Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website
Course description
With emergence of filmmakers such as Alejandro Inarrirtu (Mexico), Lucrecia Martel (Argentina), and Jose Padilha (Brazil), the last decade has seen a creative boom in Latin American cinema that includes art house cinema, blockbusters, documentary, and experimental film. Beginning with a quick overview of key forerunners, this course will focus on the major directors, genres and aesthetic trends that characterize the new Latin American cinema. On the one hand, we will pay special attention to the distinct national cinemas:the different historical and cultural contexts out of which they emerge; and the different aesthetics that this gives rise to.
[Source, ORC/Catalog, 06/13/2024]; Dist:INT
In the Library's collections
You can use the subject headings below to find resources in the online catalog. The call number ranges are also included.
You can do the same subject search for other countries in Central and South America or the Caribbean using the same format, "motion pictures [country]."
Please note: these are not the only call numbers, but they have the majority of items. These searches will also lead you to movie titles.
-
motion pictures latin americaCall number range PN 1993.5 .L3 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
-
motion pictures brazilCall number range PN 1993.5 .B6 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
-
motion pictures chileCall number range PN 1993.5 .C3 on Baker Level 4.
-
motion pictures cubaCall number range PN 1993.5 .C8
-
motion pictures mexicoCall number range PN 1993.5 .M4 on Baker Level 4. Please note: this is not the only call number range, but it has the most items.
-
martel, lucreciaThis is a subject search for the director.
-
gonzalez inarritu, alejandroThis is a subject search for the director.
Introductory reading(s)
-
The cinema of Latin America
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 C56 2003ISBN: 9781903364833The Cinema of Latin America is the first volume in the new 24 Frames series of studies of national and regional cinema. In taking an explicitly text-centered approach, the books in this series offer a unique way of considering the particular concerns, styles and modes of representation of numerous national cinemas around the world. This volume focuses on the vibrant practices that make up Latin American cinema, a historically important regional cinema and one that is increasingly returning to popular and academic appreciation. ... -
Cosmopolitan film cultures in Latin America, 1896-1960
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253025722Cosmopolitan Film Cultures in Latin America examines how cinema forged cultural connections between Latin American publics and film-exporting nations in the first half of the twentieth century. Predating today's transnational media industries by several decades, these connections were defined by active economic and cultural exchanges, as well as longstanding inequalities in political power and cultural capital. The essays explore the arrival and expansion of cinema throughout the region, from the first screenings of the Lumière Cinématographe in 1896 to the emergence of new forms of cinephilia and cult spectatorship in the 1940s and beyond. ... -
Directory of World Cinema. Latin America
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 D57 2013ISBN: 9781841506180From the interior drama of Lucrecia Martel's The Headless Woman to the energetic realism of Fernando Meirelles's City of God to the frightful fantasy of Guillermo del Torro's Pan's Labyrinth and Hellboy movies, Latin American cinema covers a vast landscape not only in terms of geography but also in terms of its genres and concerns. Bringing together contributions by leading experts and emerging young scholars, the Directory of World Cinema: Latin America offers a comprehensive overview of the region's diverse films. ... -
Latin American cinema: essays on modernity, gender and national identity
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 L28 2005ISBN: 9780786420049Renewed interest in Latin American film industries has opened a host of paths of scholarly exploration. Productions from different countries reflect particular social attitudes, political climates and self-conceptions, and must be considered separately and as a whole. The search for national identity is a key component of Latin American films in a time of decreasing cultural diversity and pressures to westernize. Globalization and falling government support have fueled cross-border collaborations, calling into question the idea of a movie's "nationality," and leaving some nations' film industries on the brink of collapse. Whether thriving or barely surviving, struggling to remain distinct or embracing globalization on its own terms, addressing the government or society, Latin American cinema remains vibrant, offering a wealth of material to scholars of all stripes. ... -
New Latin American cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 N48 1997 v. 1-2ISBN: 9780814327067Mapping the historical and cultural contexts of film practices in Latin America, this two-volume collection of programmatic statements, esays and interviews is devoted to the study of a theorized, dynamic and unfinished cinematic movement. Forged by Latin America's post-colonial environment of underdevelopment and dependency, the New Latin American Cinema movement has sought to inscribe itself in Latin America's struggles for cultural and economic autonomy. ... -
Producción y mercados del cine latinoamericano en la primera década del siglo XXI
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 P764 2011ISBN: 9789597205043 -
Themes in Latin American cinema: a critical survey
