Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Many of us have strong views about immigration shaped by the media we consume, but how informed are our opinions? By reading and writing about migration in this course, you will have the opportunity to examine, develop, and refine your perspectives. During the term, you will undertake research on a topic related to migration that interests you and experiment with writing about migration and immigration for non-academic audiences. Our emphasis will be on examining evidence, understanding the usefulness of different kinds of data, and crafting compelling arguments by testing ideas through your writing process. Reading and viewing in this course will include multiple kinds of media: data visualizations, academic articles, oral histories, and more. In class, you will gain experience as both a writer and editor, to focus on your composing practices and giving meaningful feedback to your colleagues. Your writing will become the basis of class discussions as we workshop your drafts and build a community of writers together. Workshopped writing assignments include a blog post, academic minute, annotated bibliography, and an essay. If you are ready to write often, share your writing with your classmates, communicate your ideas with multiple audiences, and think about how people move around the world, this is the course for you.
[Source: IWR, 03/23/2024]
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
-
Media - migration - integration: European and North American perspectives
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783839410325Following economists and scientists, politicians of various European countries have realized that a modern society with a declining birthrate is in need of immigrants. What can journalists contribute, in order to enable migrants to feel at home in their receiving country? What can be missed and ruined by journalists and media with regard to the integration of ethnic minorities? Scholars from Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Russia, Switzerland, The Netherlands, and the U.S. present their findings on the matter of media integration of migrants. ... -
Mediating migration
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry P 94.5 .I48 H44 2016ISBN: 9780745646336Media practices and the everyday cultures of transnational migrants are deeply interconnected. Mediating Migration narrates aspects of the migrant experience as shaped by the technologies of communication and the social, political and cultural configurations of neoliberal globalization. The book examines the mediated reinventions of transnational diasporic cultures, the emergence of new publics, and the manner in which nations and migrants connect. ... -
Migration
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781108746014Migration is in the news every day. Whether it be the plight of refugees fleeing Syria, or the outbreak of the Zika virus across Latin America, the modern world is fundamentally shaped by movement across borders. Migration, arising from the 2018 Darwin College Lectures, brings together eight leading scholars across the arts, humanities, and sciences to help tackle one of the most important topics of our time. What is migration? How has it changed the world? And how will it shape the future? ... -
The Routledge companion to migration, communication, and politics
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781032338699The Routledge Companion to Migration, Communication and Politics brings together academics from numerous disciplines to show the legal, political, communicative, theoretical, methodological, and media implications of migration. The collection makes the compelling case that migration does not occur in a vacuum; rather, it is driven by and reacts to various factors, including the political, economic, and cultural worlds in which individuals live. ... -
The SAGE handbook of media and migration
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526447210Migration moves people, ideas and things. Migration shakes up political scenes and instigates new social movements. It redraws emotional landscapes and reshapes social networks, with traditional and digital media enabling, representing, and shaping the processes, relationships and people on the move. The deep entanglement of media and migration expands across the fields of political, cultural and social life. For example, migration is increasingly digitally tracked and surveilled, and national and international policy-making draws on data on migrant movement, anticipated movement, and biometrics to maintain a sense of control over the mobilities of humans and things. Also, social imaginaries are constituted in highly mediated environments where information and emotions on migration are constantly shared on social and traditional media. Both, those migrating and those receiving them, turn to media and communicative practices to learn how to make sense of migration and to manage fears and desires associated with cross-border mobility in an increasingly porous but also controlled and divided world. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Framing immigrants: news coverage, public opinion, and policy
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780871545336While undocumented immigration is controversial, the general public is largely unfamiliar with the particulars of immigration policy. Given that public opinion on the topic is malleable, to what extent do mass media shape the public debate on immigration? In Framing Immigrants, political scientists Chris Haynes, Jennifer Merolla, and Karthick Ramakrishnan explore how conservative, liberal, and mainstream news outlets frame and discuss undocumented immigrants. ... -
Media and migrants: a critical analysis of Spanish and Irish discourses of immigration
