Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Pedro Almodóvar Caballero, Spain's most internationally acclaimed filmmaker will be studied in this course as representative of what critics have termed the New Spanish Cinema Movement. Almodóvar's filmmaking, both in aesthetic and cultural terms, addresses issues which will appeal to students interested in understanding how culture, politics, and aesthetics get entangled in ways that “queer” gender identity, family structures, notions of community and the societal expectations and limitations surrounding them. The course will also compare his work with other contemporary filmmakers that have reconfigured in their films the boundaries of “family.”
[Source: Registrar, 11/08/2024]; Dist:ART; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- almodóvar, pedroThis is a subject search for the director. The call number range is PN1998.3 .A46 on Baker Level 4.
- motion pictures spainCall number range PN 1993.5 .S7-.S72 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Almodóvar on Almodóvar by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .A46 A3 2006ISBN: 9780571231928Pedro Almodóvar's influence on European popular culture has been immense. From a small village in rural Spain to international acclaim for his many wonderfully vivid and outrageous films, Almodóvar On Almodóvar tells the story of the man and his films. Almodóvar came from an austere background in rural Spain. ...
A companion to Pedro Almodóvar by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .A46 C585 2013ISBN: 9781405195829Edited by leading authorities on the subject, and bringing together a stellar cast of contributors, this detailed appraisal of Pedro Almodóvar's unique cinematic art examines the themes, style, and aesthetics of his oeuvre and locates it in the context of the profound cultural transformations in Spain since the 1970s. ...
Desire unlimited: the cinema of Pedro Almodóvar by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .A46 S65 2014ISBN: 9781781681770In the last decade, Spanish auteur Pedro Almodóvar has grown from critical darling of the film circuit scene to mainstream success. Frequently comic, often deadly serious, always visually glorious, his recent films range from the Academy Award-winning drama Talk to Her to the 2011 horror film The Skin I Live In. Though they are ambitious and varied in style, each is a distinctive innovation on the themes that have defined his work. Desire Unlimited is the classic film-by-film assessment of Almodóvar's oeuvre, now updated to include his most recent work. ...
Las películas de Almodóvar by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9788489564664Este libro se adentra en los planteamientos findamentales de su obra, analizando sus constantes, desvelando la estructura de sus films, buceando en las relaciones existentes entre sus planteamientos estéticos y sus premisas ideológicas.
Pedro Almodóvar archives by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .A46 P34 2017ISBN: 9783836547925One of the most prolific and influential auteurs at work over the past 40 years, cult Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar has beguiled audiences worldwide with his thrilling dissertations on desire, passion, and identity. Cast an eye over his long list of productions and you're confronted with intoxicating tales of psychological melodrama, black comedy, familial feud, and violent lust. This edition of The Pedro Almodóvar Archives offers unique inside access to behind-the-scenes pictures and personal reminiscences as the director guides us through his journey, from his early days right through to I'm So Excited (2013) and Julieta (2016). ...
Selected book title(s)
All about Almodóvar's men by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .A46 A45 2017ISBN: 9781433138645Pedro Almodóvar is an internationally acclaimed Spanish director. The national and international fascination over Almodóvar's cinema lies in his ability to reflect the problems of contemporary society, his lucidity in combining the urban and the rural, his ability to express the frustrations of modern man, as well as his freshness and spontaneity. Although the vast majority of studies on this Spanish director have focused on women and the gay world, his films are crowded with many types and archetypes of heterosexual men. ...
Almodóvar en la prensa de Estados Unidos by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .A46 M37 2013ISBN: 9788437090825This is an appreciation of Almodóvar 's films from an American (United States) perspective.
The changing Spanish family: essays on new views in literature, cinema and theater by Call Number: Baker-Berry PQ 6073 .F33 C43 2011ISBN: 9780786464043Despite centuries of Catholic conservatism, Spain stands among the Western countries that have recently embraced non-traditional families. A decline in the dominance of extended families, the upswing in single-parent households, and an increase in the number of working mothers have all transformed what it means to be a "Spanish family." Many factors have prompted this change, including the end of Franco's dictatorship, the liberalization of society, economic reforms, Spanish feminism, and recent Socialist constitutional reforms recognizing the rights of same-sex partners. This collection of essays examines how authors, filmmakers and playwrights are engaging with changes to Spanish culture, exploring the very redefining of Spanish society.
Forms of being: cinema, aesthetics, subjectivity by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .B36 2004ISBN: 9781844570164In each of the films discussed in this study - Le Mepris, All About My Mother, The Thin Red Line - something extraordinary is proposed. Or if not proposed, then shown, visually, by stranger and more powerful means than narrative or argument.
Indiscreet fantasies: Iberian queer cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H55 I53 2021ISBN: 9781684482474Pedro Almodóvar may have helped put queer Iberian cinema on the map, but there are multitudes of LGBTQ filmmakers from Catalonia, Portugal, Castile, Galicia, and the Basque Country who have made the Peninsula one of the world's most vital sources for queer film. Together, they have produced a cinema whose expressions of queer desire have challenged the region's conservative religious and family values, while intervening in vital debates about politics, history, and nation. i>Indiscreet Fantasies is a unique collection that offers in-depth analyses of fifteen different films produced in the region over the past fifty years, each by a different director, ...
