Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Course description
This advanced studio course will facilitate a short series of developed animation exercises alongside the production of an animated short that students will propose, conceptualize, and execute in preparation for a final, public exhibition. Class meetings will include demonstrations, screenings, and discussions as well individual and group critiques that seek to fine-tune each student's skill set and vision for his/her final project.
[Source: Registrar, 04/12/2024]; Dist: ART
In the Library's collections
Resources about Animation and Animated films are split between two libraries.
Sherman Art Library has a wide range of books about animation and the art of drawing animation. Most books would be in the call number range NC 1765 through NC 1766.
Baker/Berry Library has books on animated films, their history and criticisms with the call number of PN 1997.5 on Baker Level 4.
Jones Media Center, in Baker-Berry Library, has a collection of short and feature animated films. The Subject heading "animated films" in the online catalog will show you lists of films, lists of films from various countries and books about those films in general.
If you are looking for a specific animated film title, do a Title search in the online catalog. If we have it, a record will display. If we do not have a particular title, and it is something you think the library's collection should have, you can always "Request a purchase" for the library to buy the title. Making a request does not guarantee the purchase, but it lets us know about our users' interests.
-
animation (cinematography)You can narrow this search by added the name of a country.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Animation and the American imagination: a brief history
by
Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .U5 A76 2017ISBN: 9781440833595Providing a detailed historical overview of animated film and television in the United States over more than a century, this book examines animation within the U.S. film and television industry as well as in the broader socio-cultural context. ... -
The animation bible: a practical guide to the art of animating, from flipbooks to Flash
by
Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1765 .F86 2008bISBN: 9780810995451The Animation Bible is the first book any aspiring animator will want to own--and with increasingly affordable tools for digital animation and the vast forum of the Internet for free distribution, animation is becoming more popular than ever. Animation authority Maureen Furniss covers every aspect of production, from finding a concept, choosing a medium, and creating characters all the way to getting the end result screened and distributed. ... -
Animation in the Middle East: practice and aesthetics from Baghdad to Casablanca
by
Call Number: ShermanArt Library NC 1766 .M628 A55 2017ISBN: 9781784533267The internationally acclaimed films Persepolis and Waltz with Bashir only hinted at the vibrant animation culture that exists within the Middle East and North Africa. In spite of censorship, oppression and war, animation studios have thrived in recent years - in Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Turkey - giving rise to a whole new generation of entrepreneurs and artists. The success of animation in the Middle East is in part a product of a changing cultural climate, which is increasingly calling for art that reflects politics. ... -
They drew as they pleased
by
Call Number: Sherman - Check the catalog for the exact locationThey Drew as They Pleased is a revealing and fascinating series of books about Disney's largely unexamined concept artists, with six volumes spanning the decades between the 1930s and 1990s.
Selected book title(s)
-
Animation and performance capture using digitized models
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783642103155The realistic generation of virtual doubles of real-world actors has been the focus of computer graphics research for many years. However, some problems still remain unsolved: it is still time-consuming to generate character animations using the traditional skeleton-based pipeline, passive performance capture of human actors wearing arbitrary everyday apparel is still challenging, and until now, there is only a limited amount of techniques for processing and modifying mesh animations, in contrast to the huge amount of skeleton-based techniques. In this thesis, we propose algorithmic solutions to each of these problems. ... -
The art of Ray Harryhausen
by
Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .U52 H37 2006ISBN: 9780823084005Profiling the works of the greatest animator in movie history, this lavishly illustrated volume is an enlightening follow-up to Ray Harryhausen: An Animated Life. 286 illustrations, 211 in full color. -
Drawn from life: issues and themes in animated documentary cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .D6 D695 2019ISBN: 9780748694112Documentary cinema has always drawn from real life, but an increasing number of contemporary filmmakers are going further still, drawing onscreen images of reality through a range of animated film-making techniques. Drawn from Life is the first book to explore the field of animated documentaries from a diverse range of scholarly and practice-based perspectives, exploring and proposing answers to a range of questions that preoccupy twenty-first-century film artists and audiences alike: Why use animation to document? ... -
Hollywood flatlands: animation, critical theory and the avant-garde
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry TR 897.5 .L47 2002ISBN: 9781859846124With ruminations on drawing, color and caricature, on the political meaning of fairy-tales, talking animals and human beings as machines, Hollywood Flatlands brings to light the links between animation, avant-garde art and modernist criticism. Focusing on the work of aesthetic and political revolutionaries of the inter-war period, Esther Leslie reveals how the animation of commodities can be studied as a journey into modernity in cinema. ... -
Living life inside the lines: tales from the golden age of animation
by
Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766.U5 S54 2005ISBN: 9781578067497Martha Sigall worked with all the classic cartoon characters-Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Tom & Jerry, Droopy Dawg, Beany & Cecil, Tweety, and Porky Pig-and the madcap artists who created them-Chuck Jones, Tex Avery, Bob Clampett, Frank Tashlin, Friz Freleng, William Hanna and Joseph Barbera, Bill Melendez, and Ben (Bugs) Hardaway. As a teenager Sigall became an apprentice painter working in the Golden Age of Hollywood at the Leon Schlesinger studio, making $12.75 per week coloring animation cels that would introduce Bugs Bunny and Elmer Fudd to the world. She recounts her wild and wonderful experiences with the Warner Bros. cartoon crew, working and laughing all day with the animators, partying all night with the Looney Tunes gang on the bowling and baseball teams, and participating in weekend scavenger hunts. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
The animated century
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2784Professors Elderberry and Horace introduce clips from 160 animated films from 26 countries. They discuss the most significant animated films of the past 100 years. -
Animation & the animated film from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286For many years, animation received minimal recognition as a significant form of cinematic and artistic expression. A seemingly irrevocable process of marginalization and dismissal has been arrested, however, by the enduring presence of animation festivals worldwide, the rise of animation studies in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and the exponential rise in animation production in all sectors of media, culture, and the arts. -
Computer animation celebration
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #73ISBN: 9781573308960A collection of computer-animated short films. -
John Whitney Sr. byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #9920Robert Gardner interviews John Whitney and fellow animator Eric Martin on the inaugural episode of "Screening Room" in 1972. "Abstract computer animator, inventor and digital pioneer John Whitney Sr. (1917-1995) is widely considered the 'father of computer graphics.'
-
Norman McLaren
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3394 discs 1-2, bookExplores the creative process and techniques of Norman McLaren, artist, cinematographer and animator; includes excerpts from McLaren's film vaults, interviews and narration. -
Richard Williams' Animation masterclass presents The animator's survival kit
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16568Based on his master class, animator Richard Williams provides the underlying principles of animation that every animator -- from beginner to expert, classic animator to computer animation whiz -- needs. -
William Kentridge: drawing the passing: documentaryCall Number: Jones Media Video tape #3493In November 1998, filmmaker Reinhard Wulf and art historian Maria Anna Tappeiner visited Kentridge's Johannesburg studio to film the artist at work. The resulting documentary records Kentridge in the final stages of animating Stereoscope. It includes excerpts from the finished film, plus Kentridge's reflections on his work and the process of making it.
A selection of animated films in our collections
See animated films in the collections.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about animation can be found in many publications. Our collection includes a couple of publications which look exclusively at Animation. Those titles are listed below. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
-
Animation magazine
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThis is a trade publication the covers all aspects of the animation industry. -
Animation studies: peer reviewed online journal for animation history and theory
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe Society for Animation Studies published Animation Studies. -
Film & television literature index
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about Animation. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Association International du Film d'Animation (ASIFA)
The official site of the International Animated Film Association. It was founded in 1960 in Annecy (France) by the most famous animation artists of that time (like Norman McLaren & many others). The goal of ASIFA International is to promote cultural understanding through the art of animation. -
The Big Cartoon Database (BCDB)The BCDB Is a Giant Directory of Cartoon Episode Guides, Cast and Crew Information, Animated Film Lists, Cartoon Character Registry and Cartoon Pictures.
-
The Center for Cartoon Studies
The Center for Cartoon Studies (CCS) is dedicated to providing the highest quality of education to students interested in creating visual stories. CCS’s curriculum of art, graphic design, and literature reflects the wide array of skills needed to create comics and graphic novels. CCS emphasizes self-publishing and prepares its students to publish, market, and disseminate their work. ... -
Don Markstein's Toonopedia
The author's attempt to gather and share information and observations about the toon world — a "toon" being anything that's done in cartoon form, such as animated films, comic books, etc. -
Origins of American Animation - L of C
The development of early American animation is represented by this collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments, which spans the years 1900 to 1921. The films include clay, puppet, and cut-out animation, as well as pen drawings. -
Richard's Animated DivotsThis site has a Chronology of Animation, animation filmographies, a Bibliography of Animation and other links. No longer current.
-
Society for Animation StudiesThe Society for Animation Studies (SAS) has supported the study of animation since 1987.
-
UCLA's Preserved Silent AnimationThe collection of animation at UCLA Film & Television Archive from the years 1930-1950 is practically without peer. Nitrate prints of classic cartoons abound, as do original negatives or best-surviving printing elements for many of the films from animation’s “golden era.”
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.