Your Librarian
Key Resources
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. It offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and other fields.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
- Gale in Context - Environmental StudiesFocuses on sustainability and the environment; provides news, video, primary source documents and more. Easy to browse by topic, such as energy systems, legislation, environmental justice, climate change, and many more.
- Environmental Science IndexThis resource provides in-depth coverage of the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
Information Skepticism
- Cranky UnclePlay the Cranky Uncle game to learn how ideas, facts, and opinions can be manipulated to spread misinformation.
Cranky Uncle vs Climate Change by Call Number: Feldberg QC903 .C6655 2020Publication Date: 2020It's Not Just the Facts When it comes to climate change, this truly is a golden age-of fake news, post-truths, pluralistic ignorance, conspiracy theories, a willfully ignorant administration, and the Cranky Uncle. You know him. We all have one. That exasperating Thanksgiving blusterer digs in his heels even as the foundation of his denial thaws faster than the Arctic ice caps. Written and illustrated by Dr. John Cook, cognitive psychologist and founder of the award-winning website Skeptical Science, Cranky Uncle combines humor and science to make clear, calm, and winnable arguments in the public controversy of climate change. Can we change our Cranky Uncle's mind? Probably, regrettably, not. But Dr. Cook makes it easier for us to understand him. And armed with this knowledge, prevent climate misinformation from spreading further.
News Sources
- ClimateWireOperated by Politico, Climate Wire is part of E&E News. This subscription based newspaper reports on news related to energy and the environment.
- FactivaIndexes and provides full text to 28,000+ news and business information sources from 157 countries in 23 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.
- NYT.com - New York TimesRegister to access NYT.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.
- Washington PostAccess for free via the Dartmouth VPN. Register for a free account at https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/free-access
Creating Video Content & Writing Pitches
- Jones Media CenterThe Jones Media Center, located on Berry 2, has numerous resources available to help you create multi-media video projects this term. Resources include industry-standard editing software on their desktop computers, equipment rentals for a plethora of AV supplies, and access to studio space to film a presentation or record excellent voice overs.
- Using Video to Communicate Scienceby NSF Long Term Ecological Resource Network
- Best Practices in Science Communicationby ASCB (American Society for Cell Biology)
- Make Your Own Video: A Simple Guide to Communicating Your Research Effectivelyby Center for Ocean Sciences Education Excellence (COSEE OCEAN)
- What makes an effective science video?by Smithsonian STEM Visions
Better Presentations by Publication Date: 2016Presenting is fundamentally different from writing, and with only a little more time, a little more effort, and a little more planning, you can communicate your work with force and clarity. Designed for presenters of scholarly or data-intensive content, Better Presentations details essential strategies for developing clear, sophisticated, and visually captivating presentations.
Writing for Science and Engineering by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2012Learning how to write clearly and concisely is an integral part of furthering your research career; however, doing so is not always easy. In this second edition, fully updated and revised, Dr. Silyn-Roberts explains in plain English the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more.
Feldberg Library
Feldberg Library is located in the Murdough building, directly behind the Irving Institute.
- Feldberg Library WebsiteHours, Directions to the Library, etc.
- Dartmouth VPNAccess most Dartmouth Resources from anywhere in the world using the Dartmouth VPN. Requires NetID SSO log-in. Please note that there are some resources that are only available on campus.
- Interlibrary LoanFormerly known as "DartDoc" but now sporting a new name! If you've never used interlibrary you will login using your Dartmouth NetID credentials. Digital materials will be delivered online, but for physical materials you can set your delivery preferences to Feldberg Library on your profile.
- For Faculty: Requesting Course ReservesInformation on requesting course reserves and using the Leganto reserve system through Canvas.