film theory. The book defines "queer cinema" less as a specific genre or in terms of gay and lesbian identity, but more broadly as a kind of film-making that conveys sexual desire and orientation as potentially fluid within any individual's experience, and as forces that can therefore unite unlikely groups of people along new lines, socially, sexually, or politically. ... -
New Queer cinema: the director's cut
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822354284B. Ruby Rich designated a brand new genre, the New Queer Cinema (NQC), in her groundbreaking article in the Village Voice in 1992. This movement in film and video was intensely political and aesthetically innovative, made possible by the debut of the camcorder, and driven initially by outrage over the unchecked spread of AIDS. The genre has grown to include an entire generation of queer artists, filmmakers, and activists. As a critic, curator, journalist, and scholar, Rich has been inextricably linked to the New Queer Cinema from its inception. This volume presents her new thoughts on the topic, as well as bringing together the best of her writing on the NQC. ... -
The Oxford handbook of Queer cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190877996The term "queer cinema" is often used to name at least three cultural events: 1) an emergent visual culture that boldly identifies as queer; 2) a body of narrative, documentary, and experimental work previously collated under the rubric of homosexual or lesbian, gay, bisexual, and trans (LGBT) cinema; 3) a means of critically reading and evaluating films and other visual media through the lens of sexuality. By this expansive account, queer cinema encompasses more than a century of filmmaking, film criticism, and film reception, and the past twenty-five years have seen the idea of "queer cinema" expand further as a descriptor for a global arts practice. As the first of its kind, The Oxford Handbook of Queer Cinema treats these three currents as art and critical practice, bringing the canon of queer cinema together with a new generation of makers and scholars. ... -
Queer cinema in the world
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822362616Proposing a radical vision of cinema's queer globalism, Karl Schoonover and Rosalind Galt explore how queer filmmaking intersects with international sexual cultures, geopolitics, and aesthetics to disrupt dominant modes of world making. Whether in its exploration of queer cinematic temporality, the paradox of the queer popular, or the deviant ecologies of the queer pastoral, Schoonover and Galt reimagine the scope of queer film studies. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Indiscreet fantasies: Iberian Queer cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H55 I53 2021ISBN: 9781684482474Pedro Almodóvar may have helped put queer Iberian cinema on the map, but there are multitudes of LGBTQ filmmakers from Catalonia, Portugal, Castile, Galicia, and the Basque Country who have made the Peninsula one of the world's most vital sources for queer film. Together, they have produced a cinema whose expressions of queer desire have challenged the region's conservative religious and family values, while intervening in vital debates about politics, history, and nation. Indiscreet Fantasies is a unique collection that offers in-depth analyses of fifteen different films produced in the region over the past fifty years, ... -
Irish Queer cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H55 M32 2018ISBN: 9781474411486In recent years queer identities have become increasingly visible in Irish cinema, a shift that can be linked to political, economic and social changes taking place both in Ireland and around the world, as well as to changes in national film policy to cater more to international audiences. Irish Queer Cinema explores the sexual politics and socio-economic conditions that have determined the shape and evolution of these representations whilst interrogating the relationship between on-screen visibility and progressive sexual politics. ... -
Queer cinema in America : an encyclopedia of LGBTQ films, characters, and stories
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9798216134749This reference helps readers navigate the perilous odyssey those of an LGBTQ orientation had to face in an age less enlightened than our own, when an attraction to members of the same gender could lead to horrendous abuse. Just as American society has changed dramatically from decade to decade, so has queer cinema. ... -
Steve McQueen
by
Call Number: Sherman Art Library N 6797 .M363 A4 2020ISBN: 9781849766784A landmark and vital survey of the work of Steve McQueen, one of the most important artists, film-makers and screenwriters working today. Over the last 25 years Steve McQueen has been hugely influential in expanding the way in which artists work with film. He has also authored some of the most seminal works of moving image designed for gallery-based presentation, as well as four films for cinematic release, Hunger (2008), Shame (2010), 12 Years a Slave (2013) and Widows (2018). ...