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 R53 2020ISBN: 9781476677828Publication Date: 2nd ed.This updated and expanded edition gives critical analyses of 23 Latin American films from the last 20 years, including the addition of four films from Bolivia. Explored throughout the text are seven crucial themes: the indigenous image, sexuality, childhood, female protagonists, crime and corruption, fratricidal wars, and writers as characters. Designed for general and scholarly interest, as well as a guide for teachers of Hispanic culture or Latin American film and literature, the book provides a sweeping look at the logistical circumstances of filmmaking in the region along with the criteria involved in interpreting a Latin American film. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
After human rights: literature, visual arts, and film in Latin America, 1990-2010
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822964162Fernando J. Rosenberg explores Latin American artistic production concerned with the possibility of justice after the establishment, rise, and ebb of the human rights narrative around the turn of the last century. Prior to this, key literary and artistic projects articulated Latin American modernity by attempting to address and supplement the state's inability to embody and enact justice. ... -
Drugs, thugs, and divas: telenovelas and narco-dramas in Latin America
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .S4 B47 2008ISBN: 9780292717121Soap opera speaks a universal language, presenting characters and plots that resonate far beyond the culture that creates them. Latin American soap operas--telenovelas--have found enthusiastic audiences throughout the Americas and Europe, as well as in Egypt, Russia, and China, while Mexican narco-dramas have become highly popular among Latinos in the United States. -
Latin American melodrama: passion, pathos, and entertainment
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 L345 2009ISBN: 9780252076558Like their Hollywood counterparts, Latin American film and TV melodramas have always been popular and highly profitable. The first of its kind, this anthology engages in a serious study of the aesthetics and cultural implications of Latin American melodramas. -
The politics of affect and emotion in contemporary Latin American cinema: Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, and Mexico
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 P63 2011ISBN: 9780230109551This book explores the role of emotion and affect in recent Latin American cinema (1990s-2000s) in the context of larger public debates about past traumas and current anxieties. To address this topic, it examines some of the most significant trends in contemporary Latin American filmmaking. -
Seeing in Spanish: from Don Quixote to Daddy Yankee - 22 essays on Hispanic visual cultures
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry NX 501.5 .S43 2011ISBN: 9781443829359Seeing in Spanish brings together 22 chapters which share a focus on aspects of visual cultures from the Spanish speaking world. Together these chapters address film, photography, cover art, body art, posters, television, architecture, ekphrasis, biography, murals, graffiti, and digital photo-montage. Between Don Quixote and Daddy Yankee, the essays move from the seventeenth century to the present and traverse Europe, the Americas, and cyberspace. ... -
Una historia comparada del cine Latinoamericano
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783964568960Este libro traza una historia comparada de los cines nacionales de América Latina, en diez capítulos que cubren los principales periodos cinematográficos de la región, entre ellos el cine mudo, el cine de estudios, el neorrealismo, el cine de autor, el Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano y el cine contemporáneo. Schroeder Rodríguez incorpora un análisis de aproximadamente 50 películas a una narrativa de alto rigor académico y enmarcada por un persuasivo marco teórico de modernidades múltiples. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Portuguese-language films at DartmouthPortuguese-language films at Dartmouth is a website to consult and contribute reviews, ratings, and detailed information about films currently held by the Dartmouth College Library. It serves as both a gateway to the library's collection of Portuguese language film, and as a resource for students, faculty, staff, and film aficionados worldwide to exchange information and opinion about these films.
-
Digitalia film library. Latin American cinema
Call Number: Streaming video serviceDigitalia Film Library includes productions from France, Argentina, Russia, Brazil, Cuba, Spain, other Latin American countries and classic American (U.S.) titles. -
Digitalia film library. Argentina cinema
Call Number: Streaming videoA collection of select Argentine films.
-
Digitalia film library. Brazilian cinema
Call Number: Streaming videoDigitalia Film Library is another streaming service to which the Library subscribes. They have several collections in their library including one for Brazilian cinema.
-
Latin American cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
ISBN: 9780199791286How might the term “Latin American Cinema” be defined? The term is not exempt from controversy any more than the concept of Latin America itself, which was first imagined by the French Michel Chevalier in the mid-19th century and later coined by the Colombian José María Torres Caicedo. The question of whether a cinema that is specifically Latin American exists and, furthermore, whether it is productive to conduct research from this broad perspective often appears in prologues to Latin American film studies. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Latin American film can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look exclusively at Latin American film. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles.
