Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website
Course description
Beyond mapping the world, how do geospatial technologies help shape it? This course analyzes the political, economic, social, and cultural implications of geospatial data, media, and technologies. Topics covered include self-driving cars, Google Maps, and big geospatial datasets like satellite imagery repositories. Drawing on a variety of conceptual frameworks, students will learn how to evaluate geospatial technologies not only through their technical underpinnings, but also via their space-making processes and embeddedness in our everyday lives.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 10/03/2025]; Dist:SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
geospatial technolog*This is a keyword search in the online catalog.
-
geospatial artificial intelligenceThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
-
GeoAIThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Geospatial data: science, techniques and applications
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.217 .G46 K34 2018ISBN: 9781138626447Data science has recently gained much attention for a number of reasons, and among them is Big Data. Scientists sociology, among others) and engineers (from all fields including civil, environmental, chemical, mechanical, among others) are faced with challenges posed by data volume, variety, and velocity, or Big Data. This book is designed to highlight the unique characteristics of geospatial data, demonstrate the need to different approaches and techniques for obtaining new knowledge from raw geospatial data, and present select state-of-the-art geospatial data science techniques and how they are applied to various geoscience problems. -
Geospatial technology: fundamentals and applications
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789385516801This book is very useful to bachelor, post graduates' degree of geography and research scholars can get the some ideas and knowledge about the Geospatial Technologies. ... -
Introduction to geospatial technologies
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.217 .G46 S54 2018ISBN: 9781319060459Publication Date: 4th ed.Written for majors and non-majors alike, Introduction to Geospatial Technologies demonstrates the wide range of geographic technologies available to and used by geographers today. Each chapter contains an introduction to the key concepts and a lab activity, so that in addition to gaining a basic foundation of knowledge, students also obtain hands-on experience with the relevant software. This new edition stays current with its rapidly moving field, with coverage and lab activities revised to reflect is the most up-to-date ideas and innovations in GST. -
The people's guide to spatial thinking
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.212 .S565 2013ISBN: 9781884136214Spatial thinking is an activity that we do throughout our lives and across many settings, to understand problems and seek solutions. The practice can be so automatic that it becomes deceptively obvious, but when it is not done carefully, it can lead to chaos and confusion. ... -
A short introduction to geospatial intelligence
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.212 .O25 2024ISBN: 9781032566948A Short Introduction to Geospatial Intelligence explains the newest form of intelligence used by governments, commercial organizations, and individuals. Geospatial Intelligence combines late 20th century historically derived ways of thinking--and early 21st century technologies of GIS, GPS, digital imaging satellites and communications satellites--to identify, measure, and analyze current risk in the world. These ways of thinking have developed from military engineering, cartography, photo-interpretation, and imagery analysis. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Digital geographies
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.217 .G46 D54 2019ISBN: 9781526447289As digital technologies have become part of everyday life, mediating tasks such as work, travel, consumption, production, and leisure, they are having increasingly profound effects on phenomena that are of immediate concern to geographers. These include: the production of space, spatiality and mobilities; the processes, practices, and forms of mapping; the contours of spatial knowledge and imaginaries; and, the formation and enactment of spatial knowledge politics. Similarly, there are distinct geographies of digital media such as those of the internet, games, and social media that have become indispensable to geographic practice and scholarship across sub-disciplines, regardless of conceptual approach. ... -
GIS and evidence-based policy making
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.212 .W57 2008ISBN: 9780849385834Although much has been written on evidence-based policy making, this is the first volume to address the potential of GIS in this arena. GIS and Evidence-Based Policy Making covers the development of new methodological approaches, emphasizing the identification of spatial patterns in social phenomena. It examines organizational issues, including the development of new tools for policy making. ... -
Handbook of geospatial artificial intelligence
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003814955Publication Date: 1st ed.This comprehensive handbook covers Geospatial Artificial Intelligence (GeoAI), which is the integration of geospatial studies and AI machine (deep) learning and knowledge graph technologies. It explains key fundamental concepts, methods, models, and technologies of GeoAI, and discusses the recent advances, research tools, and applications that range from environmental observation and social sensing to natural disaster responses. As the first single volume on this fast-emerging domain, Handbook of Geospatial Artificial Intelligence is an excellent resource for educators, students, researchers, and practitioners utilizing GeoAI in fields such as information science, environment and natural resources, geosciences, and geography. ... -
Learning progressions for maps, geospatial technology, and spatial thinking: a research handbook
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry G 76.5 .U5 L43 2015ISBN: 9781443874274As an approach to educational research, learning progressions offer considerable potential for investigating how children develop an understanding of geographic concepts and practices across grade bands and in relation to national geography standards. With funding support from the US National Science Foundation, this book was created as a resource for researching learning progressions for maps, geospatial technology and spatial thinking. ... -
New geospatial approaches to the anthropological sciences
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826359674Spatial analysis reaches across all the subdisciplines of anthropology. A cultural anthropologist, for example, can use such analysis to trace the extent of distinctive cultural practices; an archaeologist can use it to understand the organization of ancient irrigation systems; a primatologist to quantify the density of primate nesting sites; a paleo-anthropologist to explore vast fossil-bearing landscapes. Arguing that geospatial analysis holds great promise for much anthropological inquiry, the contributors have designed this volume to show how the powerful tools of GIScience can be used to benefit a variety of research programs. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Geospatial artificial intelligence (GeoAI) from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Nowadays, artificial intelligence (AI) is bringing tremendous new opportunities and challenges to geospatial research. Its fast development is powered by theoretical advancement, big data, computer hardware (e.g., the graphics processing unit, or GPU), and high-performance computing platforms that support the development, training, and deployment of AI models within a reasonable amount of time. Recent years have witnessed significant advances in geospatial artificial intelligence (GeoAI), which is the integration of geospatial studies and AI, especially machine learning and deep learning methods and the latest AI technologies in both academia and industry. ... -
Geospatial revolution byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #16409The Geospatial Revolution Project is a public media examination of the world of digital mapping and how it is changing the way we think, behave, and interact.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find articles on geospatial technologies in many types of publications. You can start your search looking at the Table of Contents of the International Journal of Geographical Science. To find what else the Dartmouth Library has, you can use the search box at the top of the page. From there, you can use the facets on the left hand side to narrow your search. As always, if you have questions, ask US! And Web of Science is another possible strategy.
-
International journal of geographical information science (IJGIS)
by
Call Number: Electronic journalA major, theoretical journal for Geographic Information Science. The aim of International Journal of Geographical Information Science is to provide a forum for the exchange of original ideas, approaches, methods and experiences in the field of GIScience. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Geospatial Revolution ProjectThe Geospatial Revolution Project is an integrated public service media and outreach initiative about the world of digital mapping and how it is changing the way we think, behave, and interact. The page includes links to the various episodes.
-
What are Geospatial Technologies from AAAS
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) defines "geospatial technologies" and provides other documentation about them.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Cartography/GIS journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for Cartography or GIS? And do you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.