Other library resource(s)
-
glbtq archives
Although the encyclopedia closed in 2015, The encyclopedia's Literature, Arts, and Social Sciences Departments feature nearly 2000 signed entries. Hundreds of complementary illustrations help showcase the lives and contributions of thousands of glbtq people who have influenced society through literature, the arts, law, politics and more. -
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Mainstream cinema’s dominant subject has always been heterosexuality. Whether explicit, as in the romance genre, or simply implied, as in other genres, heterosexuality has been the foundation of mainstream cinematic representations. Queer characters, however, have been represented since cinema began, although only recently could they be labeled as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer. Until the 1970s, queer characters in cinema were coded through a conflation of gender transitivity with sexuality. ... -
LGBTQ+ cinema
by
Call Number: Streaming videoA collection of films from and about the LGBTQ+ Community. -
LGBT thought and culture
by
This database is an online resource of books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and now. -
Queer theory from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Queer Theory emerged from departments of literature, film, rhetoric, and critical studies in universities in the United States, United Kingdom, and Europe during the early 1990s, exemplified and inspired by the publication of two paradigm-shifting books: Judith Butler’s Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity (Butler 1990) and Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick’s Epistemology of the Closet (Sedgwick 2008) (both cited under Theory). Drawing upon the social constructionist views prominent in the work of French philosopher-historian Michel Foucault, Butler argued that gender is neither a natural nor a stable element of biological or social identity, but rather is constantly brought into existence through a series of performative activities: everyday gestures and actions that have the potential to reconstitute notions and practices of masculinity and femininity and thus resist normativity. ...
Selected movie title(s)
Find more queer cinema films in the library's online catalog.
-
Brother to brother
by
Call Number: Streaming videoA critically acclaimed, feature-length drama which invokes the glory days of the Harlem Renaissance through the memories of Bruce Nugent, who co-founded the revolutionary literary journal Fire!! with Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston and Wallace Thurman. As an elderly man, Nugent meets a young black gay artist struggling to find his voice and together they embark on a surreal narrative journey through his inspiring past. -
The early works of Cheryl Dunye
by
Call Number: Streaming videoThe inventive, self-reflexive films of independent trailblazer Cheryl Dunye (The Watermelon Woman) offer multilayered, sharply funny commentaries on the intersections of black and queer identity. Over the course of six provocative, sardonic shorts, Dunye honed a unique, quasi-documentary style she dubbed "Dunyementary." -
Fabulous!: the story of queer cinema
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4199An overview of the history of gay and lesbian cinema, from Kenneth Anger's pioneering Fireworks (1947) to Ang Lee's Brokeback Mountain (2005). -
Monsoon
by
Call Number: Streaming videoKit returns to Ho Chi Minh City for the first time since he was six years old when his family fled the country in the aftermath of the Vietnam-American war. There he meets Lee, his estranged second cousin, Linh, a young Vietnamese student, and arranges an online date that turns into something more with Lewis, an American clothing designer. Struggling to make sense of himself in a city he's no longer familiar with, he embarks on a personal journey across the country that opens up the possibility for friendship, love and happiness. -
A taste of honey
by
Call Number: Streaming videoThe revolutionary British New Wave films of the early 1960s were celebrated for their uncompromising depictions of working-class lives and relations between the sexes. Directed by Tony Richardson, a leading light of that movement, and based on one of the most controversial plays of its time, A Taste of Honey features Rita Tushingham in her star-making debut role as a disaffected teenager finding her way amid the economic desperation of industrial Manchester, and despite her absent, self-absorbed mother. With its unapologetic identification with social outcasts and its sensitive, modern approach to matters of sexuality and race, Richardson's classic is a still startling benchmark work of realism.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find scholarly literature for queer cinema in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
-
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
Media history digital library
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
The Collection feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines. -
Entertainment industry magazine archiveCall Number: Electronic resourceAn archival resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
-
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Cinemaqueer.comCinemaqueer.com is a collection of over 350 gay themed film reviews that Michael Klemm wrote from 1998 - 2015. Many were originally published in Buffalo’s monthly gay newspaper, Outcome. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.