Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Considers television as a transnational medium from the first international broadcasts of the late 1950's to its digital descendants in the early twenty-first century. As television genres and formats continue to mutate and proliferate (digital downloads, streaming, etc.), the course addresses fundamental questions about its nature as a medium of mass communication: What is television for, today?
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/30/2024]; Dist:INT or ART; WCult:W
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
"global television"This is a keyword search using a phrase.
-
television broadcastingBooks on the Television broadcasting industry are in the call number range HE 8700 through HE 8700.9 on Berry Level 3.
-
television programsYou can use this subject search to see what programs we that were created and produced in other countries.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Contemporary world television
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.5 .C625 2004ISBN: 9781844570096What is happening today in the world of world television? With intense commercialization and more open national markets, along with technological convergence and greater concentration of ownership, the international TV landscape is changing at a bewildering pace and in a host of different ways. Contemporary World Television presents a unique overview of the global issues raised by these transformations in television. It looks at how they have affected the public interest and society across the globe and how the role of television as a nation-builder is experiencing erosion and evolution. ... -
Global television formats: understanding television across borders
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.55 .G57 2012ISBN: 9780415965453For decades, television scholars have viewed global television through the lens of cultural imperialism, focusing primarily on programs produced by US and UK markets and exported to foreign markets. Global Television Formats revolutionizes television studies by de-provincializing its approach to media globalization. -
Media compass: a companion to international media landscapes
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781394196241In Media Compass: A Companion to International Media Landscapes, an international team of prominent scholars examines both long-term media systems and fluctuating trends in media usage around the world. Integrating country-specific summaries and cross-cutting studies of geopolitical regions, this interdisciplinary reference work describes key elements in the political, social, demographic, cultural, and economic conditions of media infrastructures and public communication. ... -
New patterns in global television formats
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.55 .N47 2016ISBN: 9781783207121The past twenty years have seen major changes in the ways that television formats and programming are developed and replicated internationally for different markets--with locally focused repackagings of hit reality shows leading the way. But in a sense, that's not new: TV formats have been being exported for decades, with the approach and methods changing along with changes in broadcast technology, markets, government involvement, and audience interest. ... -
The Routledge companion to global television
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138724341Featuring scholarly perspectives from around the globe and drawing on a legacy of television studies, but with an eye toward the future, this authoritative collection examines both the thoroughly global nature of television and the multiple and varied experiences that constitute television in the twenty-first century. Companion chapters include original essays by some of the leading scholars of television studies as well as emerging voices engaging television on six continents, offering readers a truly global range of perspectives. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Adapting idols: authenticity, identity and performance in a global television format
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781409441694Since the first series of Pop Idol aired in the UK just over a decade ago, Idols television shows have been broadcast in more than forty countries all over the world. In all those countries the global Idols format has been adapted to local cultures and production contexts, resulting in a plethora of different versions, ranging from the Dutch Idols to the Pan-Arab Super Star and from Nigerian Idol to the international blockbuster American Idol. Despite its worldwide success and widespread journalistic coverage, the Idols phenomenon has received only limited academic attention. Adapting Idols: Authenticity, Identity and Performance in a Global Television Format brings together original studies from scholars in different parts of the world to identify and evaluate the productive dimensions of Idols. ... -
America, as seen on TV: how television shapes immigrant expectations around the globe
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.65 .R63 2018ISBN: 9781479818525The surprising effects of American TV on global viewers. As a dominant cultural export, American television is often the first exposure to American ideals and the English language for many people throughout the world. Yet, American television is flawed, and, it represents race, class, and gender in ways that many find unfair and unrealistic. What happens, then, when people who grew up on American television decide to come to the United States? What do they expect to find, and what do they actually find? In America, As Seen on TV, Clara E. Rodríguez surveys international college students and foreign nationals working or living in the US to examine the impact of American television on their views of the US and on their expectations of life in the United States. ... -
The digital glocalization of entertainment: new paradigms in the 21st century global mediascape
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781461409076In this volume, Paolo Sigismondi explores the dynamics of global media and entertainment, specifically analyzing the implications of the global rise of non-scripted entertainment (as reality TV programs) and the impact and consequences of the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) revolution on the content, delivery platforms, and overall business models of the media and entertainment landscape. This work aims at bridging the gap between media theories and industry practices in a rapidly evolving global mediascape, building on scholarship in the field and enriched by case studies and insights from business practice. ... -
Global television and film: an introduction to the economics of the business
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A1 H67 1997ISBN: 9780198711476Global Television and Film is the first non-specialist introduction to the economics of the contemporary film and television business. The industry is highly significant, economically and culturally and the political economy of its trade is an extremely sensitive issue. Are cultural goods merely entertainment goods? Why does the US dominate? This book provides a systematic and structured economic explanation of how the global markets for television and films operate, and the implications for public policy and business strategy. ... -
Latin American television industries
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.9 .L38 S55 2013ISBN: 9781844573882John Sinclair and Jospeh D. Straubhaar provide a comprehensive account of television production, distribution and reception in Spanish- and Portuguese-speaking Latin American countries, showing how Mexican and Brazilian programmes have dominated in the region, and placing regional output in the context of the global television industry. -
Media and global civil society
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780230301337A timely and critical investigation into the way media operates in a so-called global age, presenting new empirical data on key sites of news production and crucially tying these findings to ongoing debates on globalization and democracy.
