Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Digital technology is a key component of culture. Looking at popular media, science fiction,computer games, and artists' projects, students will learn important approaches to digital culture including: the history of the computer as a medium;the conceptual history of interactivity; the development of film, design,animation, and hypermedia; the history of artificial reality; and how visions of the future may change our sense of identity and what constitutes our physical bodies.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 12/15/2023]; WCult:W
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog. The resources covering these subjects are scattered throughout the collections. Pay attention to the locations.
- "digital culture"This is a keyword search.
- digital AND social aspectsThis is a keyword search. It finds any subject heading with "digital" and "social aspects".
Introductory reading(s)
@ Is for activism: dissent, resistance and rebellion in a digital culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 851 .H3496 2011ISBN: 9780745327006@ is For Activism examines the transformation of politics through digital media, including digital television, online social networking and mobile computing. Joss Hands maps out how political relationships have been reconfigured and new modes of cooperation, deliberation and representation have emerged. This analysis is applied to the organization and practice of alternative politics, showing how they have developed and embraced the new political and technological environment.
The critique of digital capitalism: an analysis of the political economy of digital culture and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780692598443Anything that can be automated, will be. The "magic" that digital technology has brought us - self-driving cars, Bitcoin, high frequency trading, the internet of things, social networking, mass surveillance, the 2009 housing bubble - has not been considered from an ideological perspective. The Critique of Digital Capitalism identifies how digital technology has captured contemporary society in a reification of capitalist priorities, and also describes digital capitalism as an ideologically "invisible" framework that is realized in technology.
The Oxford handbook of digital media sociology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780197510636Digital media are normal. But this was not always true. For a long time, lay discourse, academic exhortations, pop culture narratives, and advocacy groups constructed new Information and communications technologies (ICTs) as exceptional. Whether they were believed to be revolutionary, dangerous, rife with opportunity, or other-worldly, these tools and technologies were framed as extraordinary. But digital media are now mundane, thoroughly embedded - and often unquestioned - in everyday life. Digital ICTs are enmeshed in health and wellness, work and organizations, elections, capital flows, intimate relationships, social movements, and even our own identities. And although the study of these technologies has always been interdisciplinary - at the crossroads of computer science, cultural studies, science and technology studies, and communications - never has a sociological perspective been more valuable. ...
The Oxford handbook of digital technology and society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190932596Required reading for anyone interested in the profound relationship between digital technology and society. Digital technology has become an undeniable facet of our social lives, defining our governments, communities, and personal identities. Yet with these technologies in ongoing evolution, it is difficult to gauge the full extent of their societal impact, leaving researchers and policy makers with the challenge of staying up-to-date on a field that is constantly in flux.The Oxford Handbook of Digital Technology and Society provides students, researchers, and practitioners across the technology and social science sectors with a comprehensive overview of the foundations for understanding the various relationships between digital technology and society. ...
Reading digital culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 851 .R43 2001ISBN: 9780631223023Computer technology has transformed many fundamental parts of life: how we work and play, how we communicate and consume, how we create knowledge and learn, even how we understand politics and participate in public life. Reading Digital Culture is a comprehensive collection of the most influential essays on digital media written in recent years.
Selected book title(s)
Building digital culture: a practical guide to successful digital transformation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780749479657Building Digital Culture aims to answer a simple question: How can organizations succeed when the environment they operate in is changing so quickly? The last thing businesses need today is a digital strategy. Instead, their strategy needs to be fit for our fast-changing digital world, where businesses have more data than they know what to do with, a media landscape that's exploded in size and complexity, the risk of a new disruption around every corner, and only one certainty: that this change won't let up. ...
History in the digital age by Call Number: Baker-Berry D 16.9 .H565 2013ISBN: 9780203093443The digital age is affecting all aspects of historical study, but much of the existing literature about history in the digital age can be alienating to the traditional historian who does not necessarily value or wish to embrace digital resources. History in the Digital Age takes a more conceptual look at how the digital age is affecting the field of history for both scholars and students. The printed copy, the traditional archive, and analogue research remain key constitute parts for most historians and for many will remain precious and esteemed over digital copies, but there is a real need for historians and students of history to seriously consider some of the conceptual and methodological challenges facing the field of historical enquiry as we enter the twenty-first century. ...
