Subject Reference Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Journal titles from the Library's collections
Celebrity studiesCall Number: Electronic journalCelebrity Studies addresses key issues in the production, circulation and consumption of fame, and its manifestations in both contemporary and historical contexts. Alongside the primary articles, the journal includes the Celebrity Forum section devoted to shorter observations, debates or issues in celebrity culture, ...
Journal of e-media studies by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of e-Media Studies is a blind peer-reviewed, on-line journal dedicated to the scholarly study of the history and theory of electronic media, especially Television and New Media.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Keeping up with journal literature
Introduction
This is a general guide to starting your research for Film & Media Studies. For more in-depth help, click on one of the subject tabs such as Television or Film Studies. Each subject tab provides more information on the resources the Library has available.
Media studies is an umbrella term denoting various types of inquiry into systems or vehicles for the transmission or communication of information, entertainment, and persuasion—such as radio, television, video, digital media, newspapers and magazines, advertisements, films, books, and recorded music. The term media (the plural of medium) refers to the material or technical (mechanical, electronic, or digital) processes employed in communication; and media studies work tends to draw on social science, rather than humanities, approaches and methods—for example in studies assessing the effects of media on the attitudes and behaviour of users. While moving-image screen media such as television and computer games constitute accepted objects of inquiry within media studies (where they are treated from the standpoint of processes of communication and reception rather than textually), this is far less true of film and cinema, except perhaps in the context of media policy and legislation and in those areas where the concerns of media studies and cultural studies overlap.
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2012). Media studies and film. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 13 Oct. 2020
Using the Library Catalog for Film & Media Resources
The links below take you to the online catalog while the others are subject searches within the catalog.
- film criticismUse this heading for scholarly critiques of film.
- new mediaThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
Selected book title(s)
Keywords for media studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 87.5 .K39 2017ISBN: 9781479883653This book introduces key terms, research traditions, debates, and their histories, and offers a sense of the new frontiers and questions emerging in the field of media studies Keywords for Media Studies aims to advance the field of critical media studies by tracing, defining, and problematizing its established and emergent terminology. The book historicizes thinking about media and society, whether that means noting a long history of "new media," or tracing how understandings of media "power" vary across time periods and knowledge formations. ...
Selected Article Indexes for Film & Media Studies
Cinema and media studies from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Cinema and media studies includes an array of subfields: film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. ...
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Performing arts periodicals databaseCall Number: Electronic resourcePerforming Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Streaming services ...
See all of our streaming media offerings.
Kanopy streaming by Call Number: Streaming videoKanopy Streaming is a media streaming service to which Dartmouth subscribes. There are several collections in this service including Criterion, the DEFA Library, foreign language films and many documentaries.
AVON: Academic Video Online by Call Number: Streaming videoAVON includes selected content from almost every Alexander Street Press individual video collection, and also many other videos not in those collections. The database covers the following subject areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women's studies.
Citing Audiovisual items
The British Universities Film & Video Council (BUFVC) has issued guidelines to encourage the best practices in citing any kind of audiovisual item. They cover: film; television programs; radio programs; audio recordings; DVD extras; clips; trailers; advertisements; non-broadcast, amateur and archive material; podcasts; vodcasts; and games.
Follow the link below to download the guidelines.
[BUFVC, 03/27/2013]
Audiovisual Citation GuidelinesCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2nd ed.The Audiovisual Citation Guidelines aim to establish an authoritative and accessible citation system that is applicable to a wide range of different users across all disciplines, covering film, TV, radio, DVD extras, games, trailers, archive material and much more. ...