Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Course description
This course draws on feminist and queer scholarship to examine the intricate relationship between datafication, ubiquitous computing, and social justice, highlighting the politics and impacts of data-driven processes and big data on human lives. One of the key highlights of WGSS engagements with computing history is the focus on the politics and impacts of data-driven processes and big data on human lives. The course will provide a brief introduction to histories of computing and data-driven practices within the Anglo-American tradition, including discussions of the roles that ethics and biopolitics play within these histories. We will explore ways that privacy/security, algorithmic processes, computational environmental impacts, and design have exploited the most vulnerable while increasing affordances for the most privileged. We will also spend significant time learning about new data/computational justice initiatives and develop a robust understanding of how social justice issues like prison abolition, climate change, and equitable health outcomes are at the core of understanding computational cultures. No Computer Science or Data Science background is required, but the course will entail learning about some of the technical history within both fields. Similarly, there are no WGSS prerequisites for the cours but students will be responsibly for learning about anti-racist feminist and queer methods and insights.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 08/25/2023]; Dist:SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
Cloud ethics: algorithms and the attributes of ourselves and others by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781478009276In Cloud Ethics Louise Amoore examines how machine learning algorithms are transforming the ethics and politics of contemporary society. Conceptualizing algorithms as ethicopolitical entities that are entangled with the data attributes of people, Amoore outlines how algorithms give incomplete accounts of themselves, learn through relationships with human practices, and exist in the world in ways that exceed their source code. In these ways, algorithms and their relations to people cannot be understood by simply examining their code, nor can ethics be encoded into algorithms. ...
Foundations of information ethics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780838917220As discussions about the roles played by information in economic, political, and social arenas continue to evolve, the need for an intellectual primer on information ethics that also functions as a solid working casebook for LIS students and professionals has never been more urgent. This text expertly fills that need. Organized into twelve chapters, making it ideal for use by instructors, this volume from editors Burgess and Knox thoroughly covers principles and concepts in information ethics, as well as the history of ethics in the information professions; examines human rights, information access, privacy, discourse, intellectual property, censorship, data and cybersecurity ethics, intercultural information ethics, and global digital citizenship and responsibility; synthesizes the philosophical underpinnings of these key subjects with abundant primary source material to provide historical context along with timely and relevant case studies; ...
Hello world: how to be human in the age of the machine by Call Number: Baker-Berry Popular Science T 14.5 .F788 2018ISBN: 9780857525246Welcome to the age of the machine, the story of a not-too-distant future where algorithms rule supreme, making decisions about our healthcare, security, what we watch, where we go, even who goes to prison. So how much should we rely on them? What kind of future do we want?
Intersectionality as critical social theory by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781478007098In Intersectionality as Critical Social Theory Patricia Hill Collins offers a set of analytical tools for those wishing to develop intersectionality's capability to theorize social inequality in ways that would facilitate social change. While intersectionality helps shed light on contemporary social issues, Collins notes that it has yet to reach its full potential as a critical social theory. She contends that for intersectionality to fully realize its power, its practitioners must critically reflect on its assumptions, epistemologies, and methods. ...
Introducing intersectionality by Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 488.5 .R65 2018ISBN: 9780745663678How can we hope to understand social inequality without considering race, class, and gender in tandem? How do they interact with other categories such as sexuality, citizenship, and ableism? How does an inclusive analysis of domination and privilege move us closer to solutions touching the lives of diverse populations? In this clearly written book, Mary Romero presents intersectionality as a core facet of the sociological imagination. One-dimensional approaches are no longer acceptable. Instead, we must examine all systems of oppression simultaneously and how they integrate and work with or against each other to shape life experiences. ...
We are big data: the future of the information society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789462391826This book demonstrates the inevitability of a continuously growing role of data in our society and it stresses that this role does not need to be threatening: to the contrary, collection and analysis of data can help us prevent traffic jams, suppress epidemics, or produce tailor made medicine. The authors sketch the contours of a new information society, in which everything will be measured from our heartbeat during our morning run to the music we listen to and our walking patterns through department stores and they discuss the resistances within the society that have to be overcome. ...
Selected book title(s)
Big data in the arts and humanities: theory and practice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781498765855As digital technologies occupy a more central role in working and everyday human life, individual and social realities are increasingly constructed and communicated through digital objects, which are progressively replacing and representing physical objects. They are even shaping new forms of virtual reality. This growing digital transformation coupled with technological evolution and the development of computer computation is shaping a cyber society whose working mechanisms are grounded upon the production, deployment, and exploitation of big data. In the arts and humanities, however, the notion of big data is still in its embryonic stage, and only in the last few years, have arts and cultural organizations and institutions, artists, and humanists started to investigate, explore, and experiment with the deployment and exploitation of big data as well as understand the possible forms of collaborations based on it. Big Data in the Arts and Humanities: Theory and Practice explores the meaning, properties, and applications of big data. ...