Other library resource(s)
-
American television industry from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Critical exploration of the broadcasting industry began in the 1920s, during the period of network radio. As with film, the industry (and its audiences) became an object of study before its texts, styles, and genres did—manifesting the anxieties many felt over the 20th century’s “industrialization of culture” with its overturning of traditional hierarchies. Not until the 1980s did critical/cultural study of the television industry emerge from the social scientific and economic research that had predominated earlier. ... -
Asian television from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286In the early 21st century, studies of Asian television have become an important and significant research area in the fields of media studies, communication, cultural studies, comparative literature, and Asian studies.
-
Chinese television from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Chinese Studies
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199920082Chinese TV broadcasting started in 1958, with three stations established during that year: Beijing Television, which was changed to Central China Television (CCTV) in 1978, Shanghai Television, and Harbin Television. Although many other provincial capitals attempted to follow suit in the ensuing years, the young industry fared poorly due to a profound economic crisis in the early 1960s. ... -
Global television industry from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Television was introduced as an experimental technology in the 1920s and 1930s in Europe, Asia, the former Soviet Union, and the Americas, but it was not until after World War II that it was widely adopted as a form of mass communication around the globe.
-
Spanish-language television from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286During the last decade, Spanish-language television has generated much interest among media scholars. The most recent census numbers demonstrated that Latina/os are the fastest growing minority in the United States, and the ongoing debates around immigration and the configuration of a Latino market heralded by advertisers for its “buying power” have prompted researchers to look at Spanish-language television as a site through which narratives about race, ethnicity, class, gender, and national and transnational identities intertwine. Although Spanish-language television has aired on the mainland United States since the 1960s, it was not until 2007 that the top broadcast television networks, Univision and Telemundo, joined the big leagues of television audience measurement research. The highly competitive rating numbers revealed by Nielsen indicate that Spanish-language networks are consistently in the top ten ratings during primetime.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about global television can be found in many publications. Our collection does not include a magazine or journal title which looks exclusively at global television. You can use Film & Television Literature Index or the search box at the top of the page.
-
Transnational Turkish Television Production and Consumption
by
Call Number: Electronic journal special issueThe transnationalization of the Turkish television industry, which began in the late 1990s, has been continuing with enormous success with Turkish TV series now being exported to more than 150 countries. In both introductions to the double special issue, we contextualize television in Turkey as a significant cultural field of production within its historical background and trace the transnational trajectory of Turkish dramas in Turkey and abroad. ... [85, 3/4] -
Critical studies in television: the international journal of television studies
by
Call Number: Electronic journalCritical Studies in Television publishes articles that draw together divergent disciplines and different ways of thinking, to promote and advance television as a distinct academic discipline. It welcomes contributions on any aspect of television—production studies and institutional histories, audience and reception studies, theoretical approaches, conceptual paradigms and pedagogical questions. ... -
In Focus: Netflix from JCMS
by
Call Number: Electronic journalPublication Date: v. 59, no. 3The In Focus section of this issue from 2020 looks at the global impact of Netflix. -
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.