Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course will use historical case studies to examine formal, thematic, and stylistic convergences between cinema and comics. We will analyze a variety of graphic narratives that demonstrate the interdependence of the two forms throughout their histories, particularly in matters of framing, editing, lighting effects, and narrative forms. NOTE: I assign drawing homework each week; no prior drawing experience is required.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 07/18/2023]; Dist:ART; WCult:W
In the Library's collections
The call number range for most resources on comics and graphic novels is PN 6700 through PN 6790 located on Baker Stack Level 4.
You can use one of these subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- graphic novelsMany of the graphic novels in the library's collections are located in the call number range PN 6700 through PN 6790 on Baker Stack Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
500 essential graphic novels: the ultimate guide by Call Number: Baker/--Berry PN 6710 .K35 2008ISBN: 9780061474514500 Essential Graphic Novels is an all-in-one guide to this exciting form of visual literature. Including more than 350 authors and 400 artists, this lush volume contains an essential mix of some of the finest visually-stunning stories of our time. From politically-charged non-fiction sagas to imaginative fantasy tales, this ultimate guide has something to satisfy everyone's taste. ...
Comics, manga, and graphic novels: a history of graphic narratives by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6710 .P415 2011ISBN: 9780313363306This text examines comics, graphic novels, and manga with a broad, international scope that reveals their conceptual origins in antiquity.
The encyclopedia of superheroes on film and television by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S76 M85 2004ISBN: 9780786417230A complete guide to 50 years of superheroes on screen. Each entry includes cast and credits, a format guide, individual episode descriptions, cross references, critical commentaries, as well as notations about arch-villains, gadgets, powers, and headquarters.
From comic strips to graphic novels: contributions to the theory and history of graphic narrative by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6710 .F75 2015ISBN: 9783110426564This essay collection examines the theory and history of graphic narrative as one of the most interesting and versatile forms of storytelling in contemporary media culture. Its contributions test the applicability of narratological concepts to graphic narrative, examine aspects of graphic narrative beyond the 'single work', consider the development of particular narrative strategies within individual genres, and trace the forms and functions of graphic narrative across cultures. ...
The graphic novel: an introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6710 .B235 2015ISBN: 9781107655768This book provides both students and scholars with a critical and historical introduction to the graphic novel. Jan Baetens and Hugo Frey explore this exciting form of visual and literary communication, showing readers how to situate and analyse graphic novels since their rise to prominence half a century ago. ...
Graphic novels: everything you need to know by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6710 .G738 2005ISBN: 9780060824259Graphic novels, long stories told in comics format, have enjoyed the fastest-growing sales of any category of book in the U.S. over the last four years. This modern renaissance of comics has produced a library of substantial works, whose subjects are not confined to superheroes or fantasy but are as varied and sophisticated as the best films and literature. Graphic Novels presents an accessible, entertaining, and highly illustrated guide to the diversity of contemporary comics in book form. ...
On the graphic novel by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781628464818A noted comics artist himself, Santiago García follows the history of the graphic novel from early nineteenth-century European sequential art, through the development of newspaper strips in the United States, to the development of the twentieth-century comic book and its subsequent crisis. He considers the aesthetic and entrepreneurial innovations that established the conditions for the rise of the graphic novel all over the world. García not only treats the formal components of the art, but also examines the cultural position of comics in various formats as a popular medium. ...
The superhero book: the ultimate encyclopedia of comic-book icons and Hollywood heroes by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96. H46 S87 2004ISBN: 9781578591541Profiles superheroes from comics, film, television, and fiction, and includes trivia and facts about their weaknesses, strengths, weapons, and costumes.
Selected book title(s)
The comic book film adaptation: exploring modern Hollywood's leading genre by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781628462036In the summer of 2000 X-Men surpassed all box office expectations and ushered in an era of unprecedented production of comic book film adaptations. This trend, now in its second decade, has blossomed into Hollywood’s leading genre. From superheroes to Spartan warriors, The Comic Book Film Adaptation offers the first dedicated study to examine how comic books moved from the fringes of popular culture to the center of mainstream film production. ...
Comic book movies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813590097Comic Book Movies explores how this genre serves as a source for modern-day myths, sometimes even incorporating ancient mythic figures like Thor and Wonder Woman's Amazons, while engaging with the questions that haunt a post-9/11 world: How do we define heroism and morality today? How far are we willing to go when fighting terror? How can we resist a dystopian state? ...
Comics for film, games, and animation: using comics to construct your transmedia storyworld by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780240823782Writers, directors, and producers-- reach a wider audience by embracing comics to supplement your own ideas, and offer more options for audience engagement. Comics are a key element in today's convergence culture. From their use in video games, like Batman: Arkham City and the Halo series to their use in films like Star Trek and The Incredibles, comics have proven an invaluable method for creators to expand their story world and provide audiences with irresistible gateways into the story. Tyler Weaver teaches you how to integrate comic storytelling into your own transmedia work by exploring their past, present, and future. ...
Drawn from the classics: essays on graphic adaptations of literary works by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 171 .A33 D73 2015ISBN: 9780786478798The graphic novel is the most exciting literary and artistic form to emerge during the past thirty years. One of the most inspired uses of this new form has been the creation of high-quality adaptations of literary classics. Unlike the previous abridged and simplified comic book adaptations which were aimed at younger readers, most new graphic novel adaptations are created for adults, and can capture the subtlety and complexity of any literary work, no matter how sophisticated. ...
Perfect copies: reproduction and the contemporary comic by Call Number: Baker-BerryISBN: 9781978826533Analyzing the way that recent works of graphic narrative use the comics form to engage with the "problem" of reproduction, Shiamin Kwa's Perfect Copies reminds us that the mode of production and the manner in which we perceive comics are often quite similar to the stories they tell. Perfect Copies considers the dual notions of reproduction, mechanical as well as biological, and explores how comics are works of reproduction that embed questions about the nature of reproduction itself. ...
Projections: comics and the history of twenty-first-century storytelling by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780804771474When Art Spiegelman's Maus won the Pulitzer Prize in 1992, it marked a new era for comics. Comics are now taken seriously by the same academic and cultural institutions that long dismissed the form. And the visibility of comics continues to increase, with alternative cartoonists now published by major presses and more comics-based films arriving on the screen each year. Projections argues that the seemingly sudden visibility of comics is no accident. Beginning with the parallel development of narrative comics at the turn of the 20th century, comics have long been a form that invites--indeed requires--readers to help shape the stories being told. ...
Other library resource(s)
Comics, film, and media from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Comics emerged as a mass medium at the same time as film, and were one of the most popular and influential media in pre–World War II America. In the postwar period, comic books were ghettoized as a medium for children and subliterates, while comic strips entered a decades-long stagnation. Conversely, other countries, particularly France and Japan, developed their own comics traditions, which derived from the American model but diverged from it at an early point; ...
Underground and independent comics, comix, and graphic novels by Call Number: Electronic resourceUnderground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Here are the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Need to find articles? You can use Film & Television Literature Index or the search box at the top of the page.
- Image & narrative: online magazine of the visual narrativeCall Number: Electronic journalImage [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term.
- The Comics grid: journal of comics scholarshipCall Number: Electronic journalThe Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship is an open access, open peer review academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship. The journal aims to make original contributions to the field of comics studies and to advance the appreciation of graphic narrative.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- How to film a graphic novelPersepolis director Marjane Satrapi offers up a masterclass in comic-book movie adaptation.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.