Databases
Articles:
- Gale in Context - Environmental StudiesFocuses on sustainability and the environment; provides news, video, primary source documents and more. Easy to browse by topic, such as energy systems, legislation, environmental justice, climate change, and many more.
- GreenFILE"GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact."
- IEEE/IET Electronic LibraryUse for engineering and technology topics, contains many conference proceedings and standards documents. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.
- PAIS IndexIndexes publications about the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Coverage includes environmental conditions and policy, energy resources and policy; environment and environmental policy.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.
Reports:
- GlobalData: Power This link opens in a new windowCovers renewables, carbon emissions and trading, hydrogen and fuel cells, coal to gas, gas to liquids, biomass to liquids and nuclear industries. 25,000+ power plants, 16,000+ companies, and hundreds of research reports. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
- GlobalData: Oil & Gas This link opens in a new windowResearch solutions covering the full breadth of the oil & gas industry, from exploration to refining, data and analysis across the upstream, midstream, downstream and petrochemicals sectors. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
- Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new windowFind reports on the energy and power systems industries.
Statistics:
- Statista: the leading statistics portal This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- Sage Data Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new windowRepository of standardized and structured statistical data: 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources.
- OECD Data ExplorerFor access to OECD statistical databases, click on the STATISTICS tab at the top. Publications - monographs, periodicals, and statistical databases - issued by the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD).
People:
- Leadership Connect This link opens in a new windowSearch for Federal organizations by location and subject area. Find contact information for alumni or other individuals by their position or organization.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. Search for employees and executives by a wide range of criteria with basic contact information (no email addresses).
Journals
Annotated bibliographies
- Energy and geopolitics from Oxford Bibliographies Online byConventional scholarship on energy and geopolitics focuses on energy supply and energy security. Quantity and location of energy resource, more often than not, are viewed in geologically deterministic terms. A focus on geological limits makes competition for energy resources, particularly oil, a competition for the control of geographies in which it is located or through which it is transported to consumers. ...
Energy resources and use from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by ISBN: 9780199874002Human societies have depended on access to readily available supplies of fuel and other energy resources since the earliest civilizations, because people need energy to conduct work and to survive. This dependence has been an important factor in the location of communities. The earliest sources of energy were animal and human muscle power, including slaves, and various forms of biomass, solar, and wind power. ...- Renewable energy from Oxford Bibliographies Online by ISBN: 9780199874002A renewable energy source is one that is constantly replenishing itself, including power harnessed from the sun, wind, moving water, and geothermal sources. Energy use by human civilization is best understood in contrast to nonrenewable energy sources, including fossil and fissile fuels, which can be exhausted when resources are depleted at rates faster than they are reproduced. Renewable energy is human civilization’s oldest energy resource. For most of human history, civilization was powered by renewable energy, until the discovery of fossil fuels in the 18th century. ...
Books
- More books in EnergyClick for more resources in the Dartmouth Libraries
Web Resources
- Advanced Energy Legislation TrackerThe AEL Tracker database contains advanced energy legislation across all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The database also includes other legislation that would either reduce or increase the market share for advanced energy. The AEL Tracker organizes legislation into the following policy categories: Economic Development, Electricity Generation, Emissions, Energy Efficiency, Financing and Financial Incentives, Infrastructure, Natural Gas Development, Regulatory, Transportation, and Other Energy.
The database provides current legislative language, recent actions, bill sponsor information, and policy trend analyses. - DSIRE - Database of State Incentives for Renewables & EfficiencySource of information on incentives and policies that support renewable energy and energy efficiency in the United States. Established in 1995, DSIRE is operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University.
- Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP)CAPP's Statistical Handbook summarizes detailed statistical information concisely in one publication. The handbook features current and historical information on drilling, reserves, production and other data.
- OurEnergyPolicy.orgFacilitates substantive, responsible dialogue on energy policy issues, and provide this dialogue as a resource for the American people, policymakers, and the media.
Energy News Sources
- Greentech MediaNews coverage extends across the clean energy industry with a focus on solar power and the electric utility market's evolution.
- UtilityDIVENews and analysis of the electric utility industry.
- EnergyWirePart of Environment & Energy Publishing, this online news source covers business and political issues surrounding the unconventional energy industry in the USA and globally.
- E&E News PMPart of Environment & Energy Publishing, Environment & Energy News PM consists of late breaking news in the environment and energy sectors.