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 5317 .I55 P75 2004ISBN: 9783039101443How are migrants referred to in the media? What roles do they play and when are they quoted in news reports on immigration? Whose views are implicitly reinforced? Have these changed similarly in different European newspapers in recent years? Media and Migrants systematically addresses such questions by exploring the representation of immigration in two relatively new reception countries, Spain and Ireland, over the past decade. ... -
Picturing immigration: photojournalistic representation of immigrants in Greek and Spanish press
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9786613162779At the turn of the twentieth century, Greece and Spain saw an influx of immigrants from developing nations. And as their foreign populations grew, both countries' national media were there to document the change - in the process shaping perceptions of the immigrant groups by their new countries and the world. Picturing Immigration offers a comparative study of the photojournalistic framing of immigrants in these two southern European nations, which were recently transformed from senders to receivers of migrants. ... -
Reporting immigration conflict: opportunities for peace journalism
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781793613493In Reporting Immigration Conflict: Opportunities for Peace Journalism, Mariely Valentin-Llopis examines the role of American and Mexican media in promoting harsh views against Central American migrants. This examination focuses on the U.S. southwestern border crossing conflict in 2014 and 2019, both separate consequential periods in time. Valentin-Llopis contextualizes migrants' plight with careful consideration to unaccompanied minor migrants and the family separation crisis. As a counterpoint, the author also takes the news content analysis through a historical journey to when news reporters seemingly bent traditional journalism principles to protect Cuban children refugees fleeing the Castro regime and communism, showing that it is possible to provide fair depictions of migrants and their struggles. ... -
Writing immigration: scholars and journalists in dialogue
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry JV 6465 .W75 2011ISBN: 9780520267183Bringing nuance, complexity, and clarity to a subject often seen in black and white, Writing Immigration presents a unique interplay of leading scholars and journalists working on the contentious topic of immigration. In a series of powerful essays, the contributors reflect on how they struggle to write about one of the defining issues of our time--one that is at once local and global, familiar and uncanny, concrete and abstract. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Social Explorer
Call Number: Electronic resourceTheir objective is to help you visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. You can map all types of demographic data including immigration. -
Migration from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Migration—a spatio-temporal process that evolves over space and time—involves the continual reshaping of place as persons move between various origins and destinations. Geographers are especially interested in the process because of the interconnections and spatial linkages that are formed when people move. The numbers of flows and channels that are created as a result of migration have risen dramatically in the past two centuries, and the result is the constant transformation both of sending and receiving areas. ... -
LatinX voices: Hispanics in media in the U.S.
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138240308LatinX Voices is the first textbook that includes an overview of Hispanic/LatinX Media in the U.S. and gives readers an understanding of how media in the United States has transformed around this audience. Based on the authors' professional and research experience, and teaching broadcast media courses in the classroom, this text covers the evolving industry and offers perspective on topics related to Latin-American areas of interest. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find scholarly literature for film and television studies in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
-
The Influence of Media Coverage on the Negative Perception of Migrants in Chile from Int J Environ Res Public Health
by
Call Number: Electronic journal articlePublication Date: 19 (13) 2022How mass media frame information about migrants is vital to further their well-being and social inclusion in the host society. However, it can also encourage forms of discrimination and xenophobia. In Chile, migration is a theme of great relevance due to a substantial increase in the flow of migrants over the last ten years, as well as the acts of extreme violence toward this group. ... -
The international migration review: IMR
by
Call Number: Electronic journalInternational Migration Review is an interdisciplinary journal created to encourage and facilitate the study of all aspects of sociodemographic, historical, economic, political, legislative, spatial, social, and cultural aspects of human mobility. It is internationally regarded as the principal journal in the field facilitating the study of human migration, ethnic group relations, and refugee movements. ... -
Journal on migration and human security
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe journal’s theme of “human security” is meant to evoke the widely shared goals of creating secure and sustaining conditions in migrant sending communities; promoting safe, legal migration options; and developing immigration and integration policies that benefit sending and receiving communities and allow newcomers to lead productive, secure lives. ... -
Journal of ethnic and migration studies
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies (JEMS) publishes the results of first-class research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration. -
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC)
by
Call Number: Online resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Immigration Data from Homeland Security
The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) has responsibility: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.