-
Studies in Spanish & Latin American cinemas
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThis peer-reviewed journal explores the cinemas of Spain and Spanish-speaking South, Central and North America, including the Caribbean and Brazil. -
Journal of Latin American cultural studies
by
Call Number: Electronic journalJournal of Latin American Cultural Studies publishes articles on Latin American culture and on theoretical and historical approaches to cultural production in Latin America, including Caribbean, Latino/a and other diasporic, trans-regional formations. Multidisciplinary work defining and proposing new areas of research and debate is especially welcome. They encourage contributions on the full range of cultural objects, practices, and expressions (including literature, film, visual arts, music), as well as the informal structures of meaning and communication at societal and sub-cultural levels. ... -
Hispanic research journal
by
Call Number: Electronic journalHispanic Research Journal (HRJ) promotes and disseminates research into the cultures of the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America, from the Middle Ages to the present day. The fields covered include literature and literary theory, cultural history and cultural studies, language and linguistics, and film and theatre studies. Hispanic Research Journal publishes articles in four languages; Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, and English, and encourages and interaction between researchers all over the world who are working in these fields. -
Significação: revista de cultura audiovisual
by
Call Number: Electronic journalSignificação – Revista de Cultura Audiovisual publishes articles, essays, reviews, and interviews dedicated to studying the media and audiovisual processes and systems by the diverse practices and ideas entailed by their processes of reflection, creation, production, and dissemination. ... -
A Contracorriente: una revista de estudios latinoamericanos
by
Call Number: Electronic journalFounded in 2003 as a refereed electronic journal seeking to stimulate socio-historical analysis of Latin American Literature and push back against the relativism present in poststructuralist thought and postmodernism, A Contracorriente soon became a journal dedicated to the larger field of Latin American Studies, while still maintaining our original theoretical position. It strives to foster intellectual debate about politics, sociology, history, literature, film, art, and culture at large in Latin America from a leftist point of view. The journal is open access and publishes in Spanish and English, ... -
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceHAPI is a source for worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, with coverage from 1970 to the present. -
Ethnic newsWatch
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States, published since 1990. -
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie title(s)
Find more Latin American film titles in the online catalog.
-
Assalto ao banco central
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15416A group of bank robbers commit the perfect heist and pull off the biggest peace-time robbery in history. -
El día que murió el silencio
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9913Lyrical, sentimental comedy with shades of magic realism in its tale of a mysterious stranger who brings radio to a remote South American village. -
El infierno
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15735Benjamin Garcia, El Benny, are deported from the U.S., and upon his return to Mexico finds a bleak picture. The violence, corruption and economic crisis plaguing the country have completely devastated the place. Benny, with no other options and to help his family out, gets involved in the drug business, where he finds, for the first time in his life, a prosperous life, full of money, women and violence. In the end, he discovers firsthand that the tempting criminal way of life does not always pay what it promises. -
El invierno de los raros
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15059A sleepy, scruffy provincial town in the Argentinean countryside, in the middle of a cold winter. Most of the inhabitants live according to a fixed routine in which the days pass by almost unnoticed. Each new day is like any other. But then for six people, originally without them noticing, something really starts to change. They wrestle with conflicts that result from personal problems from the past, such as love affairs, family quarrels, difficult friendships and other emotional stresses. We follow them for three days in a meandering storyline in which their lives cross at various moments. -
Entre Marx y una mujer desnuda
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5177A young writer is torn between an impossible love and the love for his country, in the midst of a dictatorship and the rebellion of the insignificant Communist party. -
Les transplantés
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11331About a family of weathly Chilean expatriates living in Paris, in greatly reduced circumstances, during the regime of Salvador Allende. -
Silencios
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15055Story of two women, Eloisa and Agnes, and the people they encounter to change their lives forever. Eloisa is 65, widowed, and has left the city to live in the small town of Torres where she lives with three dogs and four cats and spends all of her days preparing meals for 200 underprivileged children. Agnes is 36 and works as a receptionist at a hair restoration center. She can't connect with her family and is alone. Just when she thinks her life will change for the better after meeting a handsome architect, her neighbor attacks her the night before her date.
Internet resource(s)
-
AFI Latin American Film Festival
For over 20 years, the AFI Latin American Film Festival showcases the best filmmaking from Latin America and, with the inclusion of films from Spain and Portugal, celebrates Ibero-American cultural connections. -
Festival Internacional del Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano«Queridos hermanos de Nuestra América: en La Habana, capital de Cuba, iniciamos hoy, 3 de diciembre del año 1979, el primer Festival Internacional del Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano».
Con estas palabras de inauguración pronunciadas por Alfredo Guevara, gestor y presidente del Festival, comenzaba a hacerse realidad un sueño del cine latinoamericano. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.