Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
An introduction to the theory and technique of film-making combining comprehensive analysis of significant works in various film styles with practical exercises in production. The course aims to provide a basic understanding of the film-making process-from script to screen. Students will work in 16mm and portable video for experience in scriptwriting, directing, cinematography, acting, and editing. Readings will include introductory film history, film theory and criticism, screenplays, and essays on new aesthetics in film and video.
[Source: Registrar, 01/09/2023]; Dist: ART
In the Library's collections
To find books and other resources about filmmaking, use the subject heading motion pictures production and direction.
-
motion pictures production and directionInsert the name of a country if you like. Most resources are in the call number range PN 1995.9 .P7 on Baker Stack Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Beyond continuity: script supervision for the modern filmmaker
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780240814896A guide to the craft of script supervising, Beyond Continuity features practical instruction through real-world examples demonstrating and explaining the skills needed by a professional script supervisor. ... -
Conversations at the American Film Institute with the great moviemakers: the next generation
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.2 .C613 2012ISBN: 9780307273475Here also are those who began to work long after the studio days were over--Robert Altman, David Lynch, Steven Spielberg, among them--who talk about how they came to make movies on their own. Some--like Peter Bogdanovich, Nora Ephron, Sydney Pollack, François Truffaut--talk about how they were influenced by the iconic pictures of the great pioneer filmmakers. Others talk about how they set out to forge their own paths--John Sayles, Roger Corman, George Lucas, et al. ... -
Film directing fundamentals: see your film before shooting
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781351683111Publication Date: 4th ed.Film Directing Fundamentals gives the novice director an organic methodology for realizing on-screen the full dramatic possibility of a screenplay. Unique among directing books, Nicholas Proferes provides clear-cut ways to translate a script to the screen. Using the script as a blueprint, he leads the reader through specific techniques to analyze and translate its components into a visual story. ... -
Producing for profit: a practical guide to making independent and studio films
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781317309604In Producing for Profit: A Practical Guide to Making Independent and Studio Films, Andrew Stevens provides real-world examples and his own proven techniques for success that can turn passion into profit. Far more than just theory, the book outlines practical applications that filmmakers of all levels can use to succeed in today's ever-changing marketplace. Readers will learn how to develop screenplays that are commercial, and how to negotiate, finance, cast, produce, sell, distribute, and market a film that will make a profit. ...
Selected book title(s)
Find more books on movie direction and production in the library's online catalog.
-
Cabinet of curiosities: my notebooks, collections, and other obsessions
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .T583 A3 2013ISBN: 9780062082848Over the last two decades, writer-director Guillermo del Toro has mapped out a territory in the popular imagination that is uniquely his own, astonishing audiences with Cronos, Hellboy, Pan's Labyrinth, and a host of other films and creative endeavors. Now, for the first time, del Toro reveals the inspirations behind his signature artistic motifs, sharing the contents of his personal notebooks, collections, and other obsessions. ... -
The global auteur: the politics of authorship in 21st century cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .A837 G55 2016ISBN: 9781501312625Once heralded and defined by the likes of François Truffaut and Andrew Sarris as a romantic figure of aesthetic individualism, the auteur is reinvestigated here through a novel approach. Bringing established as well as emergent figures of world art cinema to the fore, The Global Auteur shows how politics and philosophy are present in the works of these important filmmakers. They can be still seen leading a fight that their glorious predecessors seemed to have abandoned in the face of global capitalism and the market economy. ... -
The long take: critical approaches
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .L626 2017ISBN: 9781137585721This is the first book in English exclusively devoted to the long take, one of the key elements of film style. Increasingly visible in contemporary international media, the long take currently attracts a good deal of attention in criticism and commentary. There are also significant strands of film theory in which duration has become a recurrent concern. In keeping with the approach of Palgrave Close Readings in Film and Television, this collection is devoted to the detailed critical analysis of specific long takes, explored in terms of how they function within their contexts, how they shape the visual field, the meanings they generate and the effects they create. The Long Take: Critical Approaches brings together essays by established and emerging scholars in an exciting collection that analyses works from a range of film-making traditions, from the 1930s to the present day, selected to represent varied long take practices and to explore associated debates. -
Movie circuits: curatorial approaches to cinema technology
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789048527540Movie Circuits: Curatorial Approaches to Cinema Technology attempts to grasp media in the making. It delves into the underbelly of cinema in order to explore how images circulate and apparatus crystallize across different material formations. The indisciplinary experience of curators and projectionists provides a means to suspend traditional film studies and engage with the medium as it happens, as a continuing, self-differing mess. ... -
Slow movies: countering the cinema of action
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231169783But to capture the reality of human experience, cinema must fasten on stillness and inaction as much as motion. Slow Movies investigates movies by acclaimed international directors who in the past three decades have challenged mainstream cinema's reliance on motion and action.
Other library resource(s)
-
21 years: Richard Linklater
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18506Publication Date: Michael DunawayA spirited look at the first 21 years of writer/director Richard Linklater's remarkable career, featuring interviews with collaborators Matthew McConaughey, Ethan Hawke, Julie Delpy, Billy Bob Thornton, Keanu Reeves, Jack Black, and more. -
Auteurism from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Auteurism has arguably been at the center of film practice, theory, and historiography since the 1950s. Originating in the films and writings of the French New Wave, and specifically in the film criticism of the Cahiers du Cinéma during the 1950s, auteurist criticism usually located the creative center of a film in the controlling perspective of the film’s director, thus shifting attention away from the studio system that defined filmmaking before 1945. ... -
Directors from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Most cinema scholarship is about directors. The study of directors began in earnest with the advent of the auteur theory. Advanced during the early 1950s in the pages of the French journal Cahiers du cinéma and later in the United States through the writings of Andrew Sarris, the theory cast directors as the authors of the films they helmed and elevated Hollywood directors to the status of artists.
-
Side by side
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18158Join Keanu Reeves on a tour of the past and the future of film-making in Side by Side. Since the invention of cinema, the standard format for recording moving images has been film. Over the past two decades, a new form of digital film-making has emerged, creating a groundbreaking evolution in the medium. Reeves explores the development of cinema and the impact of digital film-making via in-depth interviews with Hollywood masters.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about movies can be found in many publications. Our collection includes a couple of titles which look exclusively at Documentary films. You can use Film & Television Literature Index, Art Full Text or ARTbibliographies Modern to find articles or use the new search box at the top of the page.
-
Filmmaker magazine: the magazine of independent film byCall Number: Electronic journalThis magazine is from the Independent Filmmaker Project (ifp). There is a whole section on film-making.
-
Journal of film and video
Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Film and Video, an internationally respected forum, focuses on scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. -
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
-
ARTbibliographies modern byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti.
-
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
The GothamThe Gotham champions the future of storytelling by connecting artists with essential resources at all stages of development and distribution.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.