The long history of new media: technology, historiography, and contextualizing newness by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 94.6 .L66 2011ISBN: 9781433114403This volume examines the role of history in the study of new media and of newness itself, discussing how the 'new' in new media must be understood to be historically constructed. Furthermore, the new is constructed with an eye on the future, or more correctly, an eye on what we think the future will be. ...
Media technologies: essays on communication, materiality, and society by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96 .T42 M43 2014ISBN: 9780262525374Scholars from communication and media studies join those from science and technology studies to examine media technologies as complex, socio-material phenomena. In recent years, scholarship around media technologies has finally shed the assumption that these technologies are separate from and powerfully determining of social life, looking at them instead as produced by and embedded in distinct social, cultural, and political practices. Communication and media scholars have increasingly taken theoretical perspectives originating in science and technology studies (STS), while some STS scholars interested in information technologies have linked their research to media studies inquiries into the symbolic dimensions of these tools. ...
Memes in digital culture by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262525435In December 2012, the exuberant video "Gangnam Style" became the first YouTube clip to be viewed more than one billion times. Thousands of its viewers responded by creating and posting their own variations of the video--"Mitt Romney Style," "NASA Johnson Style," "Egyptian Style," and many others. "Gangnam Style" (and its attendant parodies, imitations, and derivations) is one of the most famous examples of an Internet meme: a piece of digital content that spreads quickly around the web in various iterations and becomes a shared cultural experience. In this book, Limor Shifman investigates Internet memes and what they tell us about digital culture. ...
The participatory cultures handbook by Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 851 .P363 2013ISBN: 9781136306693How did we get from Hollywood to YouTube? What makes Wikipedia so different from a traditional encyclopedia? Has blogging dismantled journalism as we know it? Our media landscape has undergone a seismic shift as digital technology has fostered the rise of "participatory culture," in which knowledge is originated, created, distributed, and evaluated in radically new ways. The Participatory Cultures Handbook is an indispensable, interdisciplinary guide to this rapidly changing terrain. ...
Self-representation and digital culture by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780230229662Taking a close look at ordinary people 'telling their own story', Nancy Thumim explores self-representations in contemporary digital culture in settings as diverse as reality TV, online storytelling, and oral histories displayed in museums.
Other library resource(s)
Computer-mediated communication from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841Computer-mediated communication (CMC) is an umbrella term that encompasses various forms of human communication through networked computers, which can be synchronous or asynchronous and involve one-to-one, one-to-many, or many-to-many exchanges of text, audio, and/or video messages. Early research has focused largely on how mediation by technology alters the processes and outcomes of social interaction and group processes, addressing issues such as how people express and construe self-identity, form and manage impressions, develop and maintain relationships, build communities, collaborate at a distance and make collective decisions, mostly in contrast to non-mediated, face-to-face communication. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can search various publications to find articles on digital culture. Our collection includes several journals that look at some aspect of digital culture. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles.
Journal of computer-mediated communicationCall Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication (JCMC) is a web-based, peer-reviewed scholarly journal which focuses on social science research on communicating with computer-based media technologies.Journal of religion, media and digital culture: JRMDC by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe JRMDC publishes original works that consider any aspect of the relationship between religion and digital media.- Digital culture & education byCall Number: Electronic journalDigital Culture & Education is an international, inter-disciplinary, open-access peer reviewed academic journal for those interested in exploring the overlaps between technology, culture, and education
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Online resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Digital arts from Wikipedia
Digital art is an artistic work or practice that uses digital technology as an essential part of the creative or presentation process. Since the 1970s, various names have been used to describe the process, including computer art and multimedia art. ... - Digital culturistDigital Culturist is a web magazine focused on observing the digital age through the eyes of those who created it. We publish analytical, informed essays, fiction, and poetry that explore the social, cultural, and psychological implications of technology and the internet.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.