Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course covers formal and stylistic techniques in editing along with how to approach the overall organization of a film. Assignments include creative film exercises, film screenings and contextual readings. In addition, throughout the term students will work towards the completion of a final project that will be showcased in a public screening.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 01/21/2025]; Dist:ART
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
The art of cinematic storytelling: a visual guide to planning shots, cuts and transitions by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190054328To dramatize a story using moving images, a director must have a full understanding of the meaning and emotional effect of all the various types of shots and cuts that are available to advance the story. Drawing upon his extensive experience as a storyboard artist who has worked with over 200 directors and cinematographers on television series and movies, author Kelly Gordon Brine provides a practical and accessible introduction to the design of shots, cuts, and transitions for film, television, animation, video, and game design. ...
Documentary editing: principles and practice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138675735Documentary Editing offers clear and detailed strategies for tackling every stage of the documentary editing process, from organizing raw footage and building select reels to fine cutting and final export. ...
Film editing: emotion, performance and story by Call Number: Sherman Art Library TR 899 .L36 2022ISBN: 9781501379109Film editing is part of the long process of formulating, acquiring and presenting the images and sounds that make a film. The film editor makes decisions about the arrangement of the visual and aural material that they receive in the cutting room, not for their own satisfaction but to stimulate the participation of the cinema and television viewer. Three interrelated aspects, Emotion, Performance and Story, influence this decision-making. Combining history, practice, study and theory, Film Editing: Emotion, Performance, Story investigates why certain editorial decisions can encourage the emotional and narrative engagement of the audience. ...
Grammar of the edit by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781000914306Publication Date: 5th ed.This newly revised and updated fifth edition of Grammar of the Edit will teach anyone who needs to use video as a communication tool how to show more effective visual stories. This accessible resource presents both traditional and cutting-edge methodologies that address the all-important questions of when to cut and why, and teaches readers the principles behind selecting the best shots, cutting for continuity, pacing, editing sound, color correction, and more. ...
The healthy edit: creative editing techniques for perfecting your movie by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138233805Publication Date: 2nd ed.This updated and revised new edition of The Healthy Edit provides aspiring and working editors with creative editing strategies they can employ to enhance a film, while also overcoming common production problems. ...
Selected book title(s)
The editor's toolkit: a hands-on guide to the art of film editing by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138903371The Editor's Toolkit: A Hands-On Guide to the Craft of Film and TV Editing is a tutorial-based introduction to the craft of editing. Today's process of media editing is fast and competitive, making this guide a necessity for anyone looking to break into the business. Here, Chris Wadsworth provides 52 media-based examples for you to put together, with the benefit of seeing what he did with those same exercises, giving you essential feedback to improve your technique and learn the tricks of the trade. ...
Elmo Williams: a Hollywood memoir by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .W5655 A3 2006ISBN: 9780786426218Fate has thrown me some interesting curves, says Elmo Williams, the farm boy turned actor, director and producer. As a young boy, he traveled with his family in a covered wagon to a new life in a New Mexico homestead. After struggling to help raise his siblings, in 1932 as a young teen he began working for film editor Merrill White. As White's gopher, he spent his spare time watching and learning the art of film editing. Within three years he was a partner in an editing company with White in London. ...
First cut 2: more conversations with film editors by Call Number: Baker-Berry TR 899 .O44 2012ISBN: 9780520273511First Cut 2: More Conversations with Film Editors presents a new collection of twelve interviews with award-winning film editors who discuss the art and craft of editing in the twenty-first century. As a follow-up to the successful First Cut: Conversations with Film Editors, this new volume explores the transition of editing from the age of celluloid to the digital age. ...
A long time ago in a cutting room far, far away: my fifty years editing Hollywood hits ... by Call Number: Baker-Berry TR849.H57 A3 2020ISBN: 9781641602556A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away provides a behind-the-scenes look at some of the most influential films of the last fifty years as seen through the eyes of Paul Hirsch, the Oscar-winning film editor who worked on such classics as George Lucas's Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back, Brian De Palma's Carrie and Mission: Impossible, Herbert Ross's Footloose and Steel Magnolias, ...
Making the cut at Pixar: the art of editing animation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781000575170Join industry insiders Bill Kinder and Bobbie O'Steen as they guide readers on a journey through every stage of production on an animated film, from storyboards to virtual cameras and final animation. With unprecedented access to the Pixar edit suite, this authoritative project highlights the central role film editors play in some of the most critically acclaimed and commercially successful movies of all time. ...
Women film editors: unseen artists of American cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry TR 899 .M45 2016ISBN: 9781476662947When the movie business adopted some of the ways of other big industries in 1920s America, women--who had been essential to the industry's early development--were systematically squeezed out of key behind-the-camera roles. Yet, as female producers and directors virtually disappeared for decades, a number of female film editors remained and rose to the top of their profession, sometimes wielding great power and influence. Their example inspired a later generation of women to enter the profession at mid-century, several of whom were critical to revolutionizing film-making in the 1960s and 1970s with contributions to such classics as Bonnie and Clyde, Jaws and Raging Bull. ...
Other library resource(s)
The cutting edge: the magic of movie editing by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7327ISBN: 9781419813504Teaches the viewer how editors compile strips of film in order to create memorable movie going experiences. In addition to interviews with a variety of respected and award-winning editors, the movie offers clips from some of the most memorable films in the history of the artform.
Filmmakers on film. 2, editors on editing by Call Number: Streaming videoFilm editing initially began as a woman's art in France. As veteran film editor, Dede Allen, tell it,"They thought that women were good at little details, like sewing." Before editing became a craft, women were the earliest technicians. Today, the long tradition of women editors carries on.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find scholarly literature for film editing in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- American Cinema Editors (ACE)
The purpose of American Cinema Editors is to advance the art and science of the film editing profession; to increase the entertainment value of motion pictures by attaining artistic preeminence and scientific achievement in the creative art of film editing; and to bring into close alliance those film editors who desire to advance the prestige and dignity of the film editing profession. ... - Film Editing Guide: What is Film Editing & Why Is It Important?The process behind producing a movie is extensive. Often the unsung hero of movies, editing is as crucial as any other important aspect. Despite its significance, it is commonly overlooked and misunderstood. In this guide, we want to educate you on film editing and how it is typically done. ...
- Responsibilities and skills in film editing from Filmmakers.comResponsibilities and skills in the job of editing a film involves rhythm, instinct, emotion, psychology, art- and it draws from the total talent of one person, the editor in editing collaborates with the film director to create a cumulative sensory event. ...
- What is Film Editing and What Does a Film Editor Do?
Film editing is focused on cutting and assembling film footage to tell a specific story. Throughout much of the history of the motion picture industry, movies were shot and edited using film, which meant editing a film involved cutting and assembling actual film strips. Now, most editing is done digitally, using programs like Adobe Premiere and Avid. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.