The Cambridge handbook of information and computer ethics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521888981Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have profoundly changed many aspects of life, including the nature of entertainment, work, communication, education, healthcare, industrial production and business, social relations and conflicts. They have had a radical and widespread impact on our moral lives and hence on contemporary ethical debates. The Cambridge Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics provides an ambitious and authoritative introduction to the field, with discussions of a range of topics including privacy, ownership, freedom of speech, responsibility, technological determinism, the digital divide, cyber warfare, and online pornography. ...
Data justice and the right to the city by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474492959Data Justice and the Right to the City engages with theories of social justice and data-driven urbanism. It explores the intersecting concerns of data justice - both the harms and civic possibilities of the datafied society - and the right to the city - a call to redress the uneven distribution of resources and rights in urban contexts. These concerns are addressed through a variety of topics: digital social services, as cities use data and algorithms to administer to citizens; education, as data-driven practices transform learning and higher education; labour, as platforms create new precarities and risks for workers; and activists who seek to make creative and political interventions into these developments. ...
Ethics of big data: balancing risk and innovation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781449311797What are your organization's policies for generating and using huge datasets full of personal information? This book examines ethical questions raised by the big data phenomenon, and explains why enterprises need to reconsider business decisions concerning privacy and identity. Authors Kord Davis and Doug Patterson provide methods and techniques to help your business engage in a transparent and productive ethical inquiry into your current data practices. ...
Human rights in the age of platforms by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262039055Scholars from across law and internet and media studies examine the human rights implications of today's platform society. Today such companies as Apple, Facebook, Google, Microsoft, and Twitter play an increasingly important role in how users form and express opinions, encounter information, debate, disagree, mobilize, and maintain their privacy. What are the human rights implications of an online domain managed by privately owned platforms? ...
The world computer: derivative conditions of racial capitalism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781478012702In The World Computer Jonathan Beller forcefully demonstrates that the history of commodification generates information itself. Out of the omnipresent calculus imposed by commodification, information emerges historically as a new money form. Investigating its subsequent financialization of daily life and colonization of semiotics, Beller situates the development of myriad systems for quantifying the value of people, objects, and affects as endemic to racial capitalism and computation. ...
Other library resource(s)
Feminist theory from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceFeminist theory in communication is developed and used by scholars to understand gender as a communicative process, with the goal of making social changes important to the well-being of women and, ultimately, everyone. Despite a common purpose, feminist scholars differ on many grounds and typically work in subareas across the discipline of communication. Contemporary feminist theory blossomed among scholars interested in women and communication in the United States in the 1980s, with attention devoted to it in programming in academic communication associations and with a new wave of publishing that theorized, rather than assumed, gender differences. ...- Media ethics from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceAs with professional ethics as a whole, media ethics is divided into three parts: metaethics, normative ethics, and descriptive ethics. Metaethics addresses the validity of theories, the nature of good and evil in media programming, the question of universals, problems of relativism, and the rationale for morality in a secular age. Normative ethics fuses practice with principles. It concerns the best ways for professionals to lead their lives and the standards to be promoted. Normative ethics concentrates on the justice or injustice of societies and institutions. Descriptive ethics uses social science methodologies to report on how ethical decision making actually works in journalism, advertising, public relations, and entertainment. Normative ethics has received the most attention in media ethics, but for media ethics to flourish, research and teaching need to be strong on all three levels. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find scholarly literature for film and television studies and/or big data in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index or ACM Digital Library. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Journal of information, communication & ethics in society by Call Number: Electronic journalJournal of Information, Communication and Ethics in Society promotes dialogue regarding the wider social and ethical issues related to the planning, development, implementation and use of new media and information and communication technologies.
Big data & society by Call Number: Electronic journalBig Data & Society (BD&S) is an open access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes interdisciplinary work principally in the social sciences, humanities and computing and their intersections with the arts and natural sciences about the implications of Big Data for societies. The Journal's key purpose is to provide a space for connecting debates about the emerging field of Big Data practices and how they are re-configuring academic, social, industry, business and government relations, expertise, methods, concepts and knowledge.
ACM digital library by Call Number: Electronic resourceACM Digital Library is a searchable, browsable, bibliographic database from the key publishers in computing, including books, journals, proceedings and theses.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
Computers v. crime by Call Number: Streaming videoPublication Date: Leaves 10/11/2025In police departments and courts across the country, artificial intelligence is being used to help decide who is policed, who gets bail, how offenders should be sentenced, and who gets parole. But is it actually making our law enforcement and court systems fairer and more just? This timely investigation digs into the hidden biases, privacy risks, and design flaws of this controversial technology. ...
- Frontiers in Big Data
Frontiers in Big Data publishes rigorously peer-reviewed research on the cutting-edge, disruptive technological revolution of big data. We cover a broad range of topics in big data, data-driven sciences, and their various applications and forms.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Big Data journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Big Data? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.