Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course lends an ear to the roles and power of musical media in the new millennium. Prominent themes include: new media’s purported democratizing effects on the production, circulation, and consumption of sound; the changing roles, responsibilities, and relevance of musicians and media artists in the digital age; and the potential for musical and social media to redraw the boundaries human experience, ethics, memory, and identity at large.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 07/19/2023]; Dist:ART; WCult:W; [MUS 16.02]
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- music AND "new media"This is a subject, keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
The Oxford handbook of sound and image in digital media by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199757640The Oxford Handbook of Sound and Image in Digital Media surveys the contemporary landscape of audiovisual media. Contributors to the volume look not only to changes brought by digital innovations, but to the complex social and technological past that informs, and is transformed by, new media. ...
The Oxford handbook of sound studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry QC 225.15 .O93 2012ISBN: 9780195388947Written by the world's leading scholars and researchers in the emerging field of sound studies, The Oxford Handbook of Sound Studies offers new and fully engaging perspectives on the significance of sound in its material and cultural forms. The book considers sounds and music as experienced in such diverse settings as shop floors, laboratories, clinics, design studios, homes, and clubs, across an impressively broad range of historical periods and national and cultural contexts. ...
The psychology of music in multimedia by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199608157Since the birth of film-making, music has played a central role in conveying emotion, action, tension, and tragedy. More recently, with the enormous growth of the gaming industry and the internet, a whole new role for musical composition and performance has emerged. However the use of music within multimedia presents a range of unique challenges. The Psychology of Music in Multimedia presents a wide range of scientific research on the psychological processes involved in the integration of sound and image when engaging with film, television, video, interactive games, and computer interfaces. Collectively, the rich chapters in this edited volume represent a comprehensive treatment of the existing research on the multimedia experience, with the aim of disseminating the current knowledge base and inspiring future scholarship. ...
The Routledge companion to music and visual culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry ML 3849 .R82 2014ISBN: 9780415629256As a coherent field of research, the field of music and visual culture has seen rapid growth in recent years. The Routledge Companion to Music and Visual Culture serves as the first comprehensive reference on the intersection between these two areas of study, an ideal introduction for those coming to the field for the first time as well as a useful source of information for seasoned researchers. This collection of over forty entries, from musicologists and art historians from the US and UK, delineate the key concepts in the field in five parts: ...
Selected book title(s)
Media messages: what film, television, and popular music teach us about race, class, gender, and sexual orientation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780765617576Publication Date: 2nd ed.This new edition reveals how the popular media contribute to widespread myths and misunderstanding about cultural diversity. While focused on the impact of television, feature film, and popular music, the authors reach far beyond media to explore how our understanding, values, and beliefs about race, class, gender and sexual orientation are constructed. ...
Music in television: channels of listening by Call Number: Baker-Berry ML 2080 .M83 2011ISBN: 9780415881364Music in Television is a collection of essays examining television's production of meaning through music in terms of historical contexts, institutional frameworks, broadcast practices, technologies, and aesthetics. It presents the reader with overviews of major genres and issues, as well as specific case studies of important television programs and events. It has a chapter on film and television in the 2000s. ...
The Oxford handbook of sound and imagination, volume 1 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190460167Whether social, cultural, or individual, the act of imagination always derives from a pre-existing context. For example, we can conjure an alien's scream from previously heard wildlife recordings or mentally rehearse a piece of music while waiting for a train. This process is no less true for the role of imagination in sonic events and artifacts. ...
The Oxford handbook of sound and imagination, volume 2 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190460242Whether social, cultural, or individual, the act of imagination always derives from a pre-existing context. For example, we can conjure an alien's scream from previously heard wildlife recordings or mentally rehearse a piece of music while waiting for a train. This process is no less true for the role of imagination in sonic events and artifacts. ...
Other library resource(s)
A century of sound: the history of sound in motion pictures. Beginning, 1876-1932 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #14124Part 1 of a three-part program that takes a comprehensive look at sound in motion pictures. Part 1 begins with the 1876 invention of the phonograph and chronicles the development of motion picture recording, production, and exhibition technology through 1932, featuring unique and rarely seen film excerpts showing the progress of recording methods.
Film sound design from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286... Sound design is also a topic of increasing interest within film music scholarship, particularly its history. The history of sound design is inextricably bound up with the history of technology, notably the emergence of Dolby in the 1970s. ...- Radio and sound studies from Oxford Bibliiographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286“Radio studies” is a relatively recent term used to signal the explosive growth in scholarship on the medium that has developed as part of a larger interest in sound media and audio culture across the arts and humanities since the 2000s. However, scholarly studies of radio are by no means unique to the new millennium, extending back to the very earliest years of the medium. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Journal of sound and music in games by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Sound and Music in Games (JSMG) is a peer-reviewed journal that presents high-quality research concerning all areas of music and/or sound in games. ...
International index to music periodicals full text by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis database covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- New Media for Musicians. What It Is and How to Use ItSo you may have heard the term 'new media' buzzing around. And how does new media impact on your music career? ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.