Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Course description
This course covers the basics of developing a personal video from idea through realization, while emphasizing ideas outside traditional narrative or documentary forms. Students are encouraged to develop their own forms of aesthetic expression. Students show and critique their work in class in preparation for a final project and public screening.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 08/29/2025]; Dist:ART
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
experimental filmsMost works are located on Baker Stack Level 4 in the call number range PN 1995.9 .E96.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Authorship and film
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1996 .A94 2003ISBN: 9780415939942Authorship in film has been a persistent theme in the field of cinema studies. This volume revitalizes the question of authorship by connecting it to larger issues of identity--in film, in the marketplace, in society, in culture. Essays range from the auteur theory and Casablanca to Oscar Micheaux, from the American avant-garde to community video, all illuminating how "authorship" is a complex idea with far-reaching implications. -
The autobiographical turn in Germanophone documentary and experimental film
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781571139177A volume of essays marking out a new, historically and culturally specific model for contemplating autobiographical non-fiction film and video.There is a widespread notion in the scholarly literature on autobiographical nonfiction film that there are unchanging, universal models for the investigation of the self through audiovisual media. By insisting on the cultural and historical specificity of that self, the essays in this volume trace the range of politically and theoretically informed taboos, critiques, and proclivities that shape autobiographical film-making in German-speaking countries. In doing so, they delineate a new model for contemplating autobiographical film and video. ... -
Memory, forgetting and the moving image
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry BF 378 .A87 A43 2016ISBN: 9781137365873Throughout this book we discover what our idea of memory would be without the moving image. This thought provoking analysis examines how the medium has informed modern and contemporary models of memory. The book examines the ways in which cinematic optic procedures inform an understanding of memory processes. Critical to the reciprocity of mind and screen is forgetting and the problematic that it inscribes into memory and its relation to contested histories. ... -
Technology and the making of experimental film culture
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780197683385The Bolex camera, 16mm reversal film stocks, commercial film laboratories, and low-budget optical printers were the small-gauge media technologies that provided the infrastructure for experimental film-making at the height of its cultural impact. Technology and the Making of Experimental Film Culture examines how the avant-garde embraced these material resources and invested them with meanings and values adjacent to those of semiprofessional film culture. By reasserting the physicality of the body in making time-lapse and kinesthetic sequences with the Bolex, filmmakers conversed with other art forms and integrated broader spheres of humanistic and scientific inquiry into their artistic process. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Experimental filmmaking and punk: feminist audio visual culture in the 1970s and '80s
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781350197640Just as Punk created a space for bands such as the Slits and Poly Styrene to challenge 1970s norms of femininity, through a transgressive, strident new female-ness, it also provoked experimental feminist film makers to initiate a parallel, lens-based challenge to patriarchal modes of film making. In this book, Rachel Garfield breaks new ground in exploring the rebellious, feminist Punk audio-visual culture of the 1970s, tracing its roots and its legacies. In their film-making and their performed personae, film and video artists such as Vivienne Dick, Sandra Lahire, Betzy Bromberg, Ruth Novaczek, Sadie Benning, Leslie Thornton, Abigail Child and Anne Robinson offered a powerful, deliberately awkward alternative to hegemonic conformist femininity, creating a new "Punk audio visual aesthetic". ... -
Technology and the making of experimental film culture
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780197683385The Bolex camera, 16mm reversal film stocks, commercial film laboratories, and low-budget optical printers were the small-gauge media technologies that provided the infrastructure for experimental film-making at the height of its cultural impact. Technology and the Making of Experimental Film Culture examines how the avant-garde embraced these material resources and invested them with meanings and values adjacent to those of semiprofessional film culture. ...
-
'My' self on camera: first person documentary practice in an individualising China
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .D6 Y85 2019ISBN: 9780748698219'My' Self on Camera is the first book to explore first person narrative documentary in China's post-Mao era. Since the emergence of the individual as an ever more important social figure in China, this mode of independent film-making and cultural practice has become increasingly significant. Combining the approach of cultural ethnography, interviews, and textual analysis of selected films, this study examines the motivations, key aesthetic features and ethical tensions of presenting the self on camera, as well as the socio-political, cultural and technical conditions surrounding its practice. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find articles about autobiography and experimental films in a variety of publications. The following databases are a good starting point for searching. You can also start your search in the box at the top of the page.
-
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
PsycINFO
by
Call Number: Electronic resourcePsycINFO is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. Citations include journal articles, book chapters and technical reports. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.