Latin Hitchcock : how Almodóvar, Amenábar, de la Iglesia, del Toro and Campanella became notorious by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .H58 K47 2015ISBN: 9780231172097This study explores how five major directors--Pedro Almodóvar, Alejandro Amenábar, Alex de la Iglesia, Guillermo del Toro, and Juan José Campanella--modeled their early careers on Hitchcock and his film aesthetics. In shadowing Hitchcock, their works embraced the global aspirations his movies epitomize. ...
Pedro Almodóvar: interviews by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .A46 A5 2004ISBN: 9781578065691In full command of both Hollywood stylistics and camp aesthetics, Spain's Pedro Almodóvar (b. 1951) has become a master of the audacious and the unorthodox, of the permissive and the polemical. Pedro Almodóvar: Interviews documents the 22-year-long cinematic career of the most internationally celebrated Spanish art-film director since Luís Buñuel. ...
Other library resource(s)
De Salamanca a ninguna parte = Salamanca to nowhere by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11768A documentary film about the group of experimental Spanish filmakers who met in Salamanca and founded the neo-realist New Spanish Cinema movement in the 1950's. It includes contemporary interviews with the filmmakers and newsreel footage. Filmmakers interviewed include Basilio Martin Patino, Miguel Picazo, Carlos Saura, Jose Luis Borau and Mario Camus.
Pedro Almodóvar from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Eccentric, innovative, kitsch, subversive, transgressive, genius, unconventional, postmodern, independent—Pedro Almodóvar (b. 1949), arguably Spain’s most acclaimed director, producer, and screenwriter, has become an international icon of the transformative spirit that impregnated Spanish cultural production in the stagnant years under and after Franco’s dictatorship. He achieved international recognition without precedent, bursting onto the scene during the years of La Movida Madrileña, a transgressive and hedonistic cultural movement born in Spain in the 1980s. ...
Viva Pedro. Special features by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #6043ISBN: 9781424809523Special features for the Viva Pedro box set include cast and crew interviews, analyses of Almodóvar's works, biographical documentary, featurettes, and previews.
Almodóvar films in our collections
See a list of all the films we have in the collections. What follows is a short, selected list.
La flor de mi secreto = Flower of my secret by Call Number: Streaming videoLeo is a bestselling author of romantic fiction, but has been writing under a pseudonym name for years. Now in the middle of her life, Leo has reached a creative and emotional crisis. Tired of producing popular fiction when her heart yearns to write truly great literature, her very success has become a burden to her; unable to accept that her marriage to Paco is rapidly disintegrating, Leo finds herself at a crossroads in her life. Even Leo's mother and sister can offer no consolation as they constantly bicker with one another. The one ray of hope in Leo's life comes from Angel, the editor of the newspaper EL PAIS, who offers her a job as a critic for a national arts supplement. Leo's first assignment brings her face to face with her alter-ego causing an examination of her true identity, her deepest motivations and, most importantly, the direction of her life after Paco.
Madres paralelas = Parallel mothers by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #23294ISBN: 9786318686877Two women, Janis and Ana, coincide in a hospital room where they are going to give birth. Both are single and became pregnant by accident. Janis, middle-aged, doesn't regret it and she is exultant. The other, Ana, an adolescent, is scared, repentant and taumatized. Janis tries to encourage her while they move like sleepwalkers along the hospital corridors. The few words they exchange in these hours will create a very close link between the two, which by chance develops and complicates, and changes their lives in a decisive way.
Mujeres al borde de un ataque de nervios = Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown by Call Number: Streaming videoHigh atop one of Spain's poshest penthouses, three women have come to the end of their mental ropes. Super-sexy Pepa is forever teetering around atop her skyscraper spikes as she obsesses over Iván, the lover who just jilted her over the answering machine! Her neurotic best friend Candela is seeking refuge at Pepa's place because she recently realized her lover is a Shiite terrorist. And Iván's ex-wife Lucía was just released from a 20-year stint in a mental institution. They're all mighty mad - in fact, they're on the verge of a nervous breakdown ... and one of them is about to commit murder unless the other half-crazed femme fatales can stop her!
Pain and glory = Dolor y gloria by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #22598It tells of a series of reencounters experienced by Salvador Mallo, a film director in his physical decline. Some of them in the flesh, others remembered: his childhood in the '60s, when he emigrated with his parents to a village in Valencia in search of prosperity, the first desire, his first adult love in the Madrid of the '80s, the pain of the breakup of that love while it was still alive and intense, writing as the only therapy to for the unforgettable, the early discovery of cinema, and the void, the infinite void that created the incapacity to keep on making films.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Almodóvar's films can be found in many publications. Our collection also includes several journals which look exclusively at the cinema of Spain and Spanish language films. You can use Film & Television Literature Index, another index listed below or use the search box at the top of the page.
Archivos de la Filmoteca: revista de estudios históricos sobre la imagen by Call Number: Electronic journalThis is a journal of historical research on Cinema Studies
Studies in Spanish & Latin American cinemas by Call Number: Electronic journalThis peer-reviewed journal explores the cinemas of Spain and Spanish-speaking South, Central and North America, including the Caribbean and Brazil.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- The 10 Best Films by Pedro Almodóvar from IndieWireAlmodóvar's career is a bounty of riches, and any ranking of his work means something will surely be left out. But here, ahead of the opening of Pain and Glory, the director's finest film in years, take a look back at his best movies. ...
- The Evolution of Pedro Almodóvar from The New YorkerMany famous directors retreat to the privacy of their own screening rooms, but Pedro Almodóvar still likes to see movies in theatres. He lives off a park on the western side of Madrid, and the art houses are clumped together near Plaza de España, not far away. He tries to go at least once a week. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.