Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Performing Histories, Performing Us is an interactive course, taught by scholar artist, Dr. Monica White Ndounou, with a residency component with actor/writer/director Roger Guenveur Smith. The course utilizes performance as a tool to interrogate, examine and explore the concept of history, particularly at the intersection of culture and performance. This course uses traditional and nontraditional archives and multiple platforms to illuminate the possibilities for performing histories; performing us.
[Source: Registrar, 0/28/2022] Dist:ART; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- theater AND actingThis is a subject, keyword search in the library's online catalog.
- acting AND perform*This is a subject, keyword search in the library's online catalog. The * (asterisk) truncates the word to get all forms of it in a title or description.
Introductory reading(s)
Black acting methods: critical approaches by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 2061 .B455 2017ISBN: 9781138907621Black Acting Methods seeks to offer alternatives to the Euro-American performance styles that many actors find themselves working with. A wealth of contributions from directors, scholars and actor trainers address Afro-centric processes and aesthetics, and interviews with key figures in Black American theatre illuminate their methods. ...
Close-Up by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474417006Analyses of what makes an acting performance excellent, through a range of examples from American film. This volume focuses on American cinema, including case studies of key performances from actors like Bette Davis, Irene Dunne, Whoopi Goldberg, Cary Grant, Oscar Isaac, Jack Nicholson, Al Pacino, Sidney Poitier, Gena Rowlands, Peter Sellers, Kristen Stewart, and Ethel Waters, amongst many others. ...
Close-up: great cinematic performances, vol. 2 International by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474417037What actors do on-screen is a fascination for audiences all over the world. Indeed, the cultural visibility of movie stars is so pronounced that stardom has often been regarded as intrinsic to the medium's specificity. Yet not all great cinematic performances are star turns, and so, what really makes a cinematic performance good, interesting, or important has been a neglected topic in film criticism. This second volume focuses on international cinema, and includes case studies of key performances from actors like Ingrid Bergman, Gael Garcia Bernal, Nikolai Cherkassov, Alec Guinness, Setsuko Hara, Isabelle Huppert, Peter Lorre, Madhubala, Anna Magnani, Toshirô Mifune, and Choi Min Sik, amongst many others.
Perform, repeat, record: live art in history by Call Number: Baker-Berry NX 456.5 .P38 P47 2012ISBN: 9781841504896Bringing together contributors from dance, theater, visual studies, and art history, Perform, Repeat, Record addresses the conundrum of how live art is positioned within history. Set apart from other art forms in that it may never be performed in precisely the same way twice, ephemeral artwork exists both at the time of its staging and long after in the memories of its spectators and their testimonies, as well as in material objects, visual media, and text, all of which offer new critical possibilities. ...
The science and art of acting for the camera: a practical approach to film, television, and commercial acting by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138233676The Science and Art of Acting for the Camera provides a precise yet practical approach to help unlock the mysteries of acting for film and television. Written by veteran actor, producer, and director John Howard Swain, the book offers a clear-cut, no-nonsense technique that equips aspiring or working actors with the necessary skills to succeed on camera. ...
The Routledge companion to African American theatre and performance by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138726710The Routledge Companion to African American Theatre and Performance is an outstanding collection of specially written essays that charts the emergence, development, and diversity of African American Theatre and Performance--from the nineteenth-century African Grove Theatre to Afrofuturism. Alongside chapters from scholars are contributions from theatre makers, including producers, theatre managers, choreographers, directors, designers, and critics. ...
Selected book title(s)
Deadpan: the aesthetics of Black expression by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781479811229Arguing that inexpression is a gesture that acquires distinctive meanings in concert with blackness, Deadpan tracks instances and meanings of deadpan—a vaudeville term meaning “dead face”—across literature, theater, visual and performance art, and the performance of self in everyday life. ...
Modern acting: the lost chapter of American film and theatre by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .A26 B349 2016ISBN: 9781137406545Everyone has heard of Method acting . . . but what about Modern acting? This book makes the simple but radical proposal that we acknowledge the Modern acting principles that continue to guide actors' work in the twenty-first century. Developments in modern drama and new stagecraft led Modern acting strategies to coalesce by the 1930s - and Hollywood's new role as America's primary performing arts provider ensured these techniques circulated widely as the migration of Broadway talent and the demands of sound cinema created a rich exchange of ideas among actors. ...
More than a method: trends and traditions in contemporary film performance by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .A26 M67 2004ISBN: 9780814330791Though it is often neglected in cinema scholarship, screen performance is a crucial element in the ideological and emotional impact of films. More Than a Method: Trends and Traditions in Contemporary Film Performance features twelve essays that analyze performance in post-1950s film, addressing distinct questions about the working relationships between actors and directors and discussing the interplay between performance and cinematic techniques. ...
Reframing screen performance: by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .A26 B35 2008ISBN: 9780472050253Reframing Screen Performance is a groundbreaking study of film acting that challenges the long held belief that great cinematic performances are created in the editing room. Surveying the changing attitudes and practices of film acting---from the silent films of Charlie Chaplin to the rise of Lee Strasberg's Actor's Studio in the 1950s to the eclecticism found in contemporary cinema---this volume argues that screen acting is a vital component of film and that it can be understood in the same way as theatrical performance. ...
Other library resource(s)
Acting from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Perceptions about screen acting have been remarkably polarized: when people give priority to the now-mythical experiment by Soviet filmmaker Lev Kuleshov that is supposed to have shown that editing creates film and other mediated performances, it appears there is no real acting in film; when they reckon with the importance of stars and the star system, it seems clear that understanding films necessarily involves an appreciation of screen performances. In the era before cinema was superseded to some degree by television and digital entertainment, distinctions between acting on stage and acting in film seemed paramount. ...
Black acting methods: diversity in the theatre classroom by Call Number: Streaming videoBlack Acting Methods: Diversity in the Theatre Classroom is a roundtable discussion recorded online about the future of theatre, the need to challenge the Eurocentric model of theatre history, a Black theatre aesthetic, and other topics.- Theater and film from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Historically, theater and film have been closely intertwined in many respects. Indeed, theatrical genres and aesthetics have had a significant influence on film. Nineteenth-century theatrical genres such as melodrama and vaudeville had an impact on many popular American film genres, for example. Since the early years of cinema, collaborations between filmmakers and theater personnel show not only how two art forms have influenced each other, but also that the flows between theater and film are bidirectional. Directors, writers, actors, and personnel working across these two media demonstrate that much interconnection of stage and screen exists. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find scholarly literature for film and television studies in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Black studies centerCall Number: Electronic resourceThis fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Black Acting Methods StudioThe mission of the Black Acting Methods Studio is to offer performance training that uplifts, sustains, foregrounds, and values Black American culture and aesthetics in the artistic process.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.