Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course provides an introduction to the practice of curating film and video-from shorts programs, to retrospective screenings, to moving-image installations and exhibitions of production artwork. Through a series of on-campus presentations, readings, screenings, and discussions, the course will prepare students for final projects in which groups of students organize moving-image events for members of the community.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 05/06/2025]; Dist:ART
In the Library's collections
To find books and other resources about curating film programming in the Library's collections, you can use the subject headings below to start your search:
-
"film curation"This is a keyword search in the online catalog.
-
"film curatorship"This is a keyword search in the online catalog.
-
curatorship AND filmThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Coming soon to a festival near you: programming film festivals
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.4 .C66 2012ISBN: 9781908437037This is an outstanding anthology of work on film-festival programming. Combining theoretical and historical overviews with detailed studies of individual festivals and personal testimonies from experts long associated with film festivals, the book makes a thorough, wide-ranging and insightful effort at covering a field that has been significantly neglected in scholarship. As the first book to make film-festival programming its main focus, the book should be considered an essential contribution to the growing body of published work on film festivals. ... -
Film festivals: history, theory, method, practice
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.4 .F477 2016ISBN: 9780415712477The last decade has witnessed an explosion of interest in film festivals, with the field growing to a position of prominence within the space of a few short years. Film Festivals: History, Theory, Method, Practice represents a major addition to the literature on this topic, offering an authoritative and comprehensive introduction to the area. -
Film programming: curating for cinemas, festivals, archives
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231174596This study explores artistic choices in cinema exhibition, focusing on film theaters, film festivals, and film archives and situating film-curating issues within an international context. ... -
Shaping film festivals in a changing world: practice and methods
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789463725576This volume is a collective attempt on the part of a community of academics, film festival curators, and archivists to come to terms with practical and intellectual challenges of the pandemic and post-pandemic realities affecting cultures of film festivals. The collection draws contours of critical inquiry orienting current film festival research and practice to explore new directions in archiving and decolonizing practices and big data analysis in the post-Covid-19 context and beyond. The four-part study gathers the voices of academics and practitioners who engage in a dialogue to articulate critical areas for both study and practice of film festivals, and identifies conceptual tools to address them: "Archival Turn," "Decolonizing Film Festival Studies," "Post-Covid-19 and Film Festival Studies" and "Data Visualization and Film Festival Research and Practice."
Selected book title(s)
-
Archival film curatorship: early and silent cinema from analog to digital
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789048555741Archival Film Curatorship is the first book-length study that investigates film archives at the intersection of institutional histories, early and silent film historiography, and archival curatorship. It examines three institutions at the forefront of experimentation with film exhibition and curatorship. The Eye Film Museum in Amsterdam, the George Eastman Museum in Rochester, NY, and the National Fairground and Circus Archive in Sheffield, UK serve as exemplary sites of historical mediation between early and silent cinema and the digital age. ... -
Canyon cinema: the life and times of an independent film distributor
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520250871Bringing alive a remarkable moment in American cultural history, Scott MacDonald tells the colorful story of how a small, backyard organization in the San Francisco Bay Area emerged in the 1960s and evolved to become a major force in the development of independent cinema. Drawing from extensive conversations with men and women crucial to Canyon Cinema, from its newsletter Canyon Cinemanews, and from other key sources, MacDonald offers a lively chronicle of the life and times of this influential, idiosyncratic film exhibition and distribution collective. His book features many primary documents that are as engaging and relevant now as they were when originally published, including essays, poetry, experimental writing, and drawings. -
Ecstatic worlds: medias, utopias, ecologies
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262036467Postwar artists and architects have used photography, film, and other media to imagine and record the world as a wonder of collaborative entanglement -- to translate the world for the world. In this book, Janine Marchessault examines a series of utopian media events that opened up and expanded the cosmos, creating ecstatic collective experiences for spectators and participants. ... -
Ephemeral cinema spaces: stories of reinvention, resistance and community
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789048537822With changing technologies and social habits, the communal cinema experience would seem to be a legacy from another era. However, the last decade has seen a surge in interest for screening films in other, temporary public settings. This desire to turn pubs, galleries, parks, and even boats, into temporary cinema spaces is moved not only by a love for movies, but also a search for ways of being and working together. This book documents current practices of pop-up and site-specific cinema exhibition in the UK (with a focus on Scotland), tracing their links with historical forms of non-theatrical exhibition such as public hall cinema and fairground bioscopes. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Festivals from from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Film festivals are a ubiquitous phenomenon. Estimates vary between five hundred and three thousand film festivals taking place yearly. Yet what defines a film festival is not self-evident. Film festivals have been described as alternative exhibition sites—alternative to regular cinemas and permanent art houses—and are typically conceived of as medium-length events taking place over the course of a couple of days. ... -
Humpday
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9441Ben and Andrew are best friends since college. After a wild night of partying, they decide to enter an amateur porn film festival by filming themselves having sex with each other. The only things stopping them is that one of them is married, and neither of them is homosexual. -
The mix
by
Call Number: Streaming videoThere are just three days left until the commencement of the Fajr International Film Festival. Everyone, including the filmmaking crew, are doing their best to get the film ready for showing at the Festival, but there are many issues and endless problems along the way to confront. -
Official rejection
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #14567This documentary takes a realistic look at the politics, pitfalls, and comic tragedies that independent movie producers encounter when struggling to find placement at a major film festival.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about film programming can be found in many publications. You can use Film & Television Literature Index, or Academic Search Complete to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
-
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
MLA international bibliography
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceMLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. -
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Curation vs. Programming from The Telly Awards
On one side of the figurative film industry door sit the creatives with passion projects and ground-breaking work looking to get their films in front of the right people. On the other, are the programmers working tirelessly to balance their curations with content that audiences, distributors, festivals, and any other major consumer want to see. ... -
Film programmer from ScreenSkills
Programmers select the films to be shown in festivals, cinemas and on TV. Film festivals, like Cannes, are where film professionals see unreleased films and network with their peers in the film world. They also function as markets where sales agents, distributors and cinema programmers go to do deals over the rights of movies they are interested in buying. ... -
How Do I Become a Film Programmer? - BFI Film Academy
So you want to be a film programmer – but what should your next steps be? Do you need to get a qualification in film programming? ... -
Programming - Film Festivals (FFRN)Programming or curating is an aesthetic practice and an essential part of film culture that can be found in film clubs, program/arthouse cinemas, in exhibition contexts and most obviously in film festivals (Klippel 2008). ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.