Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
The course analyzes and discusses various production practices in U.S. media industries. Through readings, audiovisual materials, and guest speakers from a wide array of media positions, we will explore various phases of media production in film, television, live events, journalism, and more. In particular, we will focus on dynamics involving race, gender, and sexuality in the labor of media production, as well as in the media products themselves. Overall, the course considers the ways in which media production and representations simultaneously reflect and reinforce social stratification and inequalities. Students should emerge from this course with a strong understanding of hierarchies of labor in media production, a practical sense of everyday practices in a diverse array of media production fields, as well as a firm understanding of the media’s effects on and interaction with identity politics. This course is intended to provide a 360- degree (over)view of media production.
[Source, ORC/Catalog, 05/06/2025]; Dist:ART
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
motion pictures production and directionInsert the name of a country if you like. Most resources are in the call number range PN 1995.9 .P7 on Baker Stack Level 4.
-
television production and directionMost resources are in the call number range PN 1992.75 on Baker Stack Level 4.
-
"production studies"This is a keyword search in the online catalog.
-
cultural industriesThe Cultural Industries includes the book trade, motion picture industry, broadcasting and music.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Cities of opportunities: connecting culture and innovation
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 119 .C569 2020ISBN: 9780367900656Culture refers to not only the arts but also other manifestations of human intellectual achievement regarded collectively. It similarly refers to the customs, institutions, and achievements of a social group, a people, or a nation. Innovation refers to the action or process of change, alteration, or revolution; a new method of idea creation or product that may bring about change. It is easy to assume that innovation may be juxtaposed to the preservation of culture and time-tested rituals. Yet as human settlements grew; and as streets and squares evolved through the diverse exchanges of people trading, celebrating, rallying and socially interacting, it should come as little surprise that cities and its places would become, and continue to be, centres of culture and innovation that can be inextricably linked. ... -
Cultural economics
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781788211635In this fascinating introduction to the cultural economy, Christiane Hellmanzik examines the market for creative work and reveals the economic relationships between human creativity, intellectual property and technology. Through the careful use of case studies, the book explores the core economic considerations such as supply and demand, competition and pricing, alongside macro trends such as globalization, digitalization and the internet, which are changing the industry's business models. -
Data-driven innovation in the creative industries
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003365891The creative industries – the place where art, business, and technology meet in economic activity – have been hugely affected by the relatively recent digitalisation (and often monetisation) of work, home, relationships, and leisure. Such trends were accelerated by the global COVID-19 pandemic. This edited collection examines how the creative industries can be supported to make best use of opportunities in digital technology and data-driven innovation. ... -
Platforms and cultural production
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 851 .P64 2022ISBN: 9781509540518The widespread uptake of digital platforms - from YouTube and Instagram to Twitch and TikTok - is reconfiguring cultural production in profound, complex, and highly uneven ways. Longstanding media industries are experiencing tremendous upheaval, while new industrial formations - live-streaming, social media influencing, and podcasting, among others - are evolving at breakneck speed. Poell, Nieborg, and Duffy explore both the processes and the implications of platformization across the cultural industries, identifying key changes in markets, infrastructures, and governance at play in this ongoing transformation, as well as pivotal shifts in the practices of labor, creativity, and democracy. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Below the line: producers and production studies in the new television economy
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822394136Below the Line illuminates the hidden labor of people who not only produce things that the television industry needs, such as a bit of content or a policy sound bite, but also produce themselves in the service of capital expansion. Vicki Mayer considers the work of television set assemblers, soft-core cameramen, reality-program casters, and public-access and cable commissioners in relation to the globalized economy of the television industry. ... -
Media, journalism, and "fake news": a reference handbook
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440864070This volume summarizes the evolution of news and information in the United States as it has been shaped by technology (penny press, radio, TV, cable, the internet) and form development (investigative journalism, tabloid TV, talk radio, social media). Media, Journalism, and "Fake News": A Reference Handbook provides readers with an overview of news and media in the United States. Additionally, the book discusses, additionally discussing the economic state of the news industry, partisan news, misinformation and disinformation, issues of representation, and the impact of social media. ... -
Production studies: cultural studies of media industries
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.75 .P78 2009ISBN: 9786612234248 -
Culture is not an industry: reclaiming art and culture for the common good
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526171276Culture is at the heart of what it means to be human. But twenty-five years ago, the British government rebranded art and culture as 'creative industries', valued for their economic contribution, and set out to launch the UK as the creative workshop of a globalised world. Where does that leave art and culture now? Facing exhausted workers and a lack of funding and vision, culture finds itself in the grip of accountancy firms, creativity gurus and Ted Talkers. At a time of sweeping geo-political turmoil, culture has been de-politicised, its radical energies reduced to factors of industrial production. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Creative labor in cinema and media industries from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286The rapidly burgeoning popularity of cinema at the beginning of the 20th century favored industrialized modes of creativity organized around large production studios that could churn out a steady stream of narrative feature films. By the mid-1910s, a handful of Hollywood studios became leaders in the production, distribution, and exhibition of popular commercial movies. In order to serve incessant demand for new titles, the studios relied on a set of conventions that allowed them to regularize production and realize workplace efficiencies. This entailed a socialized mode of creativity that would later be adopted by radio and television broadcasters. ... -
Cultural and creative industries from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The cultural and creative industries refer to those parts of the modern economy where culture is produced and distributed through industrial means, applying the creativity of individuals and groups to the generation of original cultural product, which may have commercial value either through direct sale to consumers or as intellectual property. The cultural and creative industries typically bring together the arts, media, and design sectors, with a focus upon convergent digital technologies and the challenges and opportunities of globalization. ... -
Digital media and convergence culture from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286“Convergence culture” is a term used to describe the ways in which digital media has changed the relationship between institutions and their patrons, governments and their citizens, and storytellers and their audiences. Digital media technologies provide interactive and networked communication that accelerates the feedback loop between these groups. Digital media did not create active and creative audiences, but this technology has amplified and enhanced activities that previously had been popular with ardent fans and subcultures with strong social ties. The proliferation of digital media corresponds with marketing and messaging strategies designed to entice people to interact with companies and organizations. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
-
Journal of creative industries and cultural studies
by
Call Number: Electronic journalJOCIS is a Scientific Journal created by MediaXXI/ Formalpress in partnership with several international entities, such as International Media Management Academic Association (IMMAA), and also with the collaboration of the Centre for Research in Communication, Information and Digital Culture (CIC. Digital) of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of the University of Porto and the Faculty of Social and Human Sciences of the University Nova of Lisbon. ... -
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC)
by
Call Number: Online resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keepint up with Media journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with scholarly journal literature in Media? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it through our online catalog here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.