Real-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more.
Standard & Poor's database providing a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Note: Tuck students have individual accounts (No student access over the Summer); Others may email for access.
Global historical data and analytics: equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly formats, covering 30+ years. Excel compatible. Restricted to Dartmouth College community. Datastream is on computer #3 located in Feldberg at Tuck in Curley (Raether 134).
The FIVE Project aims to accelerate and broaden the reach of research on firm and industry evolution and related areas of entrepreneurship. Downloadable data sets include: historical workstation sales, photolightography, breweries, and shipbuilding.
Financial and economic time series data covering 200 countries and 20,000 different data series. Includes data on markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264.
1948 to current. International Monetary Fund. Detailed tabulations of international and domestic finance data by country. Time series data summarize each country's balance of payments, with collateral data on major financial components such as trade and reserves, and data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, international transactions, prices, production, government finance, and interest rates.
Global investment database and analytics provides information on investments, including data on closed-end funds, equity ownership, exchange traded funds, hedge funds, market indexes, money market funds, offshore funds, open-end mutual funds, pension/life insurance, stocks and 529 plans. Note: Available from public computers in Feldberg. Restricted to Tuck community: See login details.
Wharton's business data research service - our subscription includes access to: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, Bureau van Dijk (Amadeus & Osiris), CBOE Indexes, COMPUSTAT, Compstat Global, CRSP, CUSIP, ComScore, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, Eventus, FDIC, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, IBES, MFLINKS, Morningstar CISDM, Option Metrics, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Order Execution, TRACE, Thomson Reuters
U.S. Data: collected daily since 2008. Users can monitor data daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually, at the state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) level. Gallup U.S. polling data since the 1930s can be accessed using the Gallup Brain feature.
World Polling Data: available since 2005 from more than 160 countries. 80 metrics are tracked as part of the Gallup Macroeconomic Path a behavioral-based leadership model for successful societies. See country specific results or make comparisons across countries and regions.
Users can create custom data tables, trends, charts, and scatterplots. You can export data to Excel.
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.
Repository of standardized and structured statistical data: 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business/Finance, Social Sciences: Political Science (election data, campaign finance, lobbying revenue, etc.), criminal justice, social work, Demography, International Studies, Economics, Agriculture, Education, Nursing/Public Health, Environment/Climate Data/Energy and more. Help Guide
Journal of Big Data publishes high-quality, scholarly research papers, methodologies and case studies covering a broad range of topics, from big data analytics to data-intensive computing and all applications of big data research.
Online database consisting of more than 148,000 economic data time series from 59 national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Includes two categories of data – curated indicators and user-contributed datasets. The Common Humanitarian Dataset: contains about 130 indicators, curated to ensure they are comparable across countries and have gone through a quality control process. They also have datasets that organizations have shared.
The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives. The repository’s initial emphasis is on political science.
Open Trade Statistics is an independent project that values reproducible research and provides tidy trade data. They are heavily inspired by R community values and Open Licenses views on freedom. They focus on commodities data and focus on data processing and reproducibility instead of data visualization.
The following list of data sources has been collected and categorized for your convenience. The list has been limited to those for which there is a reasonably simple process for importing csv files. Most of the data sets listed below are free, however, some are not.
If an (R!) appears after source this means that the data are already in R format or there exist R commands for directly importing the data from R.
A public resource that hosts an expanding collection of computable datasets, curated and structured to be suitable for immediate use in computation, visualization, analysis and more. Get Wolfram : https://caligari.dartmouth.edu/public/downloads/mathematica/
This developer and programming foundation tutorial will give you the overview you need to understand how Python works. You'll see some coding examples that will start you on your way to becoming familiar with the Python language. Python is a clean, object-oriented interpreted language that is relatively easy to learn and doesn't require a large amount of existing programming knowledge to get started.
Dataset consisting of approximately 200 fields of data on each of the approximately one thousand large, public company bankruptcies filed in the United States Bankruptcy Courts since October 1, 1979, updated monthly. The purpose of the BRD is to promote research by providing a statistical-analysis-ready core of basic data.