Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website
Course description
In this course film will be viewed as text and used to analyze discourses around race, sex, gender; and class in contemporary Brazil. It is the hope that film will offer students an additional cultural context to critically examine the development of nation and national ideologies such as "the myth of racial democracy." Class discussions based on scholarly readings and film screenings will focus on how Brazilians view themselves and the construction and function of social institutions within the contemporary nation.
Note: This course is usually cross-listed with Film Studies.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/11/2023]; Dist:INT; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
motion pictures brazilCall number range PN 1993.5 .B6 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
-
motion pictures latin americaCall number range PN 1993.5 .L3 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
-
race relations in motion pictures AND brazilThis is a subject, keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Brazilian national cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .B6 S45 2007ISBN: 9780415338165Brazilian cinema is one of the most influential national cinemas in Latin America and this wide-ranging study traces the evolution of Brazilian film from the silent era to the present day, including detailed studies of more recent international box-office hits, such as Central Station (1998) and City of God (2002). Brazilian National Cinema gives due importance to traditionally overlooked aspects of Brazilian cinema, such as popular genres, ranging from musical comedies (the chanchada) to soft-core porn films (the pornochanchada) and horror films, and also provides a fresh approach to the internationally acclaimed avant-garde Cinema Novo of the 1960s. ... -
Cine iberoamericano: los desafíos del nuevo siglo byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .L3 G458 2007ISBN: 9789879355411
-
Dicionário de filmes brasileiros byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .B6 S53 2002ISBN: 9788590059523
-
Enciclopédia do cinema brasileiro by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .B6 E53 2000ISBN: 9788573590937 -
Gender and society in contemporary Brazilian cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .B6 F67 1999ISBN: 9780292725102"Gender is an absolute ground zero for most human societies," writes David William Foster, "an absolute horizon of social subjectivity." In this book, he examines gender issues in thirteen Brazilian films made (with one exception) after the 1985 return to constitutional democracy and elimination of censorship to show how these issues arise from and comment on the socio-historical reality of contemporary Brazilian society. Foster organizes his study around three broad themes: construction of masculinity, constructions of feminine and feminist identities, and same-sex positionings and social power. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
The Brazilian road movie: journeys of (self) discovery
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .R63 B73 2013ISBN: 9780708325988The Brazilian Road Movie explores some of the key trends and films in the development of the road movie in Brazil. A collection of essays by distinguished scholars, covering a broad range of case studies, this text spans Brazilian film production from the silent era to the present day. Contributors examine such issues as the reworking of the genre in a Brazilian context and the relationships between documentary and fiction; history, politics, and cinema; gender and race; the wilderness and the urban space; and the national and the transnational. ... -
Brazil on screen: cinema novo, new cinema, utopia
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .B6 N35313 2007ISBN: 9781845113285Two periods of Brazilian film history are particularly notable for their artistic momentum: the Cinema Novo movement of the 1960s and early '70s, and the film revival from the mid 1990s onwards. What makes them especially strong, this book argues, is their utopian impulse. By adopting Utopia as a theme, as well as a method of film analysis, Lucia Nagib unveils, organises and interprets a fascinating wealth of recurrent images, which are a bridge between a cinema strongly concerned with the national project and another informed by global culture. ... -
Consuming visions: cinema, writing, and modernity in Rio de Janeiro
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .B6 C57 2012ISBN: 9780813932149Consuming Visions explores the relationship between cinema and writing in early twentieth-century Brazil, focusing on how the new and foreign medium of film was consumed by a literary society in the throes of modernization. Maite Conde places this relationship in the specific context of turn-of-the-century Rio de Janeiro, which underwent a radical transformation to a modern global city, becoming a concrete symbol of the country's broader processes of change and modernization. ... -
Popular cinema in Brazil, 1930-2001
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .B6 D47 2004ISBN: 9780719064999Brazil has one of the most significant and productive film industries in Latin America. This ground-breaking study provides an entertaining insight into the Brazilian films that have most captured the imagination of domestic audiences over the years. The recent international success of films such as Central Station and City of God, has stimulated widespread interest in Brazilian film, but studies written in English focus on the 'auteur' cinema of the 1960s. This book focuses on individual films in their socio-historical context, drawing on extensive fieldwork in Brazil and Latin America. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Brazilian cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Studies of Brazilian cinema came to the fore in the 1960s and 1970s with the emergence of the avant-garde, politicized Cinema Novo, which dialogued with New Wave cinemas in Europe, particularly France, and in other parts of Latin America. Several landmark studies by scholars such as Ismail Xavier and Randal Johnson analyzed the movement in depth and remain key works. Since then, scholarship in both Portuguese and English has broadened its scope to embrace commercially oriented Brazilian films dating back to the early sound era, including popular genres (such as in the work of João Luiz Vieira, Stephanie Dennison, and Lisa Shaw), as well as the historical evolution of Brazilian cinema, and the relationship between the film industry and the state throughout the 20th century and into the new millennium. ... -
Digitalia film library. Brazilian cinema
Call Number: Streaming videoDigitalia Film Library is another streaming service to which the Library subscribes. They have several collections in their library including one for Brazilian cinema.
Selected movie title(s)
Find more Brazilian films in the library's collections.
-
A casa de Alice
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11415A middle-aged woman has a chance meeting with an old boyfriend, which causes her to re-examine her life. -
Brava gente Brasileira
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2425Diego, a Portuguese cartographer, is sent to the New Word in 1778 to make a topographical survey of the Portuguese colonies in South America. The soldiers there have a hostile relationship with the native peoples (the Guaycuruan Indians) who are considered "uncivilized" and have "very strange" customs. While there, Diego is forced by Captain Pedro to participate in an act of violence against a helpless group of native women. -
Como esquecer
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15352Julia is a 35-year-old English Literature teacher struggling with depression as she tries to get her life back together again after her long, intense love affair with Antonia. Feeling totally abandoned after she and her enigmatic girlfriend broke up, Julia is thrown into a desperate, painful process. Her life and her values have been tinged with unbearable melancholy and her life's measure seems reduced to out-of-focus fragments of her memories. Her inner turmoil and conflicts hamper a process now made necessary - that of re-adapting to her new life. It is impossible for her to disguise her pain when she attempts to narrate emotions. -
La riña
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16332Based on true stories, La Riña highlights the polemic of bare knuckle fights in a playboy party where drugs and drinks are served on silver trays. The plot consists of a secret party thrown by ex-students from the American school who bet fortunes in poor wrestlers confronting each other inside an empty swimming pool for a few dollars. Instead of showing typical poverty in Brazil, La Riña unveils the opposite by unmasking a luxurious and sick elite in São Paulo. -
O bandido da luz vermelha = The red light bandit
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11416The Red Light Bandit, so called because he uses a red flashlight while robbing, raping and killing, is pursued by the police in an increasingly apocalyptic setting involving political corruption, terrorism and ultimately UFOs. The film is marked by dark humor. -
O caminho das nuvens
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #10236A man and his family journey 2000 miles across the hinterlands of Brazil on bicycle in search of a good life. -
Todas as mulheres do mundo
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD # 2974A womanizer suddenly finds a woman who makes him change the way he looks at women. He falls in love, and believes she is in fact all women in one. -
Totalmente inocentes
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16272Fifteen year-old Da Fé and his younger brother Torrado live in a slum in Brazil overlorded by a drug dealer named Morro. Da Fé has a crush on Gildinha, but he thinks that she is smitten with Morro. So to impress Gildinha, he tries to become a criminal too.
Portuguese language film resource at Dartmouth
-
Portuguese language films @ DartmouthPortuguese-language films at Dartmouth is a website to consult and contribute reviews, ratings, and detailed information about films currently held by the Dartmouth College Library. It serves as both a gateway to the library's collection of Portuguese language film, and as a resource for students, faculty, staff, and film aficionados worldwide to exchange information and opinion about these films.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Brazilian films can be found in many publications. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or the search box at the top of the page.
-
Film & television literature index
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about Brazilian cinema. -
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Cinema do BrasilCurrently, their associates are film production companies, distributors, sales agents and festivals from different parts of Brazil. Their objective is to expand the international insertion of Brazilian cinema, stimulating the co-production and distribution of films in foreign territories, and expanding business possibilities for the Brazilian film industry.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.