Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website
Course description
European borders have become a popular setting in world cinema since the development of global tourism and the recently declared “international immigration crisis”.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/11/2025]; Dist:INT or ART; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
motion pictures germanyCall number range PN 1993.5 .G3 on Baker Level 4. Please note: this is not the only call number range, but it has the most items.
This subject heading will also show items for East and West German film.
Introductory reading(s)
-
The Berlin School and its global contexts: a transnational art cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814342008The Berlin School and Its Global Contexts: A Transnational Art-Cinema came about in light of the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA)'s 2013 major exhibition of works by contemporary German directors associated with the so-called Berlin School, perhaps Germany's most important contemporary filmmaking movement. Christoph Hochhäusler, the movement's keenest spokesperson, stated that ""the Berlin School, despite what the label suggests, is not a specifically German phenomenon. All over the world there are filmmakers exploring related terrain. ... -
Migration, dislocation and movement on screen
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781805395966This volume proposes a variegated exploration of migration on screen, mostly focused on feature films, although there are inevitable and occasional incursions into television drama and documentary. This edited collection arises from the conviction that migration, mobility, movement, displacement, dislocation, border crossing, transit, departure, arrival and in-betweenness, have not only become common and shared experiences for most of us, but they have also been turned into highly politicized and contentious issues. How cinema represents them, for represent them it must, is a necessary question. ... -
Representations of flight and expulsion in East German prose works
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PT 3723 .N58 2014ISBN: 9781571135353Explodes the conventional wisdom that there was a taboo on the topic of flight and expulsion in East Germany. It is by now almost a cliché that the flight and expulsion of Germans from east-central Europe at the end of the Second World War was a taboo topic in the German Democratic Republic. According to this claim, the Socialist Unity Party (SED) suppressed reference to flight and expulsion so as not to upset its socialist neighbors. This book shows that such a view does not hold up to serious scrutiny. While the topic may not have been addressed in the realm of politics or official commemoration, it was picked up again and again in literature, particularly fiction. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
The Berlin School and its global contexts: a transnational art cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814342008The Berlin School and Its Global Contexts: A Transnational Art-Cinema came about in light of the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA)'s 2013 major exhibition of works by contemporary German directors associated with the so-called Berlin School, perhaps Germany's most important contemporary filmmaking movement. Christoph Hochhäusler, the movement's keenest spokesperson, stated that ""the Berlin School, despite what the label suggests, is not a specifically German phenomenon. All over the world there are filmmakers exploring related terrain. ...
-
East, west and centre: reframing post-1989 European cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780748694167Twenty-five years have passed since the fall of the Berlin Wall and the end of communism in Eastern Europe, and ten years have passed since the first formerly communist states entered the E.U. An entire post-Wall generation has now entered adulthood, yet scholarship on European cinema still tends to divide the continent along the old Cold War lines. In East West and Centre the world's leading scholars in the field assemble to consider the ways in which notions such as East and West, national and transnational, central and marginal are being rethought and reframed in contemporary European cinema. ... -
The politics of magic: DEFA fairy-tale films
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814339039From Paul Verhoeven's The Cold Heart in 1950 to Konrad Petzold's The Story of the Goose Princess and Her Loyal Horse Falada in 1989, East Germany's state-sponsored film company, DEFA (Deutsche Film-Aktiengesellschaft), produced over forty feature-length, live-action fairy-tale films based on nineteenth-century folk and literary tales. While many of these films were popular successes and paved the way for the studio's other films to enter the global market, DEFA's fairy-tale corpus has not been studied in its entirety. In The Politics of Magic: DEFA Fairy-Tale Films, Qinna Shen fills this gap by analyzing the films on thematic and formal levels and examining their embedded agendas in relation to the cultural politics of the German Democratic Republic. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
German cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286German film has had a uniquely prolific and diverse history. Its output ranges from experimental efforts during the Weimar era, including its renowned Expressionist films; to a heavily controlled nationalized cinema under the Third Reich; to unadventurous but popular genre films from “Western” and “Eastern” industries in the 1950s; to the inquisitive Neue Deutsche Film (New German Cinema) in the late 1960s through the early 1980s; to post-unification fiction films exploring German themes in transnational, multiethnic contexts.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about migration in German cinema can be found in many publications. